Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 15: What a military doctor should be

Hypnosis by Arlaune may change your ego if you take it too long. Judging that it was dangerous when the concentration of pollen was raised, I asked to stop the interrogation today.

You can force one’s attention with the power of Arlaune, but her pollen can be a powerful drug for those who are intolerant. She looks like an adorable girl, but she is also a spirit who sucks human life.

Interrogation of the other bandits would also change to the next day. Presha-san then followed my advice though not whole heartedly.

However, just because the interrogation was successful with newcomers, it doesn’t mean that our positions where reversed. If the other knight executives would see her now, it would seem like I had done something to her in the dungeon –she looks so perturbed.

Although it is possible to completely eliminate the whip wounds received by the prisoners, I knew that there was no standing torturer, so I left it to some extent. They are guilty and deserved suffering pain as punishment, yet that’s something that doctors should not do.

“Presha-san, try chewing on this grass. It will make you feel well.”

“……Thank you……”

She seemed like she had lost her soul –I think she was unwilling to accept the confession that the knights of the Northern Knights betrayed them, and that members of Royal family were the ones behind their backs.

 “…It has a bitter taste, but I now feel calm.”

“The grass has a soothing effect. It can be taken as a medicine by extracting it with cold water. However, it is best to have it chewed raw because it has poor shelf life.”

“That’s right, You can even make medicine. The doctor in the village where I grew up uses a folk remedy that we doesn’t even know if it will work, so it was like only taking our money. When I studied at a school in the capital, the doctor there is completely different…”

The health care in this country is less developed than the world’s standard. In the capital, you can buy pills and plasters with guaranteed quality, yet as Presha-san says, in the rural areas, it seems that the only thing that can be done is to rely on traditional folk remedies.

The doctor at the clinic that I met in the Portolo town wasn’t able to understand the patient’s condition right away and couldn’t understand what I needed.

Is it possible that there is no other doctor in this fortress, which protects the borders and fights with bandits and monsters on a daily basis? It was said that there was a shortage of military doctors here yet…

◆ ◇ ◆

We asked the others to take care of the rest in the prison and went up to the first floor of the fortress. Presha-san said she would guide me to the executive room. She then walked in front of us without saying anything for a while –In the middle of the corridor going up to the third floor she abruptly stopped to the next staircase. She was now lined up next to me. We then walk as it is, she also begin to talk.

“I-I’m sorry about before… When I got blood on my head, I couldn’t stop… I was always overdoing things and even Raquel-nee was angry at me for that. My subordinates are scared and I can’t really do the job properly.”

Presha-san’s strength has been fully conveyed even if she has never waved her spear. It was so intense that I could even feel the illusion that I would be killed just by looking at her. Still, they didn’t confess — they were more afraid of retaliation from the man who asked them to smuggle the weapons than to be killed by having their heart’s pierced by the spear.

“I know it’s annoying to say that I understand Precha-sans feelings. But I do think it was unavoidable in that situation.”

“…You… Yeah. Well, I think it’s uncomfortable if I say it this way, but… I didn’t need to kill someone I no longer need because of -Se-Sensei… It’s funny to say something like this even though I’ve already handled hundreds of people … “

I can also see that Lendl-san felt nervous –I can understand that feeling. Presha-san was the reason he was felt this way. Even though she is still young, she has survived many battles and slaughtered her opponent.

“…The original army doctor couldn’t stand the tragedy of the battlefield and broke her heart… The Zirconia Empire’s troops have been working across borders… the fortress did not fall and many enemy soldiers died but the enemy’s new weapons also caused casualties to our soldiers, and there was also those magician’s attack… they always destroy and attack us from places we can’t see.”

The role that magicians are required to play in war. Elements that are considered excellent even in the academy –destruction from a long distance and mass slaughter.

If the fortress had suffered such damage, I could imagine the horrifying sight that the military doctor who was there would have been seen.

“The kid is still in the fortress, but we can’t force her. I thought a man wouldn’t easily get sick if he witnessed torture… yet I was the one who got fired up. To kill or not to kill … it’s really the worst …”

“…No, I’m glad I was there. I can say it myself, but when I see blood or see a serious injury, I’m not upset. It’s a patient to be cured for me. There is no change.”

At the exam, my supervisor told me not to over empathize with my patients when studying for a psychiatrist qualification.

The former military doctor lose it because she was too kind. I don’t think it’s something bad, it’s a great thing as a person and also a natural thing for one to do.

But I know that emotional fluctuations affect the procedure. That’s why I tried to cultivate a spirit that wouldn’t be moved no matter what patient I saw – I learned it from the plant spirits who always watch the living things quietly.

“…Glass-sensei looks strong, but your kind of… Big aren’t you?… It look like you won’t collapse even if I press you?”

“Don’t make fun of Glass-sama. I know as secretary, I’m being insolent, I’m sorry to say that.”

“Ah… sorry. Glass-sensei’s secretary huh? Two people… I think it’s better not to share a room with the others. I need to make sure that you two people share a room together.”

“W-Well…that’s… if it’s ok with Glass-sama… but if it’s possible, you can make it into small ones so I can have a separate room…”

Certainly, with a suddenly shared room, it may or may not be okay between two men. Sven also said at first that “I can’t sleep comfortably when there are people in the same room.” Well, he was so bold in saying that yet he fell asleep immediately.

“We don’t have a dedicated room for a military doctor, but there is a complex for medics, so I think you may use that room. I’ll tell it to the captain later, because for now, we will be going to the “Round Table”.

“Round Table… Will Astina-Denka be there?”

“Raquel-nee… the Knight’s Captain, the commander of the archers, Dite-san, will also be there so if they wait too long, you might get shot.”

Presha-san, who seemed to be thinking so hard previously now showed a smile. The situation is still serious, but it would be nice if I could feel a little better during the discussion. With that in mind, I went up to the fourth floor of the fortress where the Round Table is.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


1 thought on “Chapter 15: What a military doctor should be”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.