Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 6: In the Mountain

About 30 minutes being rocked inside the horse-drawn carriage, I could sometimes see the scenery outside from the passenger seat’s window. Although public roads to the western territories are maintained, because it is surrounded by mountains on all sides, it is easy to be destroyed by beasts. Every time we approach a bumpy road, a big shake is transmitted.

“Lendl-san, are you alright? It seems like you can’t sit comfortably.”

“…A little, the shaking… It’s been a while since I’ve ridden a carriage…”

As expected, in this rocking, no matter how good the semicircular canals are, you will get dizzy. Speaking of myself, I don’t mind the shaking because I actually drunk a motion sickness medicine before I get on a carriage.

“It’s better to take some medicine. It may make you a little sleepy, but it should work.”

“……Yes, thank you very much.”

Mr. Lendl looks rather dizzily and pretty sick but for some reason, he’s hesitating to look at me while rubbing his back.

It’s hard to tell because the coat’s shoulders are bulky, but this person’s build… his shoulder’s doesn’t look that broad. I’m not sure if it’s because he’s wearing a hat, but the shape of his head is also androgynous… Some people have that kind of constitution, but it’s rare.

I want to avoid being suspected as a homosexual so I can’t tell him to take off his coat. However while sitting down, he looks so uneasy that he can’t help but put his hands on his knees. At first it was a slightly pigeon-toed, but when he realized that I was looking at him, his knees gradually opened up –it seems like he realized I was observing.

When I handed him a vial containing a medicine to prevent motion sickness, Lendl-san turned his back to me and pulled down on the collar that had hidden his mouth, and swallowed the medicine in one breath.

“Hngh…”

“Oh…”

Even the way his throat squeals is something strange! I have no hobbies like that. There are some aristocrats who like male sex, but it’s a culture unrelated to me born in the common people!

“Ah … it’s refreshing. Was this medicine made by Glass-sama?”

“A-aha… I made it by mixing fruit vinegar and tea extract. I feel refreshed because I use peppermint oil.”

“Wow, Amazing! It’s something like a food ingredient right? It could even be made into a medicine.”

Because it is basically made for people to eat it, all food ingredients such as herbs and fruits can be used as ingredients.

In my case, if it’s a “vegetable ingredient”, I can tell what kind of effect it has on the human body by putting it in my mouth. There is an unlikely event of being poisoned. Even though I only touch it, I can tell if it is poisonous, so I will not be hit by the poison of wild grass or mushrooms.

And if I did get poisoned, I can search for plants that have the necessary components for detoxification. Although it was useful in the pharmacy class, it was not enough to be recognized as a talent because of the Academy’s structure.

“How about you Glass-sama?”

“No, I’m glad that your motion sickness was stopped. It may not be very effective for some people.”

“I am glad that the medicine made by Grass-sama is effective. When I catch cold, I can count on you to treat me right, Glass-sama?”

“There are various colds, but the best thing to do is to prevent them from happening. I’ll tell you some ways to preventive measures in advance in case the Knights catch some colds.”

Talking with Lendl-san, I think there’s a lot to do for me. Most probably, my skill as a Spirit Doctor is still lacking as a doctor.

“It seems that you used fruit vinegar to stop motion sickness … Did you use Fig tree fruits?”

“Oh, that’s right. You understand well, Lendl-san. Do you like fruit and vegetables?”

“No, I knew the flavor. I got it by accident.”

The Fig tree’s fruits I got from the elders helped me a lot to develop drugs. However, it was not possible to cure all diseases with only the plants within the school or within the reach of my feet.

Leaving the institute and looking for an unknown plant – the more injuries and illnesses that can be healed more. I had such a thought but I was hesitant to leave the elders alone.

But when I greeted the elders this morning, I was told to go. They said they can live for another fifteen years because of my care. I hope it will not revert back in the meantime.

The two fruits that have been handed to me as a farewell are wrapped in two pieces of paper in a bag. Other plants also asked to be brought themselves, so I brought bottled medicines with herbs for heat and cold detoxification. There are also bulbs and seeds that can be cultivated even in the west.

Other plants also asked to bring themselves, so I brought bottled medicines and grass for heat and cold detoxification into bottles.

“I have dry bread and dried meat for lunch. I also like fruits and vegetables, so I brought some.”

“When we take fruits, the nutritional deviation is reduced… is what my friend said.”

“Oh, that’s right. Vegetables, fruits, plant-based foods are basically good for your health. Meat and grains are important, but other things tend to be in short supply.”

I can diagnose which nutrient is deficient by touching life forms. The plant that should be taken to supplement also comes to mind. There are times that what comes to mind is an unknown plant that cannot be collected nearby. Some were monster-like plants, and I thought that there is no good or bad contract with the spirits.

―But I still don’t have a clue on what the mysterious sight I saw when I signed the contract and who that woman was. I think it’s okay to see it in my dreams even once…

“Then, it’s time to eat…”

“No… wait a moment, something smells strange…”

“…Glass-san, this is…!”

It smells like something is burning. A burnt tree – it’s faintly coming in through a window.

From the mountain road, a horse-drawn carriage, which had been running out into a hilly area with tall grass, suddenly stopped.

“Dear customers, it seems that things are going to be difficult … Wow, uh, demons… and there are so many hordes …!”

Going out of the carriage to see what’s happening, there was black smoke rising from the ranch huts in the hill. Something like an earth tremor could even be heard from the distance– it was the high-pitched cry of creatures. A number of fireballs flew into the clear blue sky, it shoot one after another towards the huts and spread the fire.

That was… I’ve never seen it near the capital. Goblins…!

A demon with a dark skin and a physique about a human child – formed into party of 10, it was attacking the ranch.

“The damn demons come shamelessly without discipline! I won’t hand over my sheep!”

A man jumping out of a hut shoots an arrow at a goblin. Yet even though it was a mere goblin, it used an iron helmet to deplete the arrow.

“Gyiiii-ii-i!”

The goblin at the end was riding at something – it was a boar that was one size larger than the goblin itself.

Kicking off the fence, all together, it beat down obstacles. While rolling up dust and pushing forward, the goblin cleverly took the bow and arrow and shoots at the man – it’s no longer a situation where you can keep on the sidelines!


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


1 thought on “Chapter 6: In the Mountain”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.