Homeless Tensei: Isekai De Jiyuu Sugiru Majutsu Jisoku Seikatsu

Chapter 43: Finally found it!

Unfamiliar creatures ran through the meadow in groups. I immediately ask Erna a question,

“What is that? Is it a horse?”

“That’s a unicorn. It’s a magical beast, but it’s said to have a gentle personality and it prefers a human woman.”

“When you say prefer… it eats them?”

“No, it’s different. It’s like they’re fond of them. Unicorns are herbivores so they don’t attack people nor eat them.”

This so called unicorn is a horse with a horn and its whole body is white, it does not look like a magical beast. I followed them for a while but they disappeared beyond the horizon, well, probably because they weren’t interested in us.

According to Erna, unicorns are rare type monsters, and their horn and skin are traded at a high price. It seems that it can also be used as a carriage horse, but it’s uncommon because it is only fond of women and those who dirty their hands just to fetch some money will kill them immediately.

“However it is still popular among the nobles. It’s the best horse because it looks good, it even has fast legs and it’s smart.”

“Ironically, they are targeted because of that.”

Even in Japan, luxury cars are vulnerable to theft. It’s not unusual for tires and parts of it to be stolen when you’re riding a Ferrari. It’s harder to get back on your feet than stealing the car itself. It’s the criminal’s way of thinking.

Well, let’s get back to the topic. When I saw the unicorn, I did wonder if it’s suitable to be ridden. Homeless is currently based in Mana but we may eventually go to some city. When that happens, it will cost too much if each of us rent a horse. On the other hand, it may be possible to keep horses with this 24th floor serving as a ranch. In fact, no one would come here just to kill a horse.

“Let’s capture a unicorn.”

“What!? What are you saying so suddenly!?”

“I decided to capture and keep a unicorn. Don’t we need one for travelling?”

“Well, that’s right but…”

Erna had a complex look hearing my proposal. I know what she wants to say, the unicorns we will capture aren’t just magical beasts. It is a unicorn that lives in the Mohed’s Great Dungeon, the worst dungeon here. In the first place, these unicorns here are different from the unicorns out there. Even if a thief appears, I think it has the ability to kill him. That said, the hordes of unicorns have gone beyond the horizon, so chances of catching them won’t come around for a while.

We then head to the livestock farm, relying on the map.

 ◇

After about three hours of walking, we found a building. It looks like a wooden house, but now it’s shabby. And the barn, which should have kept the livestock, had holes in the walls and there were no creatures anywhere. I think that the abandoned livestock escaped from here.

“Maybe… this has been abandoned for over 500 years.”

Erna mutters while looking at the barn. The time when the Great Mage Moore lived was a thousand years ago. It’s a natural answer if you think about it normally. However, the wooden building is still here probably because of the mysterious environment of this dungeon.

“It seems difficult to reuse this building…”

When I touched the wall, it crumbled, probably because it was already weathering. A considerable amount of timber is likely to be needed to turn this into a new ranch.

“Father, can’t you make a house out of bamboo?”

Pero’s words were like an eye-opener. That’s right. Bamboo is growing on the 23rd floor. It might be possible to build a ranch with the help of skeletons.

…No, the skeletons are already paving the way to the 22nd floor.

It would be too bad to interrupt them even if we are able to set up a ranch here.

“I have no choice but to create a new familiar then.”

For the time being, it is necessary to leave the 24th floor and create a new familiar. Speaking of that, I myself want a new familiar. Those skeletons alone are not enough.

We then leave the livestock farm and head for the 25th floor. Soon after, I found a strange creature. It looks like a pig, but its body color is purple and its size is close to 3m. They ate grass in groups and were not on their guard against us.

“Erna, what are those?”

“They are violet pigs. It’s known as a high-class pig.”

“Is it a magical beast?”

“No, it’s a normal livestock.”

That means that the violet pig is a livestock brought in by Moore. It seems better to think that the ancestors of the pigs escaped from the livestock farm and continued to breed in this floor.

As a test, I decided to weaken one pig with the Life and Death technique skill and kill it after. Strangely, looking at the pigs with such strange color makes me hungry. Above all, pork is one of my favorite foods. Only one red dot was displayed on the back of the pig so when I stealthily approached it and pierced that part, the pig lay on the ground without making a sound.

