Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 144: A day passing slowly

I was able to make longswords and shortswords rather well. From the sales I heard from Camilo, we still need more of these for the high-end models, so if we can make them for a few more days, we should be fine. As for the amount of knives, it should be fine in moderation. It looks like I’ll have time to make the door and the bed for Liddy’s room.

Shortly before the sun went down, I heard a rattling noise from the outside. Kururu should have returned. That means the other three were back as well. As expected, Samia, Diana, and Liddy returned to the workshop shortly after.

“Welcome home.”

When I greeted them, the three of them replied with, “I’m home”.

“What did you get today?”

“It’s mainly fruits. There are also some that are likely to be planted in the fields. It was Liddy who chose it.”

“We focus on things that can be harvested early.”

Samia replied and Liddy followed up. If she means early crops, then it has to be some herbs and leafy greens. Let’s soak some of the fruits in wine and consume the rest as soon as possible. It’s good to have a table full.

After ending the day’s work, I prepared our dinner. Today I made something like a roasted wild boar meat with herbs. I also served some apple-like fruits. I cut up some of the apple-like fruits and put them in a small jar with plenty of water. The jar was sterilized by boiling, and the water was boiled once. After sealing its lid, I left them in the workshop. I hope it works.

The dinner was well received. The cooking method itself is difficult to elaborate, but I want to change the seasoning as much as possible. Hmm, I should ask Camilo if I can get butter or cheese…

The next day.

Samia, Diana, and Liddy are working in the fields today. This is because the seedlings brought back yesterday must be replanted early. Of course, the amount of seedlings they brought back is not enough to fill the field. We need to make room for the seeds when they arrive from Elf Village so we purposely left some space for that.

Since it is a family of 5 people plus 1 pet, even if we could harvest the maximum amount of food per person, the quantity would be limited. However, I think that whether or not we can be self-sufficient is important in this kind of lifestyle.

I don’t know what might force us to stay here for a long time, and it would be essential if we started a life like a retreat. It would be good to accumulate such know-how now. But for now, I have to be a blacksmith. It is also necessary to make a reasonable amount of inventory by the time of delivery about a week later. ……Well, isn’t it better to go see it in between?

It seems that Samia and the others will help with the blacksmithing work from tomorrow, so I switched to making knives today. In terms of manufacturing speed, it’s faster to get their help when making a sword.

Rike will also be making knives today. According to Camilo, the general model knives made by Rike are the best-selling knives, so it is better to have the same number of general model knives. In other words, there are not that many high-end knives available. This is because the number of people who want knives with such sharpness is much smaller than the other products.

Camilo also said that it doesn’t have a problem if it’s lesser. So today, I’ll split the workload between the general model and the high-end model ones. Today I’d also like to reduce Rike’s load with the general model by half. She can then spend that time making what she wants.

When I told Rike about it, at first she said, “that’s discourteous”, but I convinced her that she should be able to make something on her own as a disciple of Eizou Workshop so she reluctantly accepted. I feel that I’m pushing my disciple around a bit, but please forgive me for being selfish sometimes.

For the general model, I don’t have to put so much effort into it so I can do it easily. For a while, the sound of me and Rike hammering rhythmically echoed in the workshop, then we heard a rattling sound from outside.

I guess Kururu begged Diana to let him pull the mini cart. If I could make a plow for Kururu to pull, it would be easier to expand the farm, but I don’t intend to do such a large scale farming.

With the addition of a rattling bass sound to the clear rhythm of the metals hitting with each other, Rike and I mass-produced knives.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


6 thoughts on “Chapter 144: A day passing slowly”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.