Homeless Tensei: Isekai De Jiyuu Sugiru Majutsu Jisoku Seikatsu

Chapter 66: Moore’s Training Ground

A few hours after we left the city.

After we climb on a steep mountain road, we reached a road that even the unicorns cannot pass. The chain bridge built on the rock wall looks risky and only one adult can pass through. Looking down, probably because of the high altitude, the clouds passed right underneath and I could see Perun, the Rock Capital below.

“It seems that we have to walk from here onwards.”

“No, let’s stop. If we fall, we’ll die.”

“Don’t worry. If you fall, I’ll rescue you.”

“Don’t talk on the premise of falling! It’s scary already!”

Erna is trembling. Apparently, she has fear of heights. After I get off the unicorn, I ordered them to go wherever they want. Well, wherever they go, I can conveniently call them by using my familiar summoning skill.

“Alright, shall we go?”

I set foot on the bridge. The bridge is stronger than I expected, probably because it has been properly inspected. After about 10 steps, I heard a voice from behind saying, “Shinichi! Help me!”

“…What are you doing?”

“I can’t stand up because my legs are weak from fear! Help me!”

Erna was sitting about two steps away. It can’t be helped so I carried her on my back.

“Don’t fall! I can’t fly!”

“Hey, don’t strangle me too hard. It’s painful you know.”

Erna clinging to me like she’s clinging to a straw. I think she’s not good at very high places. As I proceeded, I noticed that there was a large hole in the rock surface of the cliff. I don’t know why the training ground was built in such a place, but I presume that at that time Moore wanted to avoid the public eye as he train. As I enter the cave, Erna slips down from your back.

“It was such a long and steep road…”

“You just got on my back you know.”

We started to follow the passage leading to the back. A torch is installed on the wall, dimly illuminating the inside of the cave.

“This is the deepest part huh”

A heavy door was installed at the back of the cave and an old man was sitting in a chair and sleeping. I called out to the old man.

“Elder, I heard that this is Moore’s training ground, is that correct?”

“Hn? …Oh, a customer huh. I’m sorry but you can’t enter yet. A duo came inside earlier you see.”

“When will the two of them come out?”

“Hmm, let’s see. They’ve stayed inside for about five hours now so it’s about time they come out.”

“Five hours? Didn’t the duo came here for sightseeing?”

The old man laughs at my question.

“This is a tourist attraction but it’s still an active training ground. If you pay the usage fee, you can go inside and do some mage training you know.”

Erna eyes sparkles hearing the words of the old man. Somehow, I can predict what she’ll say.

“Shinichi, let me practice!”

“But we don’t have much time…”

“Please! It’s my lifetime wish!”

Erna clings to my arm. Her big breasts softly squeeze into my arms. Mufufu, this is unbearable.

“It can’t be helped then, just for a while alright. We are leaving as soon as your time is up.”

“Yey! Thank you Shinichi!”

Erna immediately move away from my body. I should have been a little more hesitant. Kuu, it’s my strategy mistake.

Gakon.

The door began to open with a loud noise. A duo wearing a light brown robe comes out from inside. Their face is covered with a hood and cannot be seen well.

“…!? You!!”

One of the duo looked at me and tried to pull out his sword. The other person stops him immediately.

“You have to be patient here. We have something to do.”

“Tsk, that’s right. I’ll just endure it now.”

The duo then left this place, having a conversation in a whisper. I and Erna look at each other and tilted our heads in confusion.

“What was that just now?”

“Who knows. I think they looked like an acquaintance though.”

I quickly paid the old man ten bronze coins and opened the door to enter. The inside was a seamless hemispherical room, unlike the cave outside. There is an additional door in the back of the room.

“Oh, I forgot to say that only the mage that will train goes into the back. If not, wait here.”

The old man opened the door and said so. That said, I seem to have to wait for Erna here.

“Then I should take about five hours.”

“I’ll hand this over to you.”

I give Moore’s pocket watch to Erna. I don’t know if there’s a clock inside, but it’s a good idea to give it just in case.

“I’ll keep it then.”

After Erna received the clock, she headed for the door. She then waved her hand and she quickly opened the door and entered inside.

I’m a little worried, but Erna will get stronger.

 ◇

“Uh-, it’s dark. Light”

I created light with my magic, and I quickly bear my fear. The brick-like passage leads to the back, which even creates the illusion of being connected to a monster’s stomach. I want to be so strong not just because I want to be a great mage. It’s also because I am trying to catch up with Shinichi, who is getting stronger and stronger. If I just rely on someone I like, I won’t be able to turn back. So I want to be strong.

