Homeless Tensei: Isekai De Jiyuu Sugiru Majutsu Jisoku Seikatsu

Chapter 2: To live, I’ll start to walk for the time being

I checked my body in the dark.          

My skin seems to be rejuvenated as if it can repel water. Besides, there is no beard on my face. On the contrary, it seems to have been rejuvenated as I’m now without wrinkles!

My body is full of strength―.

“I feel so young again! What is this?… What’s going on?!”

I’m naked right now but I don’t even feel cold. I tried to jump around naked like some ethnic group, then I remembered what happened earlier, I sat down on the floor.

“What was that? Meteorites fell and monsters appeared. Even Shige-san… Damn!”

I was killed at that time. It’s not a mistake.

Since I have seen a revolving lantern, this could only be Heaven or Hell. As far as I can see, it seems that this dark and cold passageway is just continuing, but how far is it?

I wonder if I have to wander in the labyrinth forever because of the sins I committed…

Thinking that, I roam my eyes around. I found something like a white lump. Upon closer inspection, it was a human corpse’s skeleton. The head of the skeleton is half-crushed. The bones of the whole body were also crushed. It feels like it was killed rather than it died.

The body of the corpse’s skeleton have unfamiliar items such as leather breastplates and shin pads. Next to its waist was a fallen knife and bag.

“This is good, I might get some clothes for myself.”

When I look inside the bag, I find a set of clothes that I could wear. I’m apparently lucky. I thought that the leather breastplate looked beautiful, so I put it on my chest without hesitation. Finally, I attached the knife to my waist and my getup’s complete.

In addition, there’s dried meat and bread inside the bag, but it seems that I can barely eat it. I was relieved in my heart though, the food for today was secured.

Thinking this far… I realized something strange.

If this was either Hell or Heaven, is there still a need for food?

And this breastplate and knife…

Why would there be a skeleton in the world after death?

Such questions swell in my head.

“I should look for people first. Someone might be able to answer my questions.”

Just in case, I used the knife to mark this place where I appeared. If there is a chance that I can go back to my world, then that should also be in this place. If that’s the case, it may be dangerous to leave here.

So I decided to stay here for a while.

I have a very accurate body clock. This is one of the few special skills that have been honed ever since I manage the company, and it has been sharpened further when I became homeless. Perhaps, because of that I feel that time takes longer than other people do.

It should have been three hours from the time I have waited…

Nothing happened at all. I’ve been sleeping and waking up repeatedly, it’s just that, the emptiness makes me hungry.

If this is really Hell, would Shige-san be here too? If that’s the case, I would be happy.

Ah, No no! It’s unwise to be happy if your friend is in Hell. It would be nice for him not to be here.

“However, this place looks a lot like a dungeon…”

I looked like this but I have also played video games. When I was young, I experienced a famous RPG game, so I can understand the concept of dungeon. Still, it’s strange that Hell looks like a dungeon.

Most likey, Enma-sama of Hell likes games.

“Awooo–”

I could hear a howling like sound of wolfs. I immediately get up and hold the knife.

“I was careless. This is Hell, it’s not only limited to human beings!”

“Awooo–”

The wolf’s howl sounded even closer. This is bad. I start running immediately. I could hear the cry of the wolf and someone’s scream from a distance. I focused in running continuously through the passageway. Then I arrived at an open place.

The room was dome-shaped and contained a pile of corpses in the center. When I draw near, it didn’t smell bad. Well, my nose is paralyzed by rubbish, so I can’t really count on it.

On the wall, there are small crystals on top of a candle stand giving faint light that brightly illuminated the entire room.

“Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr–”

Hearing a wolf’s growl, I dive into the mountain of corpses. When I look out through the gap, four wolves appeared in the room. All of them are big and would be about 2 meters long. The brown fur that covers its entire body makes it look like a hyena.

What are those creatures? A wolf? It’s too big for it to be one…

Through the gap, I watched as the wolves look around.

Sniff- Sniff-

One of the wolves sniffed from the corpses I’m hiding at!

The corpse’ rotten smell should have misled my own scent, but I am not really sure. If that’s not the case, it will definitely find me hiding here. A line of sweat flows from my forehead.

“Awooo–”

One of them howled and the other three howled in the same way. And then, they ran back to the passageway.

I-I was saved…

I just thought of that when the floor begins to shake slightly, and gradually, the shaking grew. I wanted to scream, is there something else here?

“Gugaaaaaa–”

A rumbling sound which seemed to be coming from a stomach echoed in the room. I peeked thru the gap, and looked around but I cannot see where that sound’s coming from. This time, fear rises in me as I think of what kind of monster will come out.

