Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 135: Start of environmental improvement

The dragon cart advances through the forest. I was not too concerned about whether it could pass through here or not. Well, in the first place, we could pass through here normally when it was just a cart. What I’m more worried about is whether the Sōryū would be afraid of this forest. But so far, there was no sign of that. I knew that it wouldn’t be afraid of the magical power here because it eats magical power. However, I thought that it might be frightened by the presence of the beasts living in this forest.

“Would it be scared if something like a bear approached us?”

I asked Samia.

“I don’t know much about Sōryū… But I think it’s highly possible. The bears here are ferocious and strong after all. Eizou should know it well because you fought one, right?”

“Well, yeah”

It feels nostalgic, but it was a close fight. Without my cheat, I would definitely have died at that time.

“Then, we need to be careful not to make the Sōryū scared.”

“I wonder if that will happen…? Well, if that happens, I’ll notice it too.”

“Oh-, that’s right.”

Among us, Samia has the best sense of smell. Between the Sōryū and her, I’m not sure whose nose is better, but it’s certain that they’ll notice something fatal. So far, they haven’t caught anything dangerous. Unless you are a “weak guy”, where you’ll end up becoming the wolves’ prey, this forest where there are fewer attacks is safer than in the main road.

Now that we’ve entered the forest, there is no road so the ground is much worse compared to the main road. However, the cart is moving along at a good speed. Well, the shaking is also terrible. The good thing is that we are moving much faster than when a person is pulling it so we won’t stay like this for a long time.

We have to be a little careful with our luggage as well, but so far, they haven’t rolled out of the cart. Well, none of them are loaded directly, they are in barrels or boxes. Even so, there are still times when we get a big bump, it is necessary to install suspensions as soon as possible. And yeah, for the sake of our hips and butt as well.

Sure enough, we were able to get home much earlier than usual. Apart from the ride quality, it’s still a lot easier. I think it should have been introduced earlier, but I’ll excuse myself by saying that it’s hard to understand something like this until you actually experienced it.

While Rike and Liddy remove the Sōryū from the cart, the three of us carried the luggage inside the house. I asked them to double check how to put on the brace when they remove it. In the previous world, I would have been able to take a picture with my phone and record the arrangement, but in this world, I can’t do that, so we have to remember it.

As we cleaned ourselves, we also wiped the body of the Sōryū with a cloth that had been soaked in warm water and wrung out tightly. It seems to be feeling comfortable because it is squinting its eyes while making “Kururururururu” sound.

“Good, thanks for your hard work today.”

“Kurururururu”

I gave it a light pat on the neck and it licked my face. It was soft and ticklish, not rough like that of a cat. After that, I filled an empty barrel with water and brought it to him. I still have some of yesterday’s meat that hasn’t been salted yet so I also brought that to him.

“If you can eat the grass that grows on the ground here, you can eat them. Just don’t go too far.”

When I said that, the Sōryū made a sound, as if it understood me. I stroked its head again and then I went inside the house. At dinner that day, the topic of our conversation is about the name of the Sōryū. We can’t call it “Sōryū” forever after all.

“Well, we didn’t know if it is a male or female…”

I forgot to ask Camilo. Besides, I have a feeling that even if I ask him, he would say “I don’t know”. I haven’t seen any external features that can be judged like mammals. Given the size of its body, I would have recognized it immediately.

“In that case, it should be a name that goes either way huh.”

Diana had a pensive look.

“Is there anything like a thumb rule when naming a horse?”

“None. Well, the most amazing horse I’ve ever heard of, Henning Hermann III, is owned by a nobleman from another country. It seems that he was a descendant of a famous horse.”

A horse with the name of the House it belongs plus the third huh? It’s not a cheap purchase and I don’t know what to feel about it. If I only heard the name, I might ask, “Is that His Excellency, the Marquis?”

For a while, we are at loss for what to name it.

“It often made a “Kurururu” sound so isn’t it okay to call it Kururu?”

Samia said so. If it’s a male, it would sound a bit cute, but it wouldn’t be out of place. Well, the more elaborate the name, the more strange it sounds.

“That’s a good one.”

“I think Kururu would suit it.”

“No objection”

Diana, Rike and Liddy doesn’t seem to have any objections.

“It’s Kururu then.”

In this way, the Sōryū was named, and Kururu joined the family.

“Now then, we can’t just leave him out in the rain, so we’re going to build him a hut with just a roof and walls.”

Well, it doesn’t rain all the time around here, and although it’s blocked by trees to some extent, I would feel bad if a family member is exposed to rain. They didn’t have any particular objection to my proposal so from the next day, I decided that we will build a hut for Kururu. Only heaven knows when it will rain after all.

Everyone decided on Kururu’s name before going to bed, and when we went to say good night, Kururu made a “Kuu” sound, curled up on the ground and closed its eyes. If it’s in the previous world, it’s a scene that would definitely managed to be popular in Gram.

While taking about 10 combos of Diana’s continuous attacks on my shoulders, I went inside the house and prepared for the next day’s work.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


11 thoughts on “Chapter 135: Start of environmental improvement”

    1. I think she’s banging on his shoulder in excitement because she thinks it’s cute. Also, I see Eizo went to the Pokemon school of naming animals after the noises they make.

      Like

    2. More like she was so excited she hit his shoulder repeatedly to express the cuteness without being too loud. She did similar actions when they first saw Kururu and when around the wolf pup.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.