It was a trivial matter that made me realize my feelings.

When I met him, I didn’t have any particular thoughts about Shinichi, but I suddenly realized that I was always interested in Shinichi, who was always next to me. Yeah, maybe I’ve noticed this person since I met him. So I think I couldn’t let go of Shinichi.

However, the problem is that Shinichi is more popular than I imagined. I don’t think Shinichi knows that I’m driving away those women who are approaching him. And with a lovestruck face, I know that he is looking at a woman. That third eye is absolutely suspicious.

“Someday, Detective Erna will solve that mystery.”

With a renewed determination, I take a new step forward.

The passageway is only wide enough for an adult to open his hand. It’s very narrow and stuffy. If I didn’t know that Moore had practiced here, I would have turned back. As I walked down the passageway, I arrived at the same hemispherical room as before. A lion’s face was drawn on the floor in the center and I immediately recognized that it was the coat of arms of the Moore family. I walk to the center to look at it.

Creak.

When I stepped on the floor with the coat of arms, I heard a loud noise from the wall. Additionally, green ray of light comes out from the wall and it also gradually rises from the feet. The rays stopped when they reached my waist.

“Is it reacting to the pocket watch?”

When I took the pocket watch out of my pocket, the rays hit the watch and disappeared immediately. Immediately after that, a change appeared in the room.

『Ah-Ah-, test, test. I guess this is fine. Alright, let’s begin. Hello to you who has my watch. 』

An old man in a white pointed hat and a robe appeared in front of me. The person has a long white beard, and in his right hand is a cane that I have seen somewhere. What’s interesting is that the old man is translucent and I could see the other side.

『First of all, let me introduce myself. I am Moore. People call me the great mage. And since you have come this far with my watch, I came to test you, is that alright? 』

“M-Moore-sama!? Ah, I, I’m Erna Frederia! I’m honoured to meet you!”

I crouched down on the floor and I bowed to Moore. I met the great man I longed for, and like the rushing waves, my mind was in chaos.

『As I said earlier, the me in front of you is a recorded video. Greetings are not necessary.』

“Recorded video?”

『Now then, let’s move on to the main subject. I once built this training ground. However, at the same time, a certain mechanism was applied. That is for this “special training course”. The usual training is for fighting against magical beasts, but the training to be given to you is for demon beasts. I don’t know if you’re a descendant of mine or someone else’s, but if you don’t want to learn, go home right away. 』

I was shocked by the unexpected development.

This is because Moore will give me a special guidance. I am enthralled, after all, I am glad I came here.

『…I think you are determined. Let’s move on to the training. First of all, understand that we have limitations. 』

“Limitations? Maybe it’s on the magic we use?”

『The magic we use is easy for former elves to use for other races and limits it. However, for that reason, those who became a mage could not expect further growth. As I feel sad for that, I devised a certain method. That is the “magical art”.』

“Magical art…”

『It’s pretty easy to use magical art. You activate it by cancelling general magic. By doing so, the magical power released from what reason you opted to do will regain its original unrestricted power. However, sufficient training is required to treat it as a means of attack. 』

I am convinced. Father and mother’s original magic always takes a little time to activate. In other words, it was necessary to cancel the general magic once.

『Additionally, image is important for magic. Magical power turns into a phenomenon depending on the imagination of the person who handles it. In other words, if you don’t cultivate your imagination, magic will not show its true value. 』

“But how do I develop my imagination…”

『Are you worried as you don’t have confidence in your imagination? You should be fine. Now that I’m here, it’s all settled. Don’t underestimate me, I will turn even an inexperienced youngster into a full-fledged mage. 』

As part of the wall of the room moved, a small square hole was created. From there come out red, blue, green, yellow, brown and white wisps.

『This is a special magic of mine called Wisp. Each has its own attributes. You infer the attributes of the wisp and defeat it with the opposite attributes. 』

The six fireballs, once around me, were scattered throughout the room.

But what is the reverse attribute?

『Ah right! I’ll explain the reverse attribute. As you know, the general attributes are fire, water, wind, earth, darkness, and light.  But keep in mind that there are other attributes as well. For example, lightning, it is easily equated with the wind attribute.

If it is equated with the wind magic, it would not be strange to misunderstand it. But that is a big mistake. The elves once hid the power of lightning magic because they saw it as a dangerous magic. It is a power that can destroy a kingdom after all.

