Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 139: Step by step

After that, I tried the structure of the rear wheel part and created the shape that would be the best when I replaced it with metal. The rest would be to apply this structure to an actual cart…

The work itself will be after the front wheel parts can be prototyped tomorrow. Well, it’s kind of dark already and Rike and the others have ended their work today as well. Speaking of Kururu, it seems like it was playing all day today. I hope it was having fun. I’ll ask its help again tomorrow…

The next day,

I removed the front wheel of the prototype dolly that I assembled yesterday. With reference to the rear wheel part that I made yesterday, I made two more of the same set of leaf spring. Simply put, if the left and right front wheels can be made independent and this leaf spring can be sandwiched between them, the basic structure of Eizou Workshop’s special cart will be completed. However, it is easier said than done, and it will take a lot of effort to realize that.

Even I, with my knowledge of the previous world and a vague idea of what the finished product would look like, would have a hard time with this. Sure enough, the people in the previous world who created it with their own hands are truly amazing.

I’ve tried various ways to make it, and it seems that the best way to make it is to have the wheels attached to the tips of the legs, which are structured like 几. I placed the upper part in front of the dolly so that the protruding legs can move independently on the left and right and then I installed leaf springs on the extended legs. Lastly I attached a wheel made from a log to the end of the foot, and there, it’s done.

Kururu came to see the work as well ―or rather, the person himself (dragon itself) came to play. So, after asking Kururu to pull it like yesterday, I had him go around the garden.

“Kururururu”

Kururu walks in the garden in a good mood. It seems to be much easier to turn compared to yesterday. Looks like even a little unevenness can be absorbed to some extent. Since yesterday’s barrel was too light making it fell quickly, today, I put a small barrel filled with water on it. It weighs about 10 kilograms. The dolly sinks slightly.

“Okay, please go around again with this.”

“Kuru”

Kururu begins to go around the garden. Perhaps because of its weight, the barrel does not fall immediately even when the dolly turns. It sways softly around what seems to be the uneven part. Water is spilling due to the shaking but there is no sense of a bump impact. If the same thing were applied on the wagon, it might protect Miss Frederica’s butt a little.

Looking at it, I’m worried about the load. Well, utilizing my cheat, I’ll use steel with custom model performance when I mount it on the cart so I’m sure it can handle it. It will somehow be a bit forced though. I feel bad to those who will imitate the use of leaf springs, but I’d like to leave it to them to improve the suspension system and other aspects of the system on their own.

In the previous world, it seems that there were occasional things like, “It cannot be reproduced with modern technology.” There were also stuffs like, “Even if I make the same thing, it doesn’t have the same durability”. I guess it will be the same as that. The day ended with the completion of this part. Tomorrow I have to start on the cart itself.

The next day,

I combined the surplus boards and installed it on the dolly as a loading platform so that it could be used as a small cart. It’s all made of wood and I used my cheat to cut it into a circle as much as possible, but since the wheels are still cut from logs, I think that there are many difficulties in durability and usability, but I can use it for a while or make Kururu play with it. If it breaks, so be it

Finally, it’s now time to modify the cart itself. First, I removed the wheels and repaired the damaged parts of the cart. I’m also going to fix the parts that I think could still use a little more work. Thanks to the cheat, I was able to repair the damage by sticking the boards together without nails. The color is different in some places, but I guess it’s somewhat like a style. I made parts from wood to replace the damaged parts of the wheel.

From this point on, it will be blacksmithing work so I entered the workshop. Rike and the others were making short swords and longswords. Diana and Liddy were making the molds, Samia was pouring the molten iron and Rike is doing the finishing. Because of this, there were a good number of them made by the time I entered.

I picked up one of the finished product. It’s still in the category of general model but it’s almost a high-end model. There are some magical power contained in it. Rike is definitely levelling up.

“This is well made.”

“No, I’m still a long way off. I need to be able to consistently produce the high-end model as Boss said before.”

It’s good to have high goals. It’s a no-brainer to say this and that, so I just said, “do your best” and then I proceed with my own work.

The first thing to do is to make iron plates for the leaf springs. I take out some sheet metal and heat one of them on the fire bed and hammer it. That sensation and sound that I haven’t felt in a long while reverberated in my body and I kinda felt nostalgic. The sensation made me think that I had become a blacksmith in body and mind in less than a year since I came here.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


6 thoughts on “Chapter 139: Step by step”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.