Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 83: Struggle

The next day, today’s observer were only Rike and Liddy-san. Samia and Diana went to gather some fruits and other things, saying they’ll do it because “there’s an elf living with us”. Even in this world, there’s also an image like that huh. Since Liddy-san was eating meat normally last night, that image can’t get out of my head somehow.

The yet to be assembled sword, or should I say, I plunged the lump of Mithril into the fire bed and heat it. When the time is right, I take it out and start hammering it. Somehow, I think that the response I felt in my hands is steadily getting harder. It feels like the parts has been brought together, but the glittering particles ―the magical power itself, appears to be increasing little by little…

“Liddy-san”

“Yes? What is it?”

“Is there an increase in magical power on this?”

“Yes, there’s an increase to it. As expected of Eizou-san, you are very skillful in incorporating magical power.”

Hoh-, so this is the case after all. I could see some particles like this even when I’m only using steel.

“Somehow I feel like it is getting harder.”

“R~ight? Asking you to do it is the correct choice after all.”

Liddy-san nods, looking like she’s the only one satisfied. There is no particular explanation either. I wonder if Liddy-san is the type of person who thinks that the other person knows what she knows. In my previous world, there was also a person like that in the company that I worked in.

In any case, not denying that it is getting harder, is it possible that Mithril in this world becomes harder when it is incorporated with magical power? But when I made the rapier before, this didn’t happen…

For the time being, I throw that matter out of my mind and just think that it becomes hard when it contains magical power. I concentrate on using the power of the cheat and hit it carefully so that the forging process does not go wrong.

I wasn’t aware of it until now, but it seems that I’m pouring magical power at this point. Every time I swing the hammer down, the response when I hit the target is getting slightly heavier. This is quite a tough work because it’s necessary to increase my force when I’m hammering it.

I repeat this work several times. The response became heavier each time, but eventually, it became less heavy. Perhaps it reached the limit on “magical power incorporation”. I’m thankful for that. If it is heavier than this, it will be too difficult to process.

In the end, it took me until after noon to finish the forging process. There’s going to be a lot of work after this…

The three of us had a little late lunch and then I continued in the afternoon. It is necessary to get serious from here. I heat it on the fire bed once more and then I hammer it to stretch it. There is no difference in the process and contents from the case of steel. However, the difficulty level is significantly different. Just like the case when joining the fragments together, the temperature at which it can be processed while maintaining its magical power and the parts where it is okay to hammer it down are extremely severe. In addition, it is necessary to reheat it before it can be stretched that much.

“This is much harder than when I made the rapier.”

I can’t help but complain.

“Is it difficult even for Boss?”

“Yeah. It’s like being asked to sprint on a thin rope over a high place.”

I replied my honest feelings to Rike’s question. I’m already at this state just with the Mithril, I’m wondering what will happen when I got hold of the Apoitakara. When I looked back, Liddy-san was looking at me with concern. Uh… I’m not sure if I could still be called a craftsman as I just said that in front of a client…

“It will take some time, but it will be restored as it was before.”

I said that to Liddy-san with a smile as much as possible. Subsequently, Liddy-san’s expression appeared to be relieved. Alright, let’s do this!

On this day, all I could do was extend it by about 1/3. It’s still far from the shape of a sword. I wonder if this is a good learning for Rike. Tomorrow is the day that we will go to the town so from the day after tomorrow until the sword is stretched, it might be better to have Rike do it. Speaking of which, we’ll go to town again two weeks later. Though the risk avoidance is a little excessive but I feel that it is just right. I still have a lot of money for our living so we don’t have to rush going there.

Samia and Diana, who were out for gathering, picked a lot of blueberry-like fruits and leaves that smelled like peppermint. Before dinner, I put some sake in a small jar and soak the well-washed blueberries there. Let’s use some as sauce for today’s dinner. I washed the leaves that smell like peppermint well and then I bite on it a little. The smell of the leaves is stronger than the peppermint in my previous world. But since it almost taste like peppermint, I’ll use some of these leaves and make mint tea tomorrow morning.

Not to mention Liddy-san, both the sauce for our dinner and the blueberries themselves were well received by everyone. When I told them that I soaked some blueberries in sake and that we should drink it together, they all looked at me with their eyes shining. All the girls, including Liddy-san, appear to be girls in this way. Let’s just ignore the fact that Rike was jumping up and down. Well, that is the nature of dwarves after all…..

Our dinner on this day was lively as we talked about the foods that were eaten in Liddy-san’s village. As what she had said before, it seems that they usually eat birds and deer. However, she said that there is a fairly large field in her village so they eat more root crops and leafy vegetables. In this way, she asserted that she doesn’t have any pickiness on food especially now that she went out of her village.

Well, tomorrow is the day we’ll go to the town. Furthermore, there will be work from the day after tomorrow so I have to do my best.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


7 thoughts on “Chapter 83: Struggle”

    1. I think that trope existed before the Hobbit movies but remember when Bilbo and the Dwarves are being fed by the elves of Rivendell, they were only given bread and vegetables. It’s been a while since I read the book but it might have been mentioned that the dwarves didn’t get to eat any meat there as I don’t think Peter Jackson would have made that up. And the book was written in the 1930’s.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.