Homeless Tensei: Isekai De Jiyuu Sugiru Majutsu Jisoku Seikatsu

Chapter 13: One Week Later

After I wake up, as usual, I stretch my back and start muscle training. After sweating a little, it is the usual bathing. It’s really cold and comfortable.

“Alright, shall we go to the field?”

I equipped myself with a sword on my waist and some light equipment, it’s perfect after I put on the black robe, I lifted the Mithril Hoe right after.

My body clock says it’s now 5 o’clock in the morning, I wake up quite early but there are still a lot to do. I knocked on the bookshelf, the entrance to the bedroom and then I heard a voice from the inner part.

“I’m awake!”

“We’ll be going to the field so get ready.”

“Ye-es”

I then heard rustling sounds in the bedroom, Erna opened the door and came out. She’s wearing the light equipment as usual but she had a bow on her back and a cane on her hand.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Huaaa, I’m still sleepy-”

“You can go back to bed, I’ll go to the field.”

 “I’m just joking. I also need to properly tend to the field.”

While saying so, she did not overlook to look at me as if she’s gonna bite me to death. I can’t help it if she’s really that sleepy. Still, her neat grooming is impressive, as expected of a woman. Both me and Erna carried an empty rucksack, we went out of the hideout and proceed to the fields.

A week has passed since I met Erna. I couldn’t understand the language at first but Erna taught me and I mastered it in three days. I was surprised learning it in such short time, my memory power has increased and it seems to be the effect of the Saint Water.

I quickly learned the words, but I couldn’t get used to it immediately. So I decided to live only in the common language of this world, now I am completely fluent.

The only thing that has changed in the past week is my work.

I’ve been living homeless since I came to this world, but since Erna says she’s anxious about being self-sufficient, we decide to become an adventurer. But that doesn’t mean much. We went to a guild facility and register, and after that we get a job whenever we want. There are various restrictions, but it doesn’t seem to matter now.

Well, the reason why I decided to live with Erna has connection with this adventurer’s work. Adventurers are said to be called a “party” where few people come together.

When you become comrades, you can share a living space together. I also heard that it is necessary to bring the living areas as close as much as possible.

I also think it’s normal since they are your comrades but even if they don’t live together… Ah- No, that’s a big mistake. It is common story for adventurers to live together, and it is common sense to live together to save money.

In fact, I went to the city and watched the adventurer’s life for a while, but it was a poor life or a miserable one. It seems that some people make a lot of money, but there are only a handful of people who own a house or a mansion. It’s a difficult world.

Returning to the topic, Erna begged me to form a party with her. I consented without realizing it and started living together in this way, but deep inside I also enjoy this setup.

She has taught me the language and just thinking that there is a beautiful woman beside you will heal your dreary heart. Of course I also experienced those “happening”. Erna is slim but her chest is quite big.This is translated by Yume Neiji

Now, me and Erna are more like farmers than adventurers.

“Well, we’ve arrived at the field. Let’s work properly today too.”

“Alright, I’ll start weeding now.”

After we arrived at the field, we immediately start work. Perhaps because of the pollination a week ago, new seedlings are growing in the field. After I water the seedlings, I move to another field. I’ve added another field over the past week, right now, I’m just tending the seedlings every day.

The growth rate of the plants in the miniature garden is abnormal. It’s a funny story that the seeds planted yesterday had buds the next day.

However, it is normal here, and even plants brought from outside will jump up in its growth rate. The conclusion is that this place is extraordinary, not only the plant, but I feel that the harvested vegetables are also unusual.

“Hmm, the seedlings are doing well. As expected, in this environment even without insects it’s easy to grow plants. It seems that there is no need to worry about pests and it is the ideal garden.”This is translated by Yume Neiji

“Shinichi–! I harvested today’s portion!”

Erna happily shows the vegetables she holds in her hands.

“Would you like to go back to the hideout and start preparing for our breakfast?”

“Ah, wait a minute! There’s a bird over there, so I’ll shoot it down first.”

She packed the vegetables in her rucksack, took out her bow, and start running. Erna is basically a wizard. No, in this world it’s called a “mage”, she looks exactly like a mage. However, the magic that she can use is too weak, and in the streets, she is known as the “Defective” Mage. There is one thing that she is good at, that is archery.

