Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 95: Day off (Day 1)

We made a decent number of knives and the day ended like that. After this, we’ll have to work on pulling up the creature that Samia and Diana hunted. It will basically be the start of the two-day vacation. Whether I like or not, the tension goes up.

As I was cleaning up the workshop while feeling excited, Samia and Diana were back. When I asked them about today’s achievement, they said it’s a “big deer”. If it’s big, I can use make use of its tendon. I then asked Samia,

“Right. I want to give Diana a bow too, can I leave it to you this time?”

I’m a blacksmith, but as you can see, from the fact that I can make scabbards, I can also make bows. Of course, I’m talking about me using cheat. It can’t be called a special grade product like the ones made by blacksmithing though.

“Well, I think about making it on our next vacation.”

From my installed knowledge, it seems that composite bows made from the combination of animal horn and bones are already present in this world. However, it takes time and effort to make one. So if I were make one, I’ll go with the wooden single bow. Well, I’ll try something like joining them together but it depends whether it will stick together or not.

I’ve always thought that Diana would need a bow if she is to go hunting anyway, so this is a timely one. Since the time for me to start dealing with the Apoitakara may be extended, it may be better to check even just its characteristics first.

“Thank you, Eizou”

“Well, I would like to express my gratitude to you too. Thank you.”

“What are guys saying? I’ve never made such bow before so this is also like a study for me.”

“From cooking to furniture, Boss can make anything, not to mention weapons.”

Rike, who has finished cleaning up her work, joins the conversation.

“Well… I’ve been dabbling in various things that’s why I’ve learned to make a lot of things, I guess.”

I replied to Rike, but this is mostly a lie. Of the cheat abilities I received, the first priority was of course my blacksmithing skill, but of the remaining points I received, the priorities were this world’s language, production, and combat.

If you think about the fact that the combat ability I received was able to make me win a fight against a bear and even compete with the best mercenaries (probably) during that day, you can get some idea of my overall production ability. I don’t specialize in it though. But in other words, I can make things that are much better than those made by the ordinary folks. In the case of my blacksmithing work, I can make general models that are one step shorter than high-end models. Apparently, the meaning of “production” is quite broad and it applies to almost all kinds of “making”.

That’s why I can make various things but I haven’t done anything by myself though. In fact, the reason why the meal I make is delicious is also because of my cheat.

However, putting it the other way around, I am no match for the experts on those fields. For example, if Helen and I were to fight head-on, I could outlast her for a long time. But if she were to totally come after my life, I might be able to withstand her for a while but I would surely be defeated in the end.

By the way, as for my language skill, I don’t know up to what extent it is applied because so far, I only speak the “common language”, which is the language commonly used by various races in this world. At the very least, it’s not the kind of language where I can communicate with the wolves. It’s possible that I can understand something more meaningful, such as the western dialect or the language spoken by local lizardmen. I’m not sure if it really exists though.

Anyway, before I use my cheat skills to make a bow for our next vacation, I have to make a fishing rod and hook tomorrow for it will be used the day after tomorrow.

The next day,

The four of us pulled up the deer. It’s pretty big. It was quite a big one. It’s one of the biggest I’ve ever seen so I can expect the tendons to be quite long. The longer the tendon, the better, since it will be unravelled and twisted into a line. Samia knows how to do this so I’ll leave the actual work to her.

I then dismantle it quickly as usual and separate it into meat, skin, and bones. The bones can also be used but it’s not a very good option because of the difficulty in its processing so they are thrown away. As for the skin, like the tendon, Samia knows how to handle it so I’ll leave it to her. The rest of us work on preserving the meat. Of course, we saved a portion of meat that we will eat before it gets damaged. For today’s lunch, I simply grilled the meat but it is still delicious enough so I don’t need to do elaborate cooking every time.

After lunch, I made a rod and hook to be used the next day. Like before, I used the thinnest line we had so I didn’t need to make those.

I then look for a branch in the forest to be used to make the rod. I’m an old man now but I used to be that boy too so I’ve already mastered the skill of “finding a nice branch”. I don’t know if I actually have such skill, but boys are good at finding such things, aren’t they?

Since I have a rod that I’ve used before, I’m going to get a couple of “good branches” and shape them with a knife. The key here is to make them bend in a nice way. Of course, this is done with my cheat so there is no blunder.

Once the rod is made, it’s time to make the hook. I usually make swords and knives, but this kind of detailed work requires more concentration. Perhaps it’s a blessing that I’m rejuvenated at 30 years old and my presbyopia hasn’t started yet. Perhaps my eyesight has been strengthened in the same way as my muscle strength has been strengthened. I’ve heard in the past that looking closer at something is related to the muscles of the eye.

As Rike is practicing making knives during our vacation, the loud sound of hammering is mixed with a small “chit-chit-chit” sound in the workshop. Depending on how you listen to it, it may sound like a hi-hat being tapped. It’s all rhythm and no melody so I can’t say it’s music, but it’s not a bad session.

There are moments where I wonder if I should use cheats for these things, but I have to use them considering that the quality of the hooks may affect the fishing results. I have a certain amount of power for my work so I also put my best for my hobbies.

In this way, with all my strength, I completed seven fishing hooks (including spares). And I now wait for the next day, the day we’ll go fishing.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


5 thoughts on “Chapter 95: Day off (Day 1)”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.