Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 4: Reason for Selection

“Is it possible to be a court magician by exception because I have been certified as a Spirit Doctor?”

“No, not. A court magician is a magician who reports directly to the royal family. Only His Majesty – the King, Her Majesty, and the Crown Prince who is recognized as the successor to the King, can appoint this time. The queen saw the academy’s materials and chose you as a squire for the Third Princess.”

The third princess is the daughter of the first queen. But the concubine, the Second Queen, chose the squire – there’s should be a reason!

The First Queen has retired for a long time and the second queen is strengthening her voice in the royal family. The second queen wants her second son to succeed the throne, and is trying to keep the First Prince and Third princess of the first queen away from the court.

“The third princess is called as the ‘Sword Princess’. Although she is a princess, she has been polishing her swordsmanship since she was a child and she has been recognized for her ability. Now she is leading an army to protect the border. She did not incorporate any magicians when she formed the Knights. However, after it was decided that the third princess would be put on the front line for a long time, the second queen advised His Majesty that a magician should be assigned. Therefore, in the form of His Majesty, the arrow of white feathers stood on you.”

“…Is that because I’m not a combat magician, a magician who doesn’t help the military directly?”

A magician who is not suitable for battle comes under the control of a general on the front line. If you think normally, it doesn’t make sense.

However, there is no doubt that the Second Queen will choose me. In that case, it is inevitable to choose a magician who is ‘not usable’.

“… Did you hear about the rumor that the Second Queen is following her second son?”

The battle for the right to succeed the throne is of great concern to the people. It can be even heard by people like me who have no interest in politics.

“Hmm… If the rumor is true, then it’s possible that the Second Queen would send me in to pull on the Third Princess, who has the right to succeed the throne.”

“…Though it’s not limited to that. Regarding to the reason for selecting you, the Second Queen said, ‘There is a shortage of military doctors on the Western Front.’  Sure, that’s true to what the current situation is.”

At that point, the qualification of a Spirit Doctor who took refuge in a quiet land would be noticed.

I, who has no fighting power, goes to the front line as a military doctor. Work in the Knights under the leadership of the Third Princess – which also means putting my life on the line!

It cannot be refused if it takes the form of a royal decree. My stepsister has an odd look, which is probably because I feel hesitant.

“…I’ll leave the decision to you. If you don’t want to be a military doctor…”

“No. I’m going. To serve the royal family, I need the title of a court magician. Even with such reason, it was indeed my dream to become a court magician. Though they aren’t expecting much, I will get results and be truly recognized as a court magician. I’ll see to it that you’ll not be ashamed of me. Nee-san, I’ll make you proud!”

I wouldn’t be evaluated at this academy, but if I asked if I could go outside and be evaluated, it wouldn’t be easy.

However, as a Spirit Doctor there, I can treat injured soldiers. By doing so, I may change the perception that flop’s are useless.

“Glass, you give me an answer more than I can imagine. That is the strong spirit required of a court magician. The Western Front is now stable, but there are sporadic battles at borders. The princess won’t let you accompany her in battle, and if you walk around carefully, it’s never a dangerous place. Additionally, the surroundings are all strong female knights.”

“Ah?… Isn’t there a male knight?”

“The entourage of the Third Princess is all female. By their intention, only women belong to the Western Army. It seems that there is a danger that the military history will be disturbed if there is a man.”

I think that it is not such a problem and that both men and women should cooperate to protect the country, but such a theory does not seem to work here…

“Women are more prevalent in this country, and it’s no wonder, because 70% of the students at the Magic Academy’s are also women.”

“Err…That’s right …”

“If you only think all about women, you’ll be expelled. Keep your mind and work hard. I will go to visit the team if I get a vacation. Since I’m an acquaintance of the third princess, I would like to introduce you to her directly… What’s with that face? Tomorrow you’ll leave to the west you know, it’s too late to do that now.”

Knights have extraordinary fighting power compared to ordinary people. Both men and women can be knights, but since I haven’t trained in combat, I basically have only physical abilities like ordinary people.

If I get to the Princess and knights bad side, it’s over… I need to avoid being considered as incompetent, I need to give it my all.

