Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 149: Determination

We parted ways with the demon and then we safely arrived home. Despite that encounter, thanks to Kururu, the time we got home is not much different from when we were pulling it manually. After removing Kururu’s brace and washing up, we gathered in the living room. This should have been usually the time we do what we want.

“Do you think he will come tomorrow?”

“I think he will come.”

We were now having a discussion on how to deal with the demon. Liddy was the one who replied to my first question.

“Demons are as good at handling magical powers as the elves, so I think he’ll get to this house that can “ward off” people.”

“Then it is unlikely that he couldn’t cross the forest huh…”

I was able to take a leisurely observation of him only because I knew that if something is to happen, I could immediately counter him. Although he is about that level in terms of ability, it is not that he can’t come to our house huh.

“The other thing is… I wonder if it’s okay to make weapons for the demons.”

According to my installed knowledge, there was a large scale war 600 years ago, but in recent years only skirmishes have occurred. If that is the case, the empire as seen from the kingdom is no different. Then, as for me, a blacksmith who came from the North and settled on his own, it doesn’t matter whether my weapons flow to the empire or the demon race. But, is that really the case?

“That’s fine for me. I was just surprised to see one for the first time.”

“Me too.”

Samia and Rike don’t seem to care. It doesn’t matter even if that person is a demon huh.

“If you hide it from brother or did if for profit, it might be said that you are a spy. However, Eizou is just a blacksmith, so you don’t have to worry about it you know.”

It was Diana who said that. Well yes, if you treat people in the enemy country with hospitality, you will be perceived in various ways.

“If there’s a battle with the demon country, it might be my custom model weapon that would hurt your brother, are you really fine with that?”

“That’s all happening now you know. By the time Helen has your weapon, such possibility is already there in every war zone.”

“That’s… well, that’s true…”

As a mercenary, there is no guarantee that Helen will always participate in war as the kingdom’s ally. It is not impossible to say that Marius will be dispatched there. Uh, wait, was Diana already prepared for that?

I wasn’t aware of it until I was told. I no longer worry about what I’m making, but I guess I still need to keep such circumstances in mind at all times…

“We can’t deny that our outlook on them are complex. They are born with a stagnant magic after all. They’re probably the most incompatible with us elves. But it’s been 600 years since the war, and I don’t think many people would mind if we made a weapon or two for them, let alone if we were talking about a steady supply.”

Finally, Liddy answered. Oh-, the elves who live with beautiful magical power and the demons with stagnant magical power are incompatible huh. Well, it is said that monsters are born from the stagnant magical power so I think it is natural that they are incompatible with each other. Generally, it’s something like “It’s not that I don’t mind, but isn’t it okay?” Then, it doesn’t matter where or what a power that doesn’t belong to anywhere provides huh.

Although I’m on good terms with the Count of the Kingdom, there is nothing more than getting along well with him.

“Then lastly, what should we do with the fact that he is a bandit?”

“It’s usually a crime to hide a bandit.”

“Right.”

To be honest, I think it’s a rather dangerous act that I missed today. But…

“There is no real damage.”

“Speaking of that, we are always on the alert. There was no guarantee that it wouldn’t escalate.”

Rike voiced out. That’s also right.

“If he goes back after I made him a weapon, that bandit would be no more. I feel like it will be fine but, am I too optimistic?”

“You mean, they’ll think that the bandit has moved his attack site somewhere else, right?”

Diana answered my question. That’s right. However, although it will improve the security in the main road, I feel sorry knowing the fact that those guards will patrol around the area unnecessarily until then.

“It can’t be helped then, let’s ask the help of Camilo and Marius.”

I decided to ask the help of the Count family directly, let’s just say it’s a good thing that we have a mutually beneficial relationship with each other.

“What are you going do?”

“The next time we went to Camilo’s store for wholesale, if they haven’t been notified yet, I would tell him the facts. I’ll ask him to bring a document containing the facts to Marius. I think it’s a good idea to get Marius to tell the guards that “the bandit has moved to another place” so they could gradually reduce their patrol.”

“Although he’s my older brother, I don’t want Eizou to owe him too much but it can’t be helped…”

“Well, yeah.”                                                                                                     

I don’t think it’s that big of a debt, I’m ready to repay as much as I can too. I’m sure you’re thinking that I’m a bit too nice for sacrificing myself for a stranger from a demon race, but yeah, this is my way.

After discussing it for a while, it was decided that “I will make it when he comes”, “we will not treat him particularly badly”, and “he will have to swear that he’ll return to his home country once he gets the weapon”.

I still have a little hesitation about making a weapon for someone who is clearly an enemy of my friends but I guess this is where I have to make up my mind as a blacksmith. In the end, it’s up to me whether I’ll make it or not.

I stood up to prepare for our supper while watching the three of them, who weren’t very familiar with the demon race, ask Liddy various questions.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


3 thoughts on “Chapter 149: Determination”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.