Homeless Tensei: Isekai De Jiyuu Sugiru Majutsu Jisoku Seikatsu

Chapter 25: Sacred Beast Pero

“Fuaa~”

I wake up while yawning, I then start muscle training as usual. After that, I hold my sword and practice the swinging drill. This is repeated every day, when my muscles awaken, my thoughts also become clear. Muscles are the best after all.

When the training is over, I knock on the bookshelf. Recently, we wake up late because we’re reading books till late at night.

“Erna, it’s morning.”

“…..”

“Get up Erna!”

“…..Fuaa? It’s morning already?”

After confirming that she has started to move around in the bedroom, I also begin to prepare my luggage. Today is the harvest day on the field. Harvest day comes about once a week. If I think about it normally, it’s an unusual growth rate, but I’ve realized that it’s only normal here so there’s no use thinking about it.

“Good morning!”

Erna came out of her bedroom wearing a thin T-shirt and thin trousers and she holds her cane in one hand. She similarly has a rucksack on her back and a bow as well. This is Erna’s farming style.Translated by Yume Neiji

By the way, I have the usual light equipment style. After becoming a homeless variant, I no longer sweats from farming and training so I don’t have to change my clothes many times.

“Well then, shall we head to the field?”

“Yes”

Me and Erna headed towards the field.

 ◆◇◆

“Hey, I’ve eaten balm fruit many times already. Can I really get that super sensation skill?”

Erna grumbled as she chews on her third balm fruit. After finishing the field work, we headed towards the second miniature garden and had breakfast at the root of the balm tree.

At first glance it may seem dangerous, but now, the monsters in the miniature garden do not even approach me. Kobolds are the ones who run away as soon as they see my face.

Amongst the kobolds, there is one who tries to get some food from me. Timidly, it approaches near us then it lies with its back on the ground and shows its belly. I’m also fond of dogs, so when I do have some dried meat, I start to give it some and it eats them happily. Since then, the kobold has been named “Pero” and it is adorable sometimes.

Oops, the topic got sidetracked.

The reason why Erna is eating balm fruits is because I thought that she could acquire super sensation skill after eating balm fruits. However, it took longer than I expected. I checked her status too many times by using my appraisal skill but there’s no super sensation word on it.

It wasnt possible?… I thought so but by the time Erna ate her fourth balm fruit, a change has taken place.

【Appraisal Result: Erna Frederia: The second daughter of the Frederia family. Under intense training to get back on Feria who bullied her when she was at the Mage Academy. She’s now full from balm fruit】

Status
Name:  Erna Frederia
Age:  19 years old
Race:  Elves
Occupation:  Adventurer
Magic attribute:  Fire | Light
Magic:  Fireball, Fire Arrow, Flame Bomb, Flame Chain, Flame Wall, Flame Burst, Light, Stun Light
Skills:  Spearmanship(Intermediate),  Archery (Intermediate), Taijutsu A (Advanced), Taijutsu B (Advanced), Hell Ears (Intermediate), Super Sensation(Beginner) New, Attack Prediction (Beginner), Indomitable Spirit (Beginner)

“You did it! You got the super sensation skill!”

“Urph…I can’t eat anymore…”

I’m happy but on the other hand, Erna seems to be in pain as she’s holding her stomach.

“What? You’re already full with only four of it? I’m already at my sixth one you know.”

Saying that, I eat the balm fruit. It tastes like orange so it’s really delicious. The effect of balm fruit doesn’t change whether you eat one or two, so now, it’s more like a snack. It’s just great for a kotatsu, though I don’t need it because the miniature garden is kept at the right temperature.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

When I opened my status, I also saw a change.

Status
Name:  Shinichi Tanaka
Age:  17 years old (56 years old)
Race:  Homeless (Variant)
Occupation:  Adventurer
Magic attribute:  No Attribute
Magic:  None
Skills: Appraisal (Advanced), Pressure Point (Advanced), Swordsmanship (Advanced), Axemanship (Advanced), Spearmanship (Advanced), Hammermanship (Advanced), Archery (Advanced), Taijutsu A(Advanced), Taijutsu B(Advanced), Stealth (Intermediate), Thread Generation (Advanced), Thread Manipulation (Advanced), Thread Bomb (Advanced), Danger Detection (Advanced), Eyesight Enhancement(Advanced), Super Sensation (Intermediate) ↑, Self Recovery (Intermediate), Skill Picking

Hmm, the grade of my super sensation skill has levelled up. So its a good idea to continue eating balm fruits to improve its rank. This is a big discovery.

