Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 26: Gray Land

A wheat field spreads from the fortress towards the south. The farm village, which was seriously damaged by the monsters, seems to be located further down the road through the fields.

Since the road was maintained to some extent, we used a carriage to travel around. Presha-san’s subordinate became the coachman, while the two captains are on their horses.

From the carriage’s window, I can see Dite-san who’s advancing alongside the carriage. As we approach our destination, she started explaining things without me asking anything.

 “The rural areas around here are self-governed by the powerful families who ruled the area. They were initially hostile to our kingdom, but after the Isle Rose fortress was built, they did not resist as much.”

“I guess when they look at the fortress, they feel that it’s not easy to challenge…”

 “There is also a point to that, but it’s more likely due to the threat of Zirconia army approaching beyond the waterway. A militia of farmers couldn’t resist a trained knight. Knowing that, they came under the patronage of the Kingdom’s army.”

It’s true that the knights continuously repel the Zirconia army feared by the powerful families. However, if food production is declining in this rural area, it is possible that the poverty-stricken powerful families would consider changing sides. –That’s what I think.

“When Astina-sama became the fortress’ commander, the people’s sentiments towards the Knights have improved. It’s probably because we’re not only protecting against Zirconia, but also protecting the territories from monsters and bandits. The food produced here is shipped to all Western territories. If the monsters that ruin the farmland are left alone…, their sentiments will gradually get worse.”

“That’s why I want to somehow do something about it… No, not somehow… if it’s not done, the entire knights will be exhausted. Poor grain and vegetable production also affects livestock. If it’s difficult to eat a lot of meat, I hope we can at least eat beans.”

“The bean field has also been damaged. It was producing fine before but now…”

Dite-san gaze ahead as if she noticed something.

“Wh-what’s that… previously… it shouldn’t have been this bad…”

“Everyone, look! The color of the land over there has changed…!”

 The ground is gray colored… It is completely different from the original color of the soil.

Looking outside the window, I’m lost for words at the sight before me. There is a border in front of the wheat field, and the land on the other side is gray.

Perhaps the horse also felt the abnormality, as our progress slowed down. Then, from a private house ahead, a person came out riding a horse. He is probably managing the fields around here.

“Oh, are you members of the Knights? I’m glad you came, but this land is now useless. Before the harvest, everything dies.”

“Such… why is this happening? Wasn’t there just a monster?”

The man gets confused at Presha-san’s question. He pointed the gray land spreading behind –then to the forest beyond it.

“At first, only monsters appeared. It was weak to flames, and there was a temporary treatment if it was burned out… The Knights also cooperated with us several times. However, A few months ago, the land around that forest became gray and the crops stopped growing properly.”

“Oh… if we defeat the monster, will things return back to its original state? If the crops won’t grow back, it doesn’t make sense to defeat the monster…”

Raquel-san must have received some report and would have understood to some extent. This is unexplained land pollution –No, this is “erosion”.

I got off the carriage and listened to the voices of the plants around. It’s not as clear as the voice of the elder. The crops around here have not turned gray but they have been weakened.

…The wind… comes from the forest… What is this sensation…

“…Glass-sensei?”

“Glass-sama, is there something wrong?”

―A gray forest can be seen from afar. As I watched it, I feel like I was watching something different from the actual scenery right in front of me.

In the middle of the forest where the sun shines, something basking in the light looked at me – a young lady. The young lady’s lips moved. However, I can’t hear her voice – obviously, since it’s an illusion.

It was the scenery I saw when I contracted with my spirit. But it quickly fades to gray.

“Are you… there? I… am I seeing the illusion of that place?…”

“Se-sensei! Get a hold of yourself! Illusion? What are you talking about?”

“Ah, I-I’m sorry. I’m just worried about that forest. Is there something in that forest?”

When I asked a farmer, he also shook his head.

“It seems that there is a place somewhere in that forest that enshrined some kind of god in the generation of our ancestors. No one dared to approach it… Since I was born, I never went inside. There are even rumors that you will be cursed if you go…”

“Curse… is it? If you say that, don’t you think it would be more horrible if the land has withered?”

Everyone can imagine that the cause of the monsters was in that forest. The phenomenon in which this land turns gray spreads from that forest.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


2 thoughts on “Chapter 26: Gray Land”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.