Homeless Tensei: Isekai De Jiyuu Sugiru Majutsu Jisoku Seikatsu

Chapter 59: I decided to go on a trip

I arrived at the mansion of the Lord of Mana.

“I’m grateful for driving away the Empire’s soldiers once more. This is but a small reward from me.”

A pouch of gold coins was placed on the table. I stored it inside the bangle without looking at the content inside.

“More than that, I heard that you have something you want to talk about?”

“Yes, let’s then move on to the main topic. I want you to visit the four other kingdoms, excluding the empire and our kingdom.”

“Visit?”

“Read this first.”

The letter presented to me was from Duke Medil. After opening the envelope, I quickly read its contents.

“…It says that he wants me to get a promise of reinforcements from the other four kingdoms, but…?”

“That’s right. I also want you to proceed on this matter by all means.”

I look at the letter again. It seems that the assistance of the other kingdom is absolutely necessary to counter the empire. It also appears that I was specifically chosen for this. Of course, it says that I will be paid some reward for it.

“Rather than me, isn’t this job supposed to be done by those high-ranking officials?”

“You are right in saying that. But unfortunately, our kingdom is being underestimated by the other kingdoms and they are not in a position where they need to obediently agree to cooperate. And even though we have an alliance with the Sanargia Great Forest Kingdom, it’s not necessary for them to fight with us.”

“…I see. You want me to go there not to talk with them but to show my strength, is that it?”

“Yes, it is as what you have said.”

When a high-ranking official from a weak kingdom arrives there, the image wherein they once unified will still remain the same. The Duke seems to want me to destroy that image. On top of that, he wants me to strongly invite them to join as reinforcements. As expected from a noble. It’s pretty extreme.

“I’m also an adventurer. I’ll do my job properly when requested.”

“Thank you. The kingdom is now preparing for the war, but I don’t think there is a hundred percent chance of winning. This is the last chance for the kingdom to survive. Please save this crisis with your power.”

I then shook hands with the Lord.

“―That’s why I decided to go to the other four kingdoms. I’ll leave Mana’s protection to Pero and Freya.”

Inside the hideout, I informed them about our future course of action. Pero and Freya were sitting on the sofa listening, while Erna was sitting on the floor reading a book.

“Oi Erna. Are you listening?”

“I’m listening. So, what should I do?”

“You will travel with me to those four kingdoms. Get ready for the trip right away.”

“Eh? I’m going too? You should just take Suketarou with you.”

“Suketarou is a magical beast, he can’t even enter the city. Besides, he has another job.”

Perhaps Erna did not really care as she stands up and heads to the bedroom. And then she came back to the living room in a hurry.

“W-Wait a minute! That means we are going to the Sanargia Great Forest Kingdom!?”

“I just said so?”

“I, I’ll never go there! Shinichi should go alone!”

Erna escapes into her bedroom. When I looked inside the room, she seemed to be trembling while being wrapped in a futon. Oh-, I forgot that she has a trauma in her hometown. Freya, who was watching the whole scene, spoke.

“If Erna can’t go, I’ll go instead.”

“No. I’m thankful for the offer but I’m going to take Erna with me. She can’t escape from her hometown forever you see.”

After I entered the bedroom, I sit beside Erna. I gently placed my hand on the curled up futon.

“You are strong.”

“……”

“What have you been doing so far? Isn’t it to get back at those idiots? If so, don’t look away from your hometown. Face them and let them know your strength now.”

“……uu-”

Her face that came out of the futon was tearful and she’s even biting her lips. She knows it too. That she should confront her past. I then stroke Erna’s head. I haven’t really heard in detail what had happened but I’m sure that she can get over it. —Because she also have me.

“Alright, do you want to eat?”

“Yup”

Her mood changed and then we return to the living room. Freya already began cooking there.

“Whoa-, Freya will be the one doing it?”

“Yeah, I’ve only been taken care of since I came here, so at least even with just the meal I can help.”

Freya had four arms so she dexterously chopped two kinds of vegetables at once. She possessed a cooking skill. I’ve always been interested in it so it’s a good idea to see how good she is at it.

After about 30 minutes, a hamburger steak on the plate is served. The gravy was spilling out of the surface and the appetizing smell was spreading throughout the room. She also casually prepares rice for me. Such a great thoughtfulness.

“Hooo- hooo-“

Erna, whose eyes are red, rapidly blows air at the hamburger steak. Pero also pierced it with a fork and put it in his mouth. He then happily began to swing his tail.

“This is delicious!”

I also hummed as I eat the hamburger steak. The meat melts in the mouth, the umami of the fat and the sweetness of the white rice are perfectly combined. It’s definitely a delicious dish.

“I originally had a hobby of cooking. Before I knew it, I already learned how to cook. I might lose to Tanaka-dono in terms of the taste but I think it’s done to the extent that it’s not that bad.”

“No, mine may not even be a match for this. Cooking is a skill I definitely want to have.”

I tend to focus only on attack skills, but I realized that the skills that make these people happy are also important. I have to thank Freya for that.

“Father, can I draw a portrait?”

Pero comes near me with a sketchbook in his hands. If I think about it, he probably wants to draw an image of myself. He’s really such a cute son.

“Then it’s good if you draw my muscles as well.”

Pero shakes his head when I tried to undress.

“I want to draw father’s face.”

“Oh, is that what you mean? Alright then-”

I opened the eye on my forehead and sit upright. When I looked at Pero, he shook his head again.

“I want to draw father in a natural way, so please don’t look at me.”

“Uhm-, it’s quite a tricky request.”

I then absentmindedly look at the ceiling. With this, the natural atmosphere that Pero wants would at least be coming out.

【Info: New magic has been added.】

….Hn? Magic?

I can’t understand the words displayed in my field of view. I decided to open the status for the time being.

