Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 28: Spirit Doctor’s Duty

The monsters that appeared to be numerous is a hermaphrodite plant that has transformed, the female plant acted as the command tower, attacking with the male plant. Everything was connected through the rhizome.

By attacking the command tower, its attack has also stopped. When it stops moving, although it has a poisonous color, it turns out to be an ordinary plant.

“So-Sorry, Glass-sensei…Somehow, the places where the monster entwined me were tingling….”

“Oh…there’s poison on the surface huh. I understand, please show me.”

“If only I wore protective gear that covers my whole body like Raquel-ane… Oww…I’m about to die of itchiness…”

First, I take a look at the arms of Presha-san who is now sitting down. Since her upper arm is not covered with armor, her skin was scratched when the under armor was torn.

When I touch the red and swollen area, there are two kinds of poisons in it, one causes itching and the other causes inflammation. Although itching seems plain, it is one of the pains that human beings cannot bear.

“It’s a little cool but this will add redness.”

This ointment was a mixture of oil and herbal ingredients, it was experimented using all herbs available to test its effect. I made dozens of dermatological drugs alone, but I found that by mixing ingredients of some herbs in proper proportions, it was possible to obtain better effects than using it alone.

I spread the ointment on the reddish area and bandaged it. The places where she was wrapped around were on both upper arms and on the thighs above her knee pads. The wound is swollen like a line caused by a whip, I used magic power to activate the components of the drug to accelerate healing as much as possible.

“…That’s a lot of sweat…..Sensei, what a concentration, I am sweating my hands too as I see it.”

Dite-san and Lendl-san wipes my forehead from both sides. It’s embarrassing to make them this concerned about me, but it’s helpful that they wipe off my sweat so I didn’t say anything.

After checking her upper arm, thigh –her whole body, I then apply medicine to the small wounds. Since her neck was wrapped by the vines too, I did not forget to apply medicine on it especially on her nape.

“Presha-san, is there anywhere else that hurts?”

“Un, it’s fine now…..Thank you Sensei.”

Presha-san smiles as she gets up. The medicines I carry with me were not endless, and the current treatment used up all my skin medicines –I have to mix them up again when I have time.

“…I didn’t feel any malice during the treatment. Is Glass-sensei a saint?”

“Glass-sama doesn’t have any bad intentions. This is just a treatment.”

“Ah….I-I’m sorry Presha-san! I was only thinking about treatment. I might have made you feel embarrassed…”

 “I’m not embarrassed or something… It’s just that….it’s not something other people should touch casually. So I wondered if it’s okay, but Sensei just worked so hard, and I ended up thinking I’m just self-conscious.”

“In that case, it’s more like I’m the one who’s overly self-conscious, or too intrusive…..I-It’s not like that. I also thought that it was only an act of treatment.”

Although I also thought that it was an act of treatment, but when I recall the scene when I was applying the ointment, I think that it is a view where I can see objectively. Even if I’m aware of it, in case of urgent medical treatment, I’ll just steel my heart.

“Glass-sama, it’s time to move… we don’t know when monsters will come out.”

“…No, it’s fine. I don’t feel any signs of monsters getting closer.”

This is in the middle of the gray wilderness –but so far, there is no sign that monsters will come out. It was said that there were many monsters here. Although that plant monster was only one, it looked like multiple in number – that’s probably the reason they say there were many monsters.

“Eh… Se-sensei? What on earth are you doing? If you touch it, you will itch like I did!”

I approached the female plant monster that Presha-san stabbed and examined it. In the stem part –vascular bundles has developed abnormally which have transformed to allow tentacle-like movements. This is a plant I know of.

“The shape of this leaf… it’s that after all. This plant monster is a variation of a what is called as nettle. It transformed into a monster, but it was originally a plant. It is also sometimes used as herb.”

“As in medicinal herbs…? With such poisonous color… and there’s poison in it too right?”

“Depending on how you use it, it can be a poison or a drug. Nettle may have thorns on its stem in areas where it is often eaten by animals. The wounded or damaged part becomes a thorn.”

“…Because it moves like a living thing, no one really noticed it. Once it’s burned, it’s even more difficult to tell what it was.”

Even the wreckage that was left over would have been known to me as a plant. It’s a completely different tissue from animals. I touch the female plant that stopped moving. It still has a breath, but it has no intention of resistance –on the contrary, it weakly transmitted its consciousness.

…Give judgment to humans who have abandoned the sanctuary…. The story of the man from before… this means that some god is really enshrined there…

The key to stopping this gray soil erosion is really in that forest.

Being abandoned means that there was a relation with human in the past. What if the existence that has been worshiped was forgotten and they are now producing demons in anger and as punishment?

(The monsters don’t even come to you….The beings in that forest are already weak.)

 “…I’m sorry. If you can, don’t send your friends to us anymore, and we won’t have to fight.”

Even if I speak to it, there is no reply. However, the poisonous color of the plant change to green, which is probably its original color.

“It’s really… it was just normal grass…”

“…It’s as if you’re talking and conversing with plants. Glass-sensei, what are you really?…”

“I’m a plant spirit user. I’m glad I came here today… I think the reason I contracted a plant spirit was to come here.”

Due to hatred, the existence created monsters and eroded the land to gray to torment the people –I no longer have that idea. The beings in that forest are weak and were calling for help. Not only humans, but also the ones that dwell in plants –healing the spirits is also the role of a Spirit Doctor.

“There may still be plants that are hostile to us. Fire arrows are certainly effective, but don’t use them in battle if you can.”

“…I understand. If you think about the feelings of plants, it will be painful and hateful if it is burned.”

“It must have hurt when I stabbed it with a spear… I thought it was a vicious monster so I rushed out with all my might.”

“If we didn’t do that, we would all be detained. I think we couldn’t avoid the previous battle.”

If Presha-san and Dite-san weren’t there, I couldn’t make such conversation–I might even be captured and ended up without knowing anything.

However, if possible, I would like to avoid further battles. Whether we can do that or not, depends on how I interact with the plant monsters were about to encounter.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


1 thought on “Chapter 28: Spirit Doctor’s Duty”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.