Checking the pig, it died without any hitch. The other pigs leave the place without even noticing that one of their companions died. I killed it too easily that I froze as I don’t understand what had happened.

“This Life and Death technique, don’t tell me it’s as the name suggests… Whether to save or to kill… Is it a skill that can be used depending on the situation?”

I didn’t notice it before because I didn’t have a chance to use it but, I think this is also a cheat type skill. I feel that assassination technique is more accurate for this than calling it as life and death technique.

“I’ll dismantle this for the time being…”

I regained my focus and dismantled the secured violet pig. Unfortunately, I didn’t drain the blood immediately but I let the blood drain even a little while it’s still warm. Eating meat and fish can have a fishy smell. The cause of it is mostly due to the residual blood.

If blood is not drained while the heart is still moving, the reek of blood will inevitably remain. In that case, the original taste of the meat is spoiled. Isn’t it such a waste?

Shortly after dismantling the pig, I cut a thick chunk of meat and cook it in the frying pan.

“Mhmm, this is delicious. It has a lot of fat and it’s soft enough that it melts.”

Erna and Pero also seemed to be happy with the pork. It would be great if there was rice in this place, but there is no point in seeking something that does not exist. Let’s make do on what is here. After we filled our stomachs with pork, we start walking in search of the stairs. The scenery is serene and peaceful, truly just like how it’s called as a meadow. I feel like I want to have some picnic here.

“Father! Birds are flying over there!”

Pero pointed at the ceiling. Certainly, there’s a big bird flying there but its silhouette is different from that of a bird.

“Shinichi! That’s a Griffon!”

Erna screams and holds her cane. The shadow flying in the sky suddenly swoops down and landed in front of us.

“Gururururu”

It has a lion-like body and an eagle-like head. Large wings were growing on its back, and its whole body was covered with white feathers. It has sharp eyes like that of a raptor, with its yellow beaks opening and closing, it shook its head a little. That action looked like a warm-up to catch its prey.

【Appraisal Result: Griffon: A very ferocious magical beast. Famous as an empty hunter, it has excellent power and agility. Its feathers are traded at a high price: Rarity B】

【Status】
Name:  Griffon
Race:  Griffon
Magic attribute:  Wind
Magic:  Air cutter
Skills:  Claw Strengthening (Intermediate), Intimidation (Intermediate), Flight (Intermediate)

Its status is not bad.

The white feathers are beautiful and they give off the impression of a unique king who’s a combination of a lion and a hawk. In particular, its ability to fly in the sky is ideal for transportation.

 “Pero, buy me some time!”

“Yes!”

Pero jumps in front of Griffon and attacks it with his fists equipped with knuckles. As soon as its attention went to Pero, I used my Familiar Creation skill.

A red gauge displayed before me then a green gauge start to increase. It took about ten seconds to reach half, but somehow, the Griffon was not willing to give up its control. It must be a stronger magical beast compared to those skeletons. After about a minute, I finally took control.

And during that time, Pero made full use of his trained body and he was attracting it well. I decided to name the griffon that became my familiar as “homeless griffon”.

【Appraisal Result: Homeless Griffon: A species born because a griffon was made into a familiar by Shinichi Tanaka. It’s ten times stronger than general griffons and ranked higher in terms of position: Rarity A】

【Status】
Name:  Homeless Griffon
Race:  Homeless Griffon
Magic attribute:  Wind | No attribute
Magic:  Air cutter
Skills:  Danger detection (Intermediate), Taste Enhancement (Intermediate), Digestion Enhancement (Intermediate), Eyesight Enhancement (Intermediate), Hearing Enhancement (Intermediate), Olfactory enhancement (Intermediate), Claw Enhancement (Intermediate), Intimidation (Intermediate), Flight (Intermediate)
Control Rate:   100% controlled by Shinichi Tanaka

The hair on its whole body turned jet black and its eyes turned red. It looks like a huge crow but its beak is still yellow so it still looks like a griffon. I finally understood the system of the Familiar Creation by looking at its status. It seems that it is copying the skill from me, its master.

In addition, only those magical beasts that are most suitable to become a familiar are selected. Furthermore, it looks like it’s better to think that skills with high rarity value such as Super Sensation cannot be copied. The familiars are just my underlings and it will not surpass the master.

