Homeless Tensei: Isekai De Jiyuu Sugiru Majutsu Jisoku Seikatsu

Side Story: Ryan’s story 6

My revenge was over, and I couldn’t get my job done for a while. I have no memory of how I spent the first year after Julia’s death. I woke up when I saw Adam strolling in the mansion with Eve in his arms. Unlike me, my son lived his life looking forward.

(Ryan’s work isn’t done yet! Just how long will you leave the children alone!?)

Yes, I felt that Julia had scolded me.

From then on, I did my job and childcare as if to make up for the delay. I can’t take the place of their mother. Still, I poured my love and affection to them as hard as I could, like how Julia would have done. I made bread that she had never baked before, referring to the recipe left by Julia, and performed a lullaby that Julia often sang even though Adam teased me. I learned how to sew. I made a number of stuffed animals for Eve and re-sewed Adam’s clothes when he came home with them torn up.

Basically, I asked the housekeeper to cook the food, but on my days off, I stood in the kitchen and let the children eat what I made. I even went to a small party with knights and acquaintances. It was my little pleasure to see Adam and Eve look proud as they enjoyed my home-cooked meals.

Adam entered the Royal Primary School. The school was in the Royal Capital so only Adam was left at our parents’ house. It was lonely living apart, but Julia and I have our parents, so I wasn’t too worried. Additionally, I had about three knights on duty to watch over him, so if anything happened, they would report to me immediately.

However, Eve cries a lot because she can’t get used to a life without her brother. Therefore, I made a holiday and took Eve to the Royal Capital.

Then Eve entered primary school. At the same time, Adam entered high school. I had been living without the children for a long time. However, I went in the Royal Capital four times a month. By this time, the management of the territory was stable enough to be entrusted to others.

However, there was one thing that I didn’t like. At Julia’s father’s urging, Adam was apprenticed to the Fluffy Hermit, our master. I objected inwardly, but it was true that the hermit had made me so strong, so I decided to send my son to Master. Fortunately, Adam didn’t have a talent for fluffy, but he did have a talent for the sword. Master said, “He’s Ryan’s son after all” and it ended as a natural result. Adam is a wise and strong-minded child, just like me.

Eve also went to the dojo. She wants to imitate what her brother does. I objected, but I had no choice but to allow her when she brought Julia up. Master looked at Eve and said, “You have the talent for Fluffy, and you have Julia’s blood in you.”

I wet my pillow with tears that day.

Adam graduated from high school. When I asked him what he was going to do, he said he wanted to take over my estate. I almost burst into tears. It was only natural that my son would take over the patrimony, but I was glad that he said so himself. However, I dared to say, “You will take over later, but first, you should take your time and learn about the lives of the people in the province.”

I’m not even old enough to retire yet. It’s not so easy to retire, right?

Eve then graduated from high school. By this time, she was a woman of her age, and there was someone she is in relationship with. It seems that the other party is the son of Duke Medil. According to the results of my investigation from the shadows, it seems that he has a good personality and is single-minded, and his grades are quite good.

Well, his swordsmanship isn’t that great, but on the contrary, Eve is skilled, so it wasn’t a bad combination. It is a double circle after all. Eve was married before Adam. My daughter was taken. I felt like that and cried at the wedding. I looked next to me, and Adam was crying too, we hugged each other and bowled our eyes out. Eve had grown up so beautifully that she could be said to be a second version of Julia.

She is a bride that everyone admires. She thanked me for raising her in behalf of her mother. She said that when she was having a hard time, when she was happy, when she was lonely, I was always there for her. Eve has grown up. That’s how I felt. I finally fulfilled one of my promises to Julia.

Then Adam plans to get married. Eve had a child. Two big news made me jump up in joy. At last, I became a grandfather. Adam even gave me more surprise when he said that his partner is already pregnant. The other party is the daughter of a countess whom he met when he was a student. I was caught off guard by the lack of investigation on my son’s relationship. I met her and had a conversation with her. She was a good child. I allowed her to marry into the Doris family.

My grandson called me “Grandpa” for the first time. At the same time as I was feeling happy and contented, I wondered if I had already reached such an age. It feels like a long time ago when I was living in Tokyo.

I’m happy. There may not be more.

However, if I could wish for one more thing, I would like to apologize to Tanaka-san in person. I didn’t understand what I was feeling then. I just thought I wanted to work with him again if I could still hope for it. I am Ryan Doris, and I am Yasuhiko Kanzaki after all.

“Ryan-sama, I have something to report to you.”

The former knight commander, who became my butler, stands by my side and made a report. According to his report, there are apparently a party of adventurers who has made a name for themself in Mana. Moreover, it is said that there is a sacred beast among them.

I ordered them to be called at once. Sacred Beast. It is a great guardian beast. It is said that the existence of one such beast is enough to make the kingdom safe for a thousand years.

I sat down on a chair in the garden and looked up at the blue sky. I don’t know what kind of adventurer the party leader is, but I have to find out if he deserves to raise a sacred beast. This kingdom where my family lives must be kept alive and developed at all costs. That is my last duty as a nobleman.

At that time, I didn’t know anything. Even more so, I didn’t expect to fall on the ground and be thrown away by Tanaka-san.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of Contents ⚜ Next


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.