Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 5: Spirit Doctor’s Secretary

What made the Second Queen think about me as a court magician wasn’t clear, but the documents showing that I was recognized as a court magician were real.

My rank as a court magician is the hundred eighth place. However, it is not immediately respected as the 108th magician in the kingdom, but rather it is doubtful what kind of method was used to obtain the position.

In fact, there are many students who harass or look down on students who have drawn unlucky spirits. Though not all were like that, those who have excellent and bad grades often looks down on us.

“Well, this is an exciting topic. The world hasn’t thrown you away yet.”

My roommate Sven, was back in the room before me. When I told him that I was going to the West tomorrow, he was surprised with his eyes open wide at first, but immediately congratulated me.

Sven has a contract with the ‘rock’ spirit, which causes his hair to turn gray. He’s lamenting that he’s often mistaken for an old man, as he was only 19 years old.

Since he became my roommate three years ago, Sven and I came to each other without any quarrel. Although we were treated like those who similarly contracted unlucky spirits, we were not convinced and humbled by the surrounding evaluations.

“Unlucky spirits and the whole flop thing are labels made by hard-headed people – Though it’s coming from a ‘rock’ user.”

“Well, Sven is the head of the rock. It’s really good for combat, but everyone has no eyes.”

“It’s considered a magician’s job to blow away without approaching things, so there’s nothing I can do about it. I think it’s also necessary to defend as well as attack.”

Sven’s tone gives the impression that he is old. Leslie sometimes mentioned he’s “Like an old man”. That is also one of the reasons why he is seen older than his age.

“Sven, when I go, please take care of Leslie…”

“I refuse.”

“Oi… What’s with that. It may look like a joke but I’m actually serious…”

Me, Sven and Leslie. Often, we three acted together, and Leslie, a shy person, would see Sven as her only friend.

However, Sven shrugs his shoulders and grabs a homemade cigar I made in an experimental match. He ignites it and smokes. Even if it looks like this, it is a medicinal cigar that is used to suppress inflammation of the lungs and circulatory system, so it does not harm health.

“Glass, Don’t be mad. In behalf of Leslie, I have to tell you off. I can’t substitute for you or vice versa. In addition…”

“In addition?”

“No, nothing. Glass, I’m thinking of getting some kind of qualification like you. I’ll continue looking for a job. For the time being, I’ll be in this dormitory, I’ll leave the room as is in case you came back to the Academy.”

“Oh, that helps. Well, I wouldn’t just come back, but I’m sure there is a need to return to school.”

If I were to come back, it would be after being recognized by Her Highness, Astina. Perhaps it could also be when I made some achievement, established my position, and got a vacation.

Otherwise, it would be when I completed my role in the West. In any case, it will take a few years or dozen of years.

“Well, let’s go out to the city and drink today. Let’s toast for my best friend’s rise to fame.”

“Fame huh… I hope that happens. First of all, I have to make sure that they don’t say that I’m useless so that the court magician’s approval would not be revoked.”

Sven puts on a jacket from the wall, and I followed suit. We don’t have that much money to free up, so unlike other students, entertainment is limited to modest things.

Still, this day, I thought that I wouldn’t forget the taste of the cheap sake I had with Sven even if I went to the West.

◆◇◆

Next morning.

There would be a horse-drawn carriage coming to the front gate of the Magic Academy, I took my luggage and put on a long coat over the full set uniform and came out to the front.

Despite the early spring, it is sometimes chilly and sometimes frosty in the morning. It’s relatively warm today, but what about the West? — Since the northern border is high and the temperature is low, it would surely be plagued by snow, I would like to expect a more adaptable environment than that.

“Glass-Ni.., Glass Weed-sama. Is that perhaps you?”

“Uuu… Yeah, You surprised me. What do you want from me?”

I was suddenly called while waiting for the carriage. If that’s only the case, I wouldn’t be so surprised, but I was suddenly caught off guard by the strange appearance of the person who called me out.

The man – has a loud voice – wore a coat over a black butler-like outfit. He’s small, but he’s gaining height by wearing slightly thick leather shoes, and his eye level isn’t much different from me.

However, I was more surprised by being face to face. He wore a coat collar to cover his mouth, put on a hat and wore dark glasses that only some teachers use at the Magic Academy.

Such suspicious looking attire… No, Each person has his own circumstances.  Maybe he doesn’t show his face because he has a high voice and looks like a boy.

I managed to calm myself and accept the strange appearance of a man calling out to me.

“Congratulations to you as you have been selected as a court magician. I am Le…Lendl. I was appointed as Glass-sama’s attendant. Therefore, I will accompany you to the west.”

“Lendl… I’ve never heard of a student with that name. Or maybe, I just don’t know.”

“I’m not a student, I was dispatched by the Butler Association after being nominated by the Headmaster.”

When I become a court magician, I thought I’ll have a secretary like my stepsister. My stepsister has several female secretaries, but in my case it seems to be a male butler.

“Rather than butler, will you be my secretary?”

“Yes. Being a military doctor is a very busy job. Please tell me anything about managing the medical records of the knights. I will assist you in the treatment.”

To be honest, it looks suspicious, but it’s more encouraging to have someone come with me than to go to a land I don’t know by myself.

“Okay, I don’t know if I can go there and start working as a military doctor right away, but I’ll do whatever I can to do. Thank you in the future.”

“Same here, I’ll be in your care, Glass-n…Glass-sama”

When I held out my right hand, Mr. Lendl grabbed it back sparingly. Even if he wore gloves, it’s still petite, and his hands are one size smaller than mine.

“…this…”

“I-Is there something wrong?”

“No, I’m sorry, I somehow remember my friend. I hope she is fine.”

Leslie didn’t come to see me off, but hopes for me to write a letter when I arrive in the west safely. Actually I had already done it last night – I’m on the front line so we won’t know what happens.

“This is a letter to a friend. Is it okay to ask Lendl-san to keep it in case something goes wrong? I think the first request is a little heavy…”

“… No, it’s not heavy. Certainly, I will keep it.”

“Thank you.”

I gave the letter to Mr. Lendl. He locked it in his coat pocket. Though he is small, the chest part looks bulky.

“Lendl-san, are you doing any martial arts? Your packed chest is amazing.”

“Eeeh, no. How to say this… It’s an embarrassing story. It’s a pigeon chest, so I’m wrapping it up.”

“Ah…, is that so. I’m sorry, I asked something strange.”

“No, don’t worry about it. And I’m your secretary so I don’t need honorific’s.”

“Understood. Then as you wish… Lendl-san, the carriage has arrived, let’s go?”

Being a male of the same age, it would be nice to be able to build a friendly relationship with Lendl-san.

When I get on the passenger seat of the wagon, Lendl-san with his hat came afterwards. He did not take off his hat even when he entered the carriage –Well, there are people like that, so I did not pursue it deeply.

“… I am also new to the Western land, so I’m looking forward to seeing what kind of place it is.”

Thanks to Lendl-san who talked to me like that, it seemed like I don’t need to think about anything by myself and become anxious until I arrived in the West.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


6 thoughts on “Chapter 5: Spirit Doctor’s Secretary”

  1. I’m going to give the Protagonist a pass for now, because it seems like Leslie put a lot of effort into the disguise. As soon as he uses his doctor abilities to spot a disguised person or something though…

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.