Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 109: Branch office starts operating

Holding the three knives, I quickly returned to the branch office. I then moisten the whetstone with water and start sharpening one of them. It’s not in a condition where I have to be thorough with the maintenance, but even with a cheat, I still had to show my professionalism.

Using my cheat, I sharpened the blade at an appropriate angle. At first, I thought of lightly hitting the entire blade, but since time might be pressing, I decided to just concentrate on sharpening it.

Even with my cheat, there is a limit to the extent in which I can improve its performance just by re-sharpening the blade. It will be troublesome for the younger ones if I made it to the extent where it could also cut the cutting board. And yeah, there is no need to improve the performance to that extent in the first place.

I simply sharpened the blades and since they were originally maintained well, it didn’t take as long as I expected to process the three knives. Finally, I rinsed them with water, wiped them with a cloth and then I head back to the kitchen area.

A while ago, I saw the subjugation team gathered in that place, but right now, no one is there anymore. It seems that they already head out for the subjugation. They were probably on a reconnaissance mission to find out what kind of monsters were there and how large is their number. In that case, they would probably come back before too much damage was done to them. I guess I don’t have much time to laze around.

Upon arriving at the kitchen area, Martin and Boris are already back, they are lining up the barrels of water in the kitchen. Sandro-oyasan on the other hand, is preparing the ingredients for dinner.

“Oyasan, it’s done.”

“Oh, thank you.”

I handed the knives to Oyasan. Oyasan took the knife I handed to him and stared at it for a while, he then picked up the ingredients for dinner, quickly cleaned them and began cutting them on the pan. The ingredients that were masterfully sliced were almost of the same size and they fit the pan perfectly.

“Oh- that’s impressive.”

“I should be the one saying that. Eizou, you’ve got excellent skill. It’s too good for them to use this.”

“Well, it’s maintained well originally, also…”

“Also?”

“It is my job.”

“Hoh-, I see!”

With “Gahahaha”, Oyasan laughed heartily.

“I’ll check it tomorrow if you want.”

“Okay, I’ll leave it to you!”

“Alright”

I waved my hand and left the kitchen. Oyasan’s angry voice saying, “I won’t forgive you guys if you treat this poorly!” echoed out behind me.

After stopping by our tent on my way, I came back to my work station and immediately started to make a fire with charcoal on the fire bed. I could have started it after the subjugation team came back and I received a request but I wanted to get it done as soon as possible. Besides, there are some things I wanted to check while I’m at it.

When the charcoals were hot enough, I grabbed a piece of sheet metal that I had brought with me when I stopped by the tent and put it in the fire bed. I did bring a few things with me, in case something went wrong.

If it is the kitchen knife of Oyasan and the others, it would not be possible for me to stop in the middle of my repair, but for this one, I can stop working on it whenever I want. I think I’ll be using extra charcoal but if Miss Frederica scolds me about it, I’ll just ask her to deduct the cost on may pay.

While manipulating the bellows and adding charcoal, the sheet metal is heated to a temperature at which it can be processed. Around this time, in addition to the fact that it wasn’t the usual workplace, there was also the inconvenience of not being able to use magic. So unlike the usual, it took some time.

While worrying about whether the subjugation team has returned, I placed the heated sheet metal on the anvil and hit it with my hammer. This part of work is done as per usual.

Yes, just like when I’m making a “custom model” item. I’m not hammering it to make a knife, but to form a spearhead. This does not require large amount of sheet metal and as for the handle part, it can even be obtained here or procured locally. The handle can also be removed and the spearhead can be brought back as a small piece and it can be reused by melting it down.

I hit it a few times to get the material well-balanced, I also made full use of my cheat this time as I tried to put the particles of magical power together. Then, although it is considerably thinner than usual, enough magical power is stored in the spearhead that would increase the level of its performance.

“Hmm, I see.”

I heard from Liddy-san that when the magical power stagnates, a monster is born. Considering that story, and the fact that there is a cave nearby, it’s easy to understand that there is a monster in the cave. Well, you can also feel it when you actually work like this.

“There is a lot of magical power here then.”

I thought to myself. Furthermore―, thinking until that part, I felt the presence of people coming. I then discreetly kept the spearhead that I had grasped with the pincers in the corner of the workplace.

It was Miss Frederica who came. Behind her are two soldiers holding a barrel.

“Eizou-san, please repair the weapons in this barrel. Here is the list.”

Miss Frederica handed a document to me, I received it and read its content. A couple of longswords are chipped and bent, and there are about two round shields. It seems like there’s only a little bit of damage to be repaired. This won’t take much time.

“Alright, I received the order.”

I gave her a quick response after confirming it.               

“Alright then, I’ll leave them to you. When you’re done, please go to the command post.”

Miss Frederica left with the soldiers after she thanked me. When she thanked me, her gesture really reminds me of a small animal.

Since the team also uses bow, it will be tough because it also involve the calculation for arrow replenishment. Thinking about the hardships of Miss Frederica, I pulled out a sword from the barrel and plunged it into the fire bed to start with my work.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


6 thoughts on “Chapter 109: Branch office starts operating”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.