Status
Name: Shinichi Tanaka
Age: 17 years old (56 years old)
Race: Homeless (King)
<High Dragoneut | Vampire>
Occupation: Adventurer
Magic attribute: No Attribute
Magic:  Restoration Space(New), Isolation Space(New)
Skills: Familiar Creation, Familiar Summoning, Dragon Transformation, Skill Picking, Race Picking, King’s Vessel
Special: Stealth, Danger Detection, Enemy Search, Taste Enhancement, Eyesight Enhancement, Hearing Enhancement, Smell Enhancement, Super Sensation, Shock Absorption, Hardening, Plant manipulation, Leadership, Indomitable Spirit, Small Dragon Breath
Advanced: Theft, Digestion Enhancement, Flight, Paralyzing Eye
Intermediate: Master of War, Limit Breakthrough, Underwater Adaptation, Dragon Beheading Slash, Fist King Technique
Beginner: Analysis, Life or Death Technique, Universal Thread, Division, Self-recovery, Familiar Strengthening

Restoration Space and Isolation Space?

Even though I finally learned some magic, I really don’t get it that well. I was hoping for a more exquisite magic such as air cutter but it seems that for Homeless race, those sort of magic are still out of reach.

“Let’s try it for the time being…”

I used Restoration Space towards an empty wall. After that, a translucent blue square appeared in front of me. I tried to touch it but my hand goes through the square.

“Father, what is that?”

Pero, who was drawing me, seems to have noticed the magic I made. Erna and Freya are talking to each other so they are not looking here.

“I learned magic earlier but I have no idea how to use it.”

“Then, why not try it on this fork?”

Pero brought an iron fork from the table. I manipulated the box and then I made it overlap with the fork on the floor.

“….Nothing changed huh.”

“Uh-. Father, take a closer look!”

Pero points at the fork. The dull iron-colored fork gradually becomes shiny as if it were freshly made. In addition to that, the tines that were slightly bent due Pero’s daily use where now neat, it was in the same state as before we purchased it.

I then released the magic. The fork I picked up regained its brilliance just like it’s a new one.

“Hmm… does it mean that Restoration Space magic will restore things to its original state?”

“That’s amazing Father! Now if our weapon breaks, you can repair it right away!”

“As Pero says, it’s indeed an amazing magic.”

Well, it’s still unknown up to what extent will Restoration Space fix things. However, to be able to restore a broken object, it could be considered to be an extraordinary magic. If we are lacking in money, we can even sell broken things as new ones.

When it comes to that, the other magic may be quite useful as well.

I then put the fork on the floor again, this time, I used Space Isolation. This time, a green square appeared and disappeared as soon as it overlapped with the fork.

“Where did it go?”

I touched that place but there is no fork anywhere. It completely disappeared.

Report: Space has been isolated. Next, please specify the person whom you will give permission to enter the room. 】

A green laser-like light extended from my fingertips. When I point it to Pero, the area around his body glows slightly. At this point, I was finally able to predict what this magic was.

“Isolated space literally seems to isolate the space and only the specified person can enter it.”

After releasing the magic, the fork appeared on the floor. This other magic seems to be quite excellent as well. If I find the most effective way to use it, it will be useful in a battle and in our daily life.

“Father, stay still.”

“Oh-, sorry.”

I had forgotten that I am the model for his painting. I deeply regret it.

◇◇◇

“Are you all set?”

“Yeah, I have my luggage with me. I’m all set.”

I made the final confirmation at the entrance of the Great Dungeon. Me and Erna will go to the other four kingdoms and Pero and Freya will be staying at home.

“Be careful!”

My clone waved his hand. He is another me created by the Division skill. But for some reason, using the Division skill makes the clone younger. His height is 90cm and his silver hair is up to the shoulder. When I look at that small and young face, it is so adorable that I can’t help but want to stroke his head.

Well, it’s kind of weird, it’s like I’m stroking my own head.

I, the main body, will be going on a trip with Erna. My clone on the other hand, will be handling some matter from here on. Although he is younger, we have the same skills and abilities so he can carry out the plan well.

“Shinichi is so cute.”

Erna hugs my clone and presses her cheeks on him. When she says it like that, it sounds like I’m not cute now. After the child me move away from Erna, he spreads his wings and soars into the sky. Then he disappeared into the North-eastern sky just like that.

“There he goes huh… Alright then, shall we leave too?”

After me and Erna get on the unicorns, they start galloping dashingly. Looking back, Pero and Freya were waving at us. In a blink of an eye, they disappeared and I immediately turned my attention to our destination.

“It’s my first time going outside the kingdom. I’m looking forward to what kind of trip it will be.”

“The world is more boring than what Shinichi thinks you know?”

“It’s just from your standpoint Erna. Everything in this world is interesting to me. I realize that this is what it means to be alive.”

“Hmmm”

Erna replies in a seemingly uninterested manner.

Well, she was born and raised in this world, I think she is not impressed because she had taken the scenery she had seen for granted. Well, someday, I may have such feelings too.

The unicorn gallops through the even road at a tremendous speed. Our first destination is the Sanargia Great Forest Kingdom. It is also Erna’s hometown.

“How long does it take to get to your hometown?”

“Hmmm, about three days at this pace?”

“It’s still farther than what I can see on the map huh.”

The territory of the Sanargia Great Forest Kingdom is vast. Even if we entered the territory safely, we are still far from our destination, Zara, the Forest Kingdom’s capital.

Originally, we had to prepare for a long trip. However, we have homeless unicorns. It’s like these familiars are just intended for this.

“Alright, I’ll leave it to you guys till we reach Zara.”

The jet-black unicorns neighed loudly in consent.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


2 thoughts on “Chapter 59: I decided to go on a trip”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.