I tried to eat about 20 balm fruits, but my skills did not change after that. Seems like I need to continue eating more to make it into an advanced rank.

At the point where I’m about to move, Pero comes.

“Wa~on!”

“Oh, it’s Pero!”

A kobold about 60 cm tall hugs me and licks my face. Yes, Pero is a child of a Kobold. Its fur is brown, but it is shiny and it is strangely adorable which reminds me of a Shiba Inu. I took out the dried meat from my backpack and put some saint water in the woodware.

“Wauuuu…”

Pero eats the dried meat but he’s confused upon seeing the saint water.

“Ah right! Magical beasts didn’t like this water.”

However, Pero intended to drink the water.

“O-Oi! Don’t force yourself to drink―”

Pero writhes in pain and it scratches its throat, its whole body fur turned white. Both me and Erna have our eyes wide open seeing the sudden changes.

“W-Wauuuu…”

Pero, who unsteadily stood up, offered the wooden ware to me. As if saying it wants more water.Translated by Yume Neiji

“I’m not too sure, but if it’s the water, I still have some.”

I poured water on it from my water bottle and Pero drinks it without any hesitation. I then tried using the appraisal.

【Appraisal Result: Pero: It became a sacred beast as its properties changed and further evolved due to the Saint Water. Thinks of Shinichi Tanaka as its master.】

Status
Name:  Pero
Age:  5 years old
Race:  Saint Werewolf
Occupation:  None
Magic attribute:  Wind | Holy
Magic:  Air ball, Air Arrow
Skills:  Body Strengthening(Beginner),  Claw Strengthening (Beginner), Intelligence (Beginner)

“Hey, Erna. What is a sacred beast?”

“Sacred beasts are smart creatures that humans are grateful for. It seems that the sacred beast has appeared and helped humans many times in the long history of Rogas Kingdom. There are stone statues of Sacred Beasts in the Elves Country too.”

“Hmm… then what should we do when a Kobold becomes a sacred beast?”

“Eh? Don’t tell me Pero was a sacred beast?”

It would be more correct to say that it only happened now than say it was…

I dont know what the exact reason for it but if magical beasts drink Saint Water, they may become a sacred beast.

The description also says that its nature has changed.

“Awoo”

Pero was looking at me with its clear blue eyes. Its face has also changed from a shiba inu to a wolf, but its ears are exuding the cuteness of a drooping pup. Its fur now was even more beautiful and it has a fluffy texture like snow.

“There, there. I’ll come again.”

I stroke Pero’s head and then carried my luggage and start walking to the Temple of Teleportation. However, Pero is following us.

“This…don’t follow us. We’ll head to the ground.”

“Kauuun”

Pero makes a sad voice and clings to my foot. I felt as if I had left my child, and my heart tightened.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Hey there, let’s go together.”

As Erna spreads her hand, Pero runs and clings to her.

“Oi, will it be alright? Even if we say it’s a sacred beast, it’s still a monster right?”

“It will be fine. If they know it is a sacred beast, everyone will take good care of it.”

“Is that so? I don’t really understand the difference between a demon beast and a sacred beast…”

It’s a complicated feeling, but as Erna said, I decided to take Pero to the ground.

 ◆◇◆

As soon as we reached Mana City, the soldiers at the entrance stopped us.

“Wait, wait! Isn’t the thing you’re holding a magical beast!? I can’t let you guys bring it inside the city!”

“This child is a sacred beast, not a magical beast.”

As Erna says so, Pero begins to tremble in fear of the soldiers.

Even though he grew up in a harsh environment inside the miniature garden, he is still a child. It feels fear once adult humans turn hostile towards it.

“Ha? Eh? Sacred Beast? No way, that shouldn’t be the case right?”

“Then bring someone who can use appraisal skill. If he confirms it, everything will become clear.”

In response to Erna’s words, the soldiers turned their gaze at me.

“Tanaka-dono, is it true that it’s a sacred beast?”

“I have appraisal skill, so when I found it in the dungeon, I protected it. It seems attached to me because of that, so I was thinking about keeping it for a while and check the situation first. Will it cause inconvenience to the city?”

“So that’s how it is huh. If that’s the case, there’s no need for confirmation. I believe what the heroes of the city say.”