Elf race were also called the “people of the forest”, and it is said that the talents for magic and archery are naturally high.

Naturally, as an elf, she is also good at using bows, her archery skill has already reached intermediate level. Still, since it seems to be within the elves capability, her skill was not even considered high.

By the way, there is a reason why Erna went to the dungeon without using a bow. An ordinary bow needs to have an arrow. It cost money and it was a heavy burden on her poor life. It seems that the one she could only end up using is a sword but she still lacks talent and has not reached the beginner level.

Yes, Erna is a poor child.

Nevertheless, the bow of the old tree given by me solves the problem. At first she was surprised as it was a great weapon, but she gladly accepted it, it is now treated as her own weapon.

While thinking about such a thing, Erna holding a bow aimed at the bird for about two seconds and shot an arrow.

The bird hit by the arrow cried, “Kuke!?” and fell to the ground. Today as well, her skill was cleanly executed.

“Shinichi! Look at this!, it’s a kokko bird!”

I grab the chicken-like bird that Erna showed me happily. I took out the knife, cut off its neck then wrap a rope around its legs. I hang it against the tree.

“Erna is quick in this kind of work. Did you do the same thing in the forest?”

“Yeah, the country of elves is in the woods and my hunting skill is good.”

“Why did you come out of the elf country?”

When I said so, Erna’s face changed to a crying expression.

“B-Because… Elves have magic… But my magic…”

“Wait! It was my bad! S-So don’t cry!”

It was dangerous. I forgot that “Magic” and “Elf Country” is a sensitive topic for Erna. I don’t know what I was thought of in my hometown, but I’m sure it’s a past I want to forget.

When the bird’s blood was drained of, me and Erna returned to the 20th floor and went straight to the disposal site.

“Uh… I can’t really get use to this smell… Uh…Shinichi’s fine though…”

“I’m used to the strong smell, I don’t think much about this.”

Saying that, I start collecting usable items from the pile of corpses. When I first guided her here, Erna hated it so much, but now she seems to have gotten used to it even a little.

First and foremost, adventurers are used to seeing corpses. It is a common story that some comrades could die in the dungeon. Perhaps because of such a foundation, she changed quickly. The other thing is that she seemed to be taken in by the charm of money.

“Hooray! This adventurer has 10 silver coins!”

“That’s a good harvest. Let’s thank him for it and let’s use it carefully.”

When we finished looting the corpses, we spread today’s harvest on the floor.

“Forty-five copper coins, fifteen silver coins, four iron swords, two axes and three canes. Food are dried meat, bread, and a little seasoning. I think today’s harvest is okay.”

“But why are there so many dead people every day? Do they not think of stopping?”

As I asked doubtfully, Erna shakes her head.

“There are only three ways a commoner can get rich –becoming a soldier, succeeding as a merchant, or becoming an adventurer and be a successful person. Of these options, being an adventurer is the fastest. Nobody wants to be poor, mostly they want to become famous and rich.”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Successful career huh…. Foolish! Even if you have money and fame, once you lose something important, it’s meaningless.”

I uttered those words as if to refute Erna’s words. I know this because it was something I had learned. I lost my family, and my treasured company was gone due to betrayal. If you forget what you are earning for, your money will disappear quickly.

“Shinichi?”

“Hn. Ah-, Sorry. I just remembered the past. Should we go back to the hideout for breakfast?”

“………”

Erna stared at me and looked a little grumpy.

 ◆◇◆

After eating breakfast, I prepared my luggage. The empty rucksack is now packed with swords, axes, spears, etc., I was already equipped with my things so we could depart anytime.

“Hey, Shinichi. I can’t use this cane…”

Erna was pointing at a cane in the corner of the room. It is the mysterious cane that cannot be known even by using appraisal, it is probably the item used by the former resident.

“Isn’t it the Great Mage’s? Do you want that person’s cane?”

“Isn’t it obvious?! It’s the cane of Moore, the Great Mage! It’s a national treasure grade, it’s a marvellous treasure!”

Moore, the Great Mage, is a mage who was said to have existed in the world a thousand years ago.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

He is known to be the person who laid the foundation for the current magical theory, and the miracle that he caused is innumerable. It is said that he is a wise man who has left his legend all over the world.