With a thud, a thick pillar appeared before my eyes. The brown surface was ragged like that of an elephant’s skin which is quite impressive. Cautiously, I moved my eyes towards the top of the pillar.

Hairless head… Thick lips with a pig-like nose…

Sharp and pointed canine sticks out of its mouth, the eyes are yellowish and do not convey any emotions. If there is one, that would be its hunger. The naked giant was about 3m in height and it was hungry for human corpses.

“…?!”

I almost screamed unintentionally.

It’s too ugly and terrifying, I trembled at the sight of the horrific monster. Even now, blood drips and falls on the floor, telling me what the giant is eating.

Wha-What should I do? Should I escape here?

However, there are other monsters outside…

While I am pondering on what to do, the mountain of corpses is gradually decreasing. There is even a part of me that makes me want to ask if the giant’s appetite is bottomless…

It is only a matter of time before the place where I’m hidden would be exposed!

“It’s sink or swim! I was once a President! Gambling is my expertise!”

I slipped out of the corpses and cut the giant’s leg with my knife to keep a distance. Even if I escape to the passageway, wolves would be there. There are only two choices left –fight or be killed. In that case, it’s better to deal with one giant than many wolves.

“Guaaaaa!”

The giant noticed that its leg had been cut, it looked back and saw my face. Its face was painted with fury. Furious, it hit the floor hard with both hands.

“Monster! Try catching me!”

I started running inside the room and decided to aim for the giant’s weakness. The legs are slow because of its huge figure. Frantically chasing, it stomped on the floor as it can’t catch me.

Apparently it’s not intelligent enough to go around and catch me.

“The problem would be its weak point… I only have a knife so there is slim chance winning…”

If I look at my knife, it gives off a silvery white reflected light. Probably, this is very good quality knife. I can understand it because I am good at seeing things…

But with a knife alone, I can’t beat such huge monster. When I look at the giant, I notice that its shin is glowing red. It’s a small red dot that can’t be seen unless you look closely. I tried rubbing my eyes but the red dots still remained on the giant’s knees.

What is that?

“Guaaaaa!”

I kept my eyes on its knees, waiting for an opportunity to be taken. As I entered the attack range of the giant, its arm slowly swings down towards me who was running to the nearby wall.

“Yo!”

The attack shatters the wall while the giant’s right arm pierced deeply. I avoided it by a hair’s breadth. Barely going through his inseam, I immediately stab the knife at the red dot on the back of its right knee.

I don’t know what it means but I wish it was an option for me to beat this monster.

“Gugyaaaaaaaaaaa!?”

The giant screamed loudly, for some reason it also fell to the floor. Then it presses on its right knee as it run wild.

…No, it’s suffering from pain.

In that case, the red dots may have been its weak spot…

Seeing a chance, I thrust my knife into the other knee. The giant slammed his hands violently on the floor, much like a whining child.

It must have been a considerable pain. But I can’t pass up this opportunity. I jumped on the giant’s back, raised my knife and thrust it to the neck. Fresh blood gush out vigorously from the slit –I forcefully cut off its neck.

It tried to spit out a sound yet it was not able to, the giant gradually get cold.

It’s dead.

“Phew, killing living things doesn’t really feel good. I don’t feel guilty even if it’s human-like though. But… my hands are now shaking.”

I sat down beside the giant and took a break. I want to drink water but unfortunately, I don’t have one. So I can only be patient here.

Other than that, the red dot earlier… It was also my first time seeing such thing alive.

“I don’t think it’s a hallucination…”

This is Hell. Of course, that’s only my conjecture, but I believe in Hell now. In addition, those who have fallen into Hell may develop some special powers…

That red dot, could it be considered as some kind of power?

“Is it that I’ve woken up a spiritual ability like Shige-san?”

At this moment, something popped in me, and some characters were on my mind.

“Status Open”

It was those characters.

It’s a funny thing, this is real life yet I’m trying to see a status window that is often seen on games. However, my instinct is telling me to speak it.

I can no longer wait so I tried singing it.

“Status Open”

Almost at the same time as the words finished, a small blue translucent window opened. It’s as if the PC window is floating in the air.

Status
Name: Shinichi Tanaka
Age: 17 years old (56 years old)
Race: Homeless
Occupation: Homeless
Magic attribute: No Attribute
Magic: None
Skills: Appraisal (Beginner), Pressure Point (Beginner)

“What is this…………”

I’m stunned because of the information written on the status window. Moreover, unfamiliar words were written plainly.

Magic?  Skill?  Eh…? What?

It was the race that worried me more.

What homeless race?!

Are you kidding me?

I’ll hit the guy who wrote this!


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


3 thoughts on “Chapter 2: To live, I’ll start to walk for the time being”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.