“Gurururu”

The griffon rubs its head against me and makes a sound as if to fawn over me. With this, our means of transportation was secured. I turned Griffon into my familiar for the construction of the livestock farm. We need a lot of bamboo to build a building. However, it will take time to carry them all with those skeletons alone.

Therefore, a griffon that can serve as air transportation is useful. Even if that is not the case, it can be expected to play an active role as a satisfactory means of transportation.

“If you look at it closely, it’s cute.”

“It’s fluffy”

Erna and Pero are stroking the griffon.

Once the livestock farm is completed, it may be a good idea to leave the Griffon as the guard there. For the time being, I ordered the griffon to be free. I have no use of it for now. After seeing off the flying griffon, we start walking in the direction of the stairs. And after walking for about two hours, we found something.

“Hey Shinichi. Charcoal is lying near the stairs.”

After following and confirming the place Erna pointed out, there was a bonfire near the stairs. There is no heat when I touched it though. I presume that some people visited here a long time ago.

“Someone may have passed here. There was a bonfire on the 22nd floor too.”

“Then did they go further down?”

“Well, yes I guess but I wouldn’t expect them to be alive though. This is called the worst dungeon you see.”

We decided to tighten our resolve and go down the stairs.

 ◇◇◇

With rustling sounds, golden rice ears sway in the wind. It was a spectacular space. The golden color continues to the end of the horizon and glittering water fills the ground. Light similar to sunlight shines down from the ceiling and a road made of stone extended to the horizon as if cutting across the field of rice ears.

“Whoa! What is this place!?”

“It’s wide!”

Erna and Pero rejoiced seeing such scenery. But that’s not the case for me. As soon as I saw the rice ears, I start collecting the grain. After collecting about a square meter of brown grain, I put it in a suitable jar and pound it with a rod. It would normally take half a day to a whole day to do this but I am confident that I can finish it in an hour.

No, Ill finish it within 30 minutes!

“What are you doing?”

“What’s that Father?”

The two asked a question but I silently pound it with the rod as if I was obsessed with something. Perhaps this was the so called craving.

Yes, I’m now certain! When the brown grain turned white, I wash it with water and put it in a pot. The amount of water is just right. Anyway, I ignite with reference to “Hajime chorochoro chū pappa akago nakutomo futa toru na.”

TLYN: It’s a Japanese song for the way of cooking rice (始めちょろちょろ中ぱっぱ赤子泣くとも蓋取るな)

White bubbles blow out shortly after the pot is lit. But not yet. I should wait a little longer. When the bubbles disappeared, the pot was filled with a sweet smell. It’s finally completed. When I removed the lid, I can see the cooked white rice!

“I did it! I did it! I finally found it!”

I shed tears while chewing on the cooked white rice. My Japanese soul inside is screaming. It’s rice. Finally!

“Shinichi is crying and laughing…”

“Are you that happy with the food father?”

Erna seems to be left speechless with my action but Pero looked puzzled. They wouldn’t know how great rice is. This encounter is the best because I’m a Japanese. Rice Forever!!!

I randomly harvest more rice ears, tied it up with a rope and throw it into the bangle. Before I knew it, I had finished mowing the land for about a Tokyo Dome size.

“…Munyamunya…”

Erna and Pero are lying down and were fast asleep. Apparently, I neglected them too much. It appears that there are no magical beasts here in 25th floor and it seems that both of them were bored and ended up sleeping. I swiftly scooped up the water under my feet, it’s shining brightly. It’s Saint Water.

“Is it flowing from the 20th floor where I live?”

I started moving using the flight skill to find out where the water came from, a large amount of water was flowing into this level from the wall two kilometres away. I got fascinated by the big waterfall for a while.

“Oops, I have to go back quickly.”

I returned to the two of them for the time being then we started walking toward the 26th floor. If we find the Temple of Teleportation on the way, I only need to register the transfer point. With that, I can always come to the 25th floor. Kukuku.

“What kind of place is the 26th floor?”

“Well, we won’t know until we go there.”

It took us about four hours to find the stairs then we went down at once. I’m looking forward to seeing what’s ahead.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


1 thought on “Chapter 43: Finally found it!”

  1. Rice is one of those food that the entire universe appreciates. as a Nepali, my mom cooks rice EVERYDAY and it just goes with everything.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.