Oops, I got side tracked. Let’s continue with the topic. The reverse attribute is the weak point of a certain attribute. In other words, for fire, it’s water. If it’s the wind, it’s earth.

By hitting the flying wisps with its opposite attributes, you can learn the relationship between the reflexes and attributes.』

“But my attributes are only up to six…”

『“But I only have one attribute”, If you are worried about that, I’ll give you one piece of advice. If you have scrap magic stones in hand, swallow them right away. If you swallow a magic sphere, your body will burst due to its immense magical power, but if it is about a scrap magic stone, your body will absorb it immediately.』

“Eh!? Swallow magic stones!?”

I am stunned by the shocking facts. I’ve never heard of magic stones being used in such a way. I immediately took out a thunder magic stone from my bosom to see if it was true.

“I should swallow this huh…”

When I think of swallowing a magic stone, my hand stops. But the great mage, Moore-sama says so. I swallowed it deeply.

【Status】
Name: Erna Frederia
Age: 19 years old
Race: Founder Elf
Occupation: Adventurer
Magic attributes: Fire, Water, Earth, Wind, Light, Darkness, Lightning
Magic: Fireball, Fire Arrow, Flame Bomb, Flame Chain, Flame Wall, Flame Burst, Flare Zone, Aqua Ball, Rock Arrow, Aero Ball, Light, Stan Light, Camouflage, Shadow, Thunder Ball, Lightning
Skills:
▹Special: Indomitable Spirit, Hell Ear
▹Advanced: Taijutsu A, Taijutsu B, Extrasensory Perception, Attack Prediction
▹Intermediate: Spearmanship, Essence of Magic

I didn’t know because I hadn’t seen my status for a while, but before I knew it, some skills were ranked up. What went up was hell ears, extrasensory perception, indomitable spirit, and the essence of magic. Also, lightning has been added to the magic attribute.

As Moore says, it seems that the attributes can be increased.

“I can’t believe it… it’s like a dream.”

It’s a great fact that if you swallow a magic stone, the attributes will increase. Will he be pleased if I tell this to Shinichi?

『Are you ready? The Wisp attack will now begin. 』

“W-Wait a minute! I’ll get ready quickly!”

I hurriedly held my staff. A beeping sound was heard from somewhere, and the wisps speeded up all at once. Not only that, the wisps slam and attacks me. I avoided it by using my skill, attack prediction and then I used aqua ball against the red wisp and fire ball against the brown wisp.

“Darkness in white!”

When I hit it with shadow, it didn’t seem to work on the white wisp. I thought it was a light attribute, but it seems that it is different. For the time being, I put off the white one and I focused on removing the other attributes by using the reverse attribute on it. Ultimately, there were two remaining wisps.

Yellow and white.

“What is the weakness of the lightning attribute!?”

I think about it while avoiding the two wisps. Lightning… I don’t know its weaknesses. As for the white one, I don’t know the attribute itself. I wonder what to do.

“Lightning… Lightning… Is it earth?”

With the Rock Arrow, the yellow wisp disappears in an instant. Finally, it’s only the white one but I can’t come up with a good idea. I decided to use the last resort.

“Ugh! uh- It’s cold!?”

I decided to get the white wisp. The touch on my arm was icy. I suddenly realized it.

“The attribute of white is ice! Fireball!”

The white ball was extinguished by the fireball.

『Well cleared. Let’s go to the second stage.』

When Moore applauded, a hundred balls appeared this time.

I’m horrified seeing that.

『What? Fear not. This special training course is a super hard mode divided into twelve stages. You’ll train it properly to an extent that it won’t kill you. Wahahahaha! 』

With a loud click, I heard the sound of the door, the exit was locked!

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


2 thoughts on “Chapter 66: Moore’s Training Ground”

  1. Thanks for the chapter.

    I didn’t understand the part about the Magic that was easy for elves to use and so on.

    Like

    1. Something like, elves are more “attuned” to magic because of their origins (closer to gaia/earth), so he as a human he had to find the way to “tap” into that power… if the casting of formulas and chants is to construct the spell, he’s basically trying to make her “tap” into a more “primordial” form of magic that reacts at “will” instead of “chants” or “formulas”… basically to use her “imagination” to control the outcome of the magic.

      It’s a common trope, it can be a bit confusing but it’s supposed to be tied to the nature of the world and the super common trope of how magic works in this usual settings… but the author is using the knowledge of the readers instead of actually building it so it seems confusing and without explanation… at least that’s what I understood because I have read a whole lot of stories with that trope

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.