“Normally you look gentle but when you think, you have those little sharp eyes… You just need to behave so that you don’t get them too alarmed. Even though there are men in the territory, you are the only man in the garrison station. They will be a little wary of you so you should be prepared.”

“But shouldn’t it be a female military doctor? Considering physical examinations, medical examinations, and treatments, I think women are definitely better.”

“Did you not hear the story? You were chosen because you were a ‘magician’ who reports directly to the princess, and you are also a Spirit Doctor, I’m proud of your for that.”

Even though I was sent to a dangerous battlefield, it seems to me that my stepsister is happy and proud that I became a court magician, even if it was due to the intention of the Second Queen.

However, I’m no longer a kid and I’m not particularly baby-faced yet my stepsister acts like a mother and indulge me. I wonder why she put out an indulgent attitude. Her previous serious look now turned warm.

“I just said, I am proud of you, you know?”

Arms crossed, she wave out her index finger. When my stepsister does so, it meant that she’s frustrated as she could not do what she wanted. This I could tell even if I’m not a Spirit Doctor.

“I’m an adult now too, so I’m not sure of how you expected me to react or be moved by those word…”

“Kuh… How long have you been so twisted? When I first met you, Every time I go home a few times a year, you’d loved to say, ‘Onee-chan, Onee-chan.’”

“There is no such fact, but… the way I called you did change though.”

My stepsister looked at me with a grudge– Honestly, I don’t really feel that this person caused a storm on the battlefield and was feared by allies and enemies.

“…Okay fine, I want to send you off with a hug but I’ll save it when you’ve safely returned.”

“W-wait, when I come back, wouldn’t it be necessary to ask for my permission first?”

“… What you have to think about now is to survive no matter what. Even military doctors may be involved in combat, and the Knights are also sweeping demons to protect the territory. Humans are not the only enemy.”

I only need to manage the physical condition of the knights’ and have them stay in perfect condition. With that, I will not really get involved in battle – I feel like I’m being shielded and I wonder if it’s a role I really wanted…

My stepsister may visit when she is free. Though it is a moving reunion, when that time comes… do I really need to dive into her chest where the robe can’t even be closed?– I would like to somehow decline because it’s too luxurious as a reward for surviving!

Whether knowing my inner feelings or not, my stepsister suddenly looked into the far distance then she spoke to herself.

“Knights only for women… If you throw a man there, it’s like throwing boned meat into the cage of a beast… Even though you’re a man, you can’t stand the strength of a well-trained woman, like if every night… so, I wonder how should I take responsibility…?”

“I-I don’t think that anyone can be placed in such an environment…”

“You’re also a doctor, Isn’t there any knowledge that the instinct of a woman becomes very strong from their thirties?”

“Well, it’s a general theory that I know even if I’m not a doctor, and I think the knights are probably all pure and honest people…”

My stepsister is only 21 years old this year, so it’s still far from the age of 30, but if I was to ask if she too have such desire, I feel like I can’t leave this room safely.

In any case, I have to go west and serve Astina-denka. If I’m not a combat magician, can they recognize my value as a military doctor? –No, I must be recognized!

It‘s a matter of survival and the title of the court magician should not be a mere decoration. In order to do that, I must do something to convince everyone around me. However, there is one thing that I remain concerned about – my stepsister calling Leslie before me…

“By the way, Nee-san, what did you talk with Leslie?”

“I can’t say anything about it. I think it’s a thorny path for Leslie, but she still wanted ‘that’ and I just accepted it.”

Leslie wasn’t really called and she visited the headmaster’s office herself – I really can’t help but be more concerned of what they talked about.

“She’s an adult too, No need to be overprotective… though you could also be telling that back to me.”

“No…, to be honest, I’m thankful to you Onee-san. I don’t think its overprotection either. It kinda feels like a lion pushing his own cub from a great height.”

“I’m your sister, not your parent. I just want to correct that.”

In the past, my stepsister used to pat my head at such a time however she stopped herself along the way.

She too counts on me. If I could meet that expectation, I feel that I could accept the kindness of my stepsister more naturally.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


2 thoughts on “Chapter 4: Reason for Selection”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.