The two soldiers guarding the entrance opened up a path after they’re convinced. We are supposed to be heroes of this city but it’s still embarrassing to hear it many times.

“Ah right, let’s also report to the city lord that a sacred beast has come to the city.”

The other soldier says so and runs inside the city.

“Hey, do you know what kind of person the city lord is?”

I asked Erna in a soft voice, she then put a finger on her mouth as she starts thinking.

“The city lord is famous for being talented and good. I think the city lord will be happy if he knows that a sacred beast came here.”

“Is that so? That’s good then, right Pero? You’re supposed to be loved by everyone.”

“Kauuun”

While stroking its head, Pero licks my hand. As it turns out like this, I have to take care of it properly. When we start walking in the city, many people gaze at Pero. Each time, I explained, “It’s a sacred beast named Pero”, everyone patted Pero’s head confidently then.

“Wow! So cute! What’s up with it?”

When the children gathered, they pointed at Pero and showed their interest.

“This child is Pero, it’s a sacred beast.”

“Whoa-, a sacred beast! It’s amazing!”

As Erna explained, the children stroke Pero’s tail and butt. Erna then put Pero down on the ground and the children pat Pero’s head.

“Wauuu?”

Pero seems to wonder why the kids are so happy. I was a little worried that Pero might do some harm but I haven’t seen such signs so far. Rather, it seemed to be interested in humans and the scenery on the ground.

“Oh, you are here huh!”

Turning to the voice, they’re the knights we met the other day, Edner and Freya.

“Since you guys are here, the answer is already decided right?”

When I asked Edner, he puts his hand on his chest and responds.

“The Duke has allowed a meeting with Homeless party’s Tanaka-dono. I would like to ask you to visit the capital as a guest.”

Ho~h, permission has been given huh. Should I say it’s unexpected?

However, it should be to thank the beneficiary who found his son’s keepsake. Then meeting and talking should be worthwhile.

“I understand. By the way, can I take Erna and Pero as well?”

“Pero?”

When Edner look down, his eyes shift to Pero who’s at my feet.

“Uwa!? Isn’t it a child of a magical beast!?”

“Wait, wait! This child is a sacred beast!”

Erna steps in and Edner releases the handle of his sword. Freya was still holding her sword though.

“I’m sorry. Don’t tell me, this sacred beast-sama is…..”

He squats in front of Pero and did a handshake gesture. The crucial part is that Pero, who becomes scared, hides behind me, perhaps because of its fear towards Edner and Freya.

“I didn’t think that a day would come where I could see a sacred beast… Oops, for the question you mentioned earlier, I will allow them to accompany you of course.”

“Okay. By the way, can you manage that girl?”

When Edner looks to his side, Freya is still looking at Pero while holding the handle of her sword.Read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com

“Hey, Freya.”

“Edner-sama is too good-natured. Is it really a sacred beast? Isn’t it suspicious?”

“No, your eyes are clouded. Look closely. Look at that beautiful fur and its clear blue eyes that make you feel it’s intelligent. It’s exactly a sacred beast even without someone pointing it out.”

Edner praises Pero very much. Though as he said, Pero’s looks is a little different from magical beasts. I’d like to say that the Duke’s chief knight has a discerning eye as expected of him.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“…It’s certainly different from those monsters. It seems that I was wrong.”

Freya apologizes to me and Pero, and she then asks a question shyly.

“Erm, can I give it some food?”

“Ah? Y-Yeah, that’s fine.”

She takes out a leather bag from her bosom and takes out a bone from it. She gently presented it to Pero and Pero started eating it after receiving the bone.

“Haa- Haa-… It’s so cute…”

Me and Erna were taken aback by the sudden difference in her reaction.

“…I’m sorry. Freya is an incomparable dog lover, she can stand it if the opponent is a magical beast, but if it is anything other than that, she will be like that.”

Edner sighs and hits Freya’s head.

“We are on duty right now. If you want to pet the sacred beast, let’s proceed on our journey first.”

“Y-Yes! I’m sorry!”

We then got on the carriage prepared by Edner and Freya. Our journey towards the royal capital, the center of Rogas Kingdom, begins.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


4 thoughts on “Chapter 25: Sacred Beast Pero”

    1. I really question the naming sense of this guy.

      First “Homeless”, then “Pero”?

      Pero means “lick” btw, and who names their dog, “Lick”?

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.