Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 93: Farewell

For dinner, I mobilized a lot of sake and meat at home and prepared it like a farewell party for Liddy-san. It may be strange to call it a farewell party since she is a client, but either way, we have been living together for a while. Speaking of which, she tried to pay for her stay, but I decided to offset that with the fact that she taught Rike about magic.

In this world where humans can’t use magic unless they have a family name, knowledge about magical power is quite a valuable information. I’m not sure if this is enough to offset the cost, but Liddy-san seems to feel that the cost for repairing the sword is not enough. It’s good that we both agreed on it though.

“There were a lot of very interesting things this time, and to be honest, it was fun. I think it’s better not to receive so many repair requests, but if there is anything else I need, I will definitely leave it to this workshop.”

Liddy-san said so at the end of the farewell party.

“By all means, favor Eizou’s workshop.”

I replied to her with a smile.

The next morning.

Today, Liddy-san was absorbing magical power from the forest. She said it was for the concealment spell she would be using on her way home. It seems that elves can handle powerful magic, but even so, travelling alone can be dangerous. I thought Liddy-san would be very skilled with a sword, but it appears that she used concealment spell to make herself invisible on the streets, and then lifted it near the town. It seems that she can’t do anything more than a form of self-defense. She also said she used the same magic from the time she entered the forest until she came to our house.

So the five of us, including Liddy-san, ate breakfast together and when Liddy-san finished preparing her things for her departure, we all decided to walk her up to the entrance of the forest. This way, we would be able to reduce the consumption of her magical power as much as possible.

We moved in a line with Samia in the lead, followed by me, Liddy-san, Rike, and then Diana. We didn’t have the cart with us today so just in case, I brought the spear I used to kill the bear instead. Thinking about it now, it would have been better to deliver the goods today, so that I could take Liddy-san to the town. I was careless. I’ll do that if there’s a next time.

Nothing special happened until we reached the entrance of the forest. We came across birds and other small animals but they do not do any harm to us. Since Liddy-san is an elf, I was thinking that she might be having a conversation with the animals in the forest or something like that, but that’s not particularly the case. They need magical power and they are good at handling it but their basic characteristics other than their longevity are the same as humans…

“Thank you very much for your help.”

Liddy-san extends her right hand.

“Same here. I look forward to seeing you again someday at that house.”

While saying that, I gently shook her hand.

“See you again!”

“By the time you come back, I’ll be done with my training on handling magical power!”

“When you come next time, tell me about elf swordsmanship.”

The three of them also took Liddy-san’s right hand and bid goodbye.

“Till next time!”

She bid goodbye to such surprising degree of volume, I did not think that Liddy-san’s could make a voice with such a volume. We waved to each other and see her off until she went far away.

“There she goes…”

Samia murmurs. Although she was originally a lone wolf (though she’s tiger beastman), she seemed to feel a certain amount of loneliness towards those she had once got close to.

“Well, if there is something she wants me to make, she will come here again.”

“Yeah. It seems that there are many things that only Eizou can make after all.”

When I said that, Diana followed up.

We then went back inside the forest. It took about 4 hours to get to the entrance of the forest and get back home so we have spent most of today’s time. I then decided to take a day off after having lunch. Of course, I am replanting the mint.

Last night, I spoke with Liddy-san.

“If you want to replant it, you should grow it in a pot or something.”

I was told to do that so I decided to do so. I made a hole in the bottom of a medium-sized unglazed jar that I was not using, and then I put soil and planted the rooted mint in it. I then took it out. Underneath it, I put a saucer made from the leftover wood. Since it is wood, I’ll have to check it from time to time.

She also said, “When the elongated stems touches the ground, roots will grow from them, so please check them from time to time and cut the ones that are hanging down.”

I’ll check the stems either before or after my evening practice. If I am going to be away from home for a long time, it may be better to move it to a window inside the house. It’s a little scary to come home and find mint all over the place. I was planning to use it as a “filler” until I could decide what to plant in the field. However, the seeds will eventually come from Liddy-san’s village, I’d rather not have too much and let the mint grow in moderation.

By the way, we don’t have a balcony. We hang our laundry on a tall stake in the yard, with a rope tied to it. Of course, there is no roof on it. We don’t have clothespins, so we hang the clothes on or through the rope. And since there is no roof, we can’t do any laundry on rainy days. Well, it doesn’t rain here that much though.

We can dry it in the shade too, and as long as it can be dried, we can do a little laundry. Since we are inside the forest, we can cool down in the shade when the sun is strong. Even when the number of pot-grown plants increases, I can leave them there. It seems that there are quite a few benefits to making it. I think the area around the storage is the first priority, but I’ll suggest to everyone to build it when that area is cleared up.

After that, I spent the rest of the day tilling the soil in the courtyard so that it would not become covered with weeds again.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


7 thoughts on “Chapter 93: Farewell”

  1. This person has never tried to remove mint from a garden before. Growing it is fine, easy to do. Removing it is nearly impossible. You could weed it out completely and it will be back. Nearly need to replace the soil.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.