Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 141: Renovation completed

I took the parts to the place where I disassembled the cart. Now I am going to assemble these parts. There are parts that are different from the previous world so it is necessary to arrange them. For example, instead of using nuts or bolts, it will be supplemented with pins or wedges. Of course it has impact on the maintainability and durability. Well, I will cover that by using parts made with my cheat and daily inspections. However, I would like to ask those who will replicate this to improve it on their own.

First, let’s assemble from the rear wheel. I attached a set of leaf springs and a part for connecting the back of the cargo bed and then I connected the tubular part of the longest leaf spring there. Since the leaf spring is bow-shaped, the length of the string part of the bow changes when it is stretched and when it is retracted. It is necessary to have a part that absorbs this change when it is connected. This is attached to one side only, the other side is directly connected to the cargo bed.

Once the leaf springs have been put together with the parts that binds the leaf spring set, I pass the axle through the cylinder at the bottom of the part and then I attached the wheels on both sides to complete the structure.

For the lubricating oil, lard will be used. Even in the previous world, pork fat was used before mineral oil became common. In my case, I will be using boar fat. Aside from that, it seems that rapeseed oil can also be used but we have plenty of boar fat so that will be used for now.

I temporarily assembled the front wheel (the parts for mounting the wheel were made of wood) and test pulling it. Kururu, who had come before I knew it, is already waiting for me with an excited snort. Since I am not going to ask him to pull it for a long distance, I used a rope instead of putting a brace on him.

“Does it hurt?”

“Kururu”

When I checked to see if there was any problem, it seemed to be okay so I asked Kururu to go around the garden like that. The mechanism itself is working well but there are some strange parts, so I repeat the process of removing it, adjusting it and have Kururu pull it again. The adjustment was finally completed when the sun went down. For the time being, this completes the rear wheels. The connection between the front wheels and the brace will be done tomorrow.

The next morning,

For today’s fetching of water, I made Kururu carry it himself. Kururu is greatly satisfied. Come to think of it, why do sōryū want to pull or carry things? Since they are smart enough, I think there might be something other than biological instincts, but unfortunately, I don’t have any cheat in biology and I don’t have any knowledge in that area in my installed knowledge either so I don’t have any idea about them at all. For now, since Kururu is in a good mood, let’s let him be.

The front wheel part has a slightly different mechanism but the work is the same. Instead of screws and bolts, pins are used to assemble and adjust the parts. Since the left and right front wheels are independent, the parts that need durability are made of steel. Well, even with this, there are still some concerns. So the steel is made with as much magical power as a custom model. It was quite a feat of strength.

The final adjustment will be made after modifying the connection part with the brace. From the shape of the removed connecting part, I’ll be making a new connection part. This part is made with wood and the re-used existing parts. After making the new part, I put the brace on Kururu (it took a long time because I was not used to it), and then I adjusted the connection part and the cart.

If Kururu moves a little, I make adjustments, a little movement and I make minute adjustments. Then finally, Kururu is ready to pull it smoothly. The next time I do some repair work, I’d like to make it smoother…..

Now that I made the final adjustments for the whole thing, I asked Kururu to pull the cart again. Suspension seems to work on both front and rear wheels. However, there seems to be some problems so I stopped Kururu and then I did the adjustment again. By the time I was satisfied, the sun was already setting.

If it’s just blacksmithing, it won’t take that long. Well, my general production cheats aren’t as capable as my blacksmithing cheat. There is no choice but to repeat trial and error in this way.

Anyway, this should make the ride much better and our speed can be increased accordingly. If it doesn’t take long to get to the town, there will be more things we can do with that time.

I started cleaning up while I happily visualized what we could do in that time.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


4 thoughts on “Chapter 141: Renovation completed”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.