The problem here is the life of Moore, the Great Mage. After being hailed as a wise man, he is said to have died and the world don’t even know the reason why. However, there are many books in the hideout that are famous as Moore’s legacy. And all of it was handwritten.

By the way, it is said that this hideout was the house of Moore the Great Mage. Knowing this fact, Erna quivered, but she was greedy as she read the books and she began to make a creepy smile. Her eyes look like that of an avenger.

She wants the staff of such a great mage, but I don’t care. I’ll give it if she wants it.

“Take what you like because I can’t use magic anyway.”

“I did it! Now I’m also a wise man– Ouch!?”

When she tried to touch the cane, something like a bzzzzt sound echoed and an electric current flowed out. It’s somehow as expected. I had a bad feeling about it that I didn’t touch the cane at all, so I was convinced that something will happen.

“As expected, I guess the cane chooses its owner. You see, I’m afraid that not just anyone can use the Great Mage’s cane.”

“Uhu… the cane refused me…”

She seems about to cry, but I can’t do anything about it. The one who refused her was the Great Mage’s cane, and she has her own cane already. Her magic complex seems to be severe when it comes to this point.

“Alright, get ready we will head to town now.”

I carry the rucksack on my back as I say so, Erna carries her luggage in the same way and follows me out. Like that, we proceed to the miniature garden. We went to the Temple of Teleportation while defeating monsters.

“We will now transfer to the ground.”

“Yes”

Me and Erna touched the black stone plate. The scenery distorted and darkened only for a moment then the scenery on the ground spread out in front of me. We were transferred to the ground.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“We’ve arrived. Alright, let’s go to town.”

As soon as we went out to the ground, we start walking toward the city. This is the fifth time I have come to the ground. There are various purposes heading out, but the common thing is to get money.

My current life can be self-sufficient, but still seasoning and things that bring color to life are necessary. Then we also need money. For that, we have to go to the ground and earn that money.

While walking towards the city, Erna began to make demands for today’s shopping.

“I think we need soap after all. Saint water keeps our body clean but it will smell nicer, don’t you think?”

“Rejected. Soap stains water. Saint water seems to have more detergency than soap, so it’s unnecessary.”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Ugh… So new clothes!? I don’t have much clothes…ok?”

“It’s also rejected. Didn’t you say that you will buy clothes last time? And I know that you have more than twenty clothes already.”

As I say so, once again, Erna groaned with a “Gnununu” sound. Even though she lived in poverty, she handles money extravagantly.

Well, it seems that she was saving money elsewhere, but if I am to be asked, it’s a waste of money. When I was still a president I haven’t even thought I would have experience being homeless. When we arrived in town, we greet the soldiers at the entrance.

“How are you doing?”

To this question, the soldiers smiled.

“It’s no good. It doesn’t seem like I can succeed today either.”

“It’s okay, proof of promotion doesn’t mean that soldiers can’t succeed in life. Eat this and cheer up.”

We divide the chicken caught today to the soldiers.

Probably because I am an elderly person, when young people are depressed, I feel like encouraging them. The soldiers who received the meat smiled and salutes at me.

“Thank you for your kindness Tanaka-dono.”

“Good, I don’t live in this city, but there will be days when I’ll ask you to take care of me.”

After saying that, as I parted from the soldier, Erna whispered softly.

“Shinichi is young, but he acts like an old man, right?”

Ugh! To just blurt out my private worry like that

We walked through the city and entered a store.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


4 thoughts on “Chapter 13: One Week Later”

  1. Thanks for the chapter…

    I still wondering if his wife is in truth someone from another world, and maybe he will meet her again later or meet his son at least.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. … I’m not sure that such a meeting would be happy for either side.

      If it were me, at that point I would rather let the past die. Not just for my sake but for the wife’s and for the sake of the children who grew up without me and might not like that I only now get to be a part of their life.

      Like

  2. Sorry for making it take a dark turn.

    Probably won’t happen. There’s no harem tag or anything else that would suggest the advent of the wife or child in the novelupdates description.

    Plus, our MC only came here after dying on earth, so….

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.