Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 99: Mass production

With this setup, it seems that we’ll able to make quite a few longswords once we get on the momentum. As assigned in the morning, Diana makes the mold then Samia pours the melted iron into it and I and Rike will do the finishing. Since a mold needs to be remade for each sword, maybe the most important thing at the moment is the speed at which Diana creates the molds. Given that her pace in making one mold is faster compared to us finishing one longsword, there’s no sign that we’ll be running out of molds so far. In the worst case scenario, we can switch to forging until the molds are replenished. However, there will inevitably be a difference in quality if that would be the case.

Just like in the other workshops, when we have full operation in our workshop, we are in a situation where there are high-temperature objects such as melted iron and red-hot iron that would be constantly around us. In other words, it will be extremely hot. The day after the goods are wholesaled to Camilo, we also make some sheet metal so the situation is somewhat similar. Even when we are not mass-producing, we would be in a state close to this.

But still, this is hotter than I expected. I reminded the three of them to always rehydrate in between their tasks. The three of them replied that they understand. Through my installed knowledge, I know that the climate around here was not so harsh. So in that case, apart from Rike, who would have experienced a similar situation at her home, it is quite possible that the other two have little knowledge about heat stroke. I want to prevent not only the direct injuries but also accidents like that as well.

On this day, we were able to make 10 of them. The preparations made the day before probably helped on that. This is also a very good amount of production output given it’s only for one day. It is the result of a considerable compromise in quality because we only hammered it a few times but the minimum performance of it as a weapon is properly secured. I pick up a couple of the poorly made weapons and tried slashing them. None of them had any problem in particular. Even if they are to be used in warfare, they are unlikely to be broken in one or two battles. If we continue at this pace tomorrow, we will probably be able to make more than what Camilo expects.

There are still some molds (that Diana made) left. At this point, what I need to worry about is on whether we’ll run out of clay first. When we have about 50 or 60 pieces in total, it would be a good idea to have Diana do casting. Anyways, I’ll think what to do about it depending on our progress in two days.

The next day,

We made the same preparations and then we proceed to make longswords. The rhythmic sound of hammering occupies the workplace.

Oh-, that reminds me…

“In the dwarves’ workshop, don’t you sing at times like this?”

I asked Rike. I just wanted to know if the dwarves have something like a work song.

“Eh?”

Rike was confused. Uh-, Maybe there’s none.

“Uhm-, nevermind. I was just wondering if there is a song that you guys sing when you are forging swords or anything that involves blacksmithing. I haven’t been in this business for a long time, and my “house” was not involved in blacksmithing, so we don’t have anything like that in this workshop.”

“Aah-, there is.”

They have one after all.

“Can you let me hear it even for a bit?”

“Eeh~…”

Rike is embarrassed. It’s like I just asked someone to perform at a banquet all of a sudden.

“It’s okay if you’re embarrassed. I’m just curious you see.”

“N-No, it’s okay”

Her face is still a little red, but her eyes are brimming with vigour like she has made up her mind. Oops, I should have been more careful. Some people can’t say no when their boss asks so I should be more careful when I request something. However, she is now fully motivated. It would be wrong to tell her that she doesn’t have to do it now. I guess I’ll just let her do it.

Yo ho, yo ho, we are mountain fairies~
We wield the hammer as we do blacksmithing work~
We are happy when we make something good~
Yo ho, yo ho, we can do anything from pot and pans to hoe~
We wield the hammer and do our work~
Sake is waiting for us at night~
Yo ho, yo hoo

Rike sang with a cute voice while she’s swinging down the hammer in rhythm. As expected, it’s not a Japanese-style lyrics or melody, but it’s also good.

“Whoa!! Rike, you’re good at it! You don’t have to be shy.”

I stopped working and applauded. Samia and Diana also clapped their hands. Rike looked embarrassed in response.

“Rather than whether I’m good or bad at it, it’s really dwarf-like so it’s embarrassing. I didn’t really care about that until I left home.”

It’s true that there are some parts that I’m impressed about her and think that it’s “dwarf-like”. I might be embarrassed if someone called the activities that I’m doing casually as “human-like”. Still,

“I think it’s okay to be dwarf-like. I guess I’m human-like too, and Samia is beast-like. If someone tried to tell Rike off because of her race, we of Eizou Workshop, wouldn’t let that off.”

My family has a connection with the Count’s House. Relying on it is the last resort, but if that solves everything, I will use it for my family without hesitation. “Yeah, yeah”, Samia and Diana nodded their heads in agreement.

“Thank you, Boss. Then I will become a blacksmith who lives up to a dwarf’s name.”

Rike picked up the hammer again and she swings it in a good mood while singing their work song in a more cheerful voice than before.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


5 thoughts on “Chapter 99: Mass production”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.