Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 3: Royal Imperial Decree

On the door of the headmaster’s room, there is a sign that says “Millenia Weed” is inside.

Yes, the school headmaster is my older stepsister. She is called the school’s most talented woman. In the entire history, she is also the youngest one to take over the headmaster’s position.

My stepsister took office three years ago, and since then, I have been called in about once a week to report on my recent circumstances. I think that I’m not that unreliable to still be supervised by my stepsister, but I can’t say “I’m an independent adult, don’t call me too often” when I face her.

“What are you doing? Why don’t you enter the room when you’re already there?”

“Err… Sorry Headmaster. Excuse me, I’m coming in…”

Inside the school, I don’t address the Headmaster as my older sister.  It should have been such an arrangement, but that rule is not applied to this room – Ah no, that should be until outside of the room only. Since I got inside, I would also change the address from here.

As soon as I enter the room, my stepsister looks at me intently.

“Umm… Nee-san…” I wanted to ask what is the problem – ah never mind.

Sunlight shines through a thin curtain from the window behind my older sister, and her long, jade-colored hair appears to shine. She used to have chestnut-colored hair in the past but it changed when she contracted with a higher spirit of the wind element. The color of hair and eyes changed to the color that symbolizes ones spirit attributes.

If we were not a family, I would have been ten times more nervous than I am now! – It’s not so often that you can find such a beautiful woman.

My father remarried when I was still young and that’s when my stepsister came about. At first, I didn’t know what to do with my father’s remarriage partner’s child but it seemed that she was the same. I was able to get over it little by little because of my mother-in-law’s mediation. Now, I have been treated as a younger brother to the extent that I would like to refrain from being one.

When she left her seat, she walked around the big desk she used all the time and came to me. The light that shined on her through the window was dazzling, but eventually my eyes were getting used to it. My stepsister is wearing a black cloak over her white shirt. It must have been customized as it would undoubtedly expose her big chests if not.

The cloak she wears also proves her identity as a court magician. In addition to that, the gold pendant locket she hangs around her neck was engraved with the number “17” – meaning magician of the country, at the seventeenth rank.

“What happened? You couldn’t take part in the mock battle class again because you’re still depressed?”

“I already get used to it. Since I contracted my spirit, I lost few of my friends but it’s not like they are distancing themselves because they hate me – or does that sound like I’m acting tough?”

“With your contracted spirit, you are inevitably left out in this school. To some extent, it is not unusual to get close to someone you will fight in a mock battle, or to get close to someone with the same contracted spirit as you. That’s not impossible.”

Frankly speaking, I’d rather do something refreshing. If you cannot draw elemental spirits, there is no choice but to live as a flop in this academy.

No matter how excellent your grade is, it is not evaluated. In the end, one would only be categorized by the lineage of their contracted spirits. I was even treated like a roadside grass by my classmates. I’m so used to the current situation and as a plant spirit user, I don’t need to indulge in self-mockery.

“But if this country weren’t surrounded on all sides by an enemy nation, it might be possible to focus not only on the lines of military use but also on the spirits of you, Leslie, and Sven. Is what I think.”

“… I know that the history of this country is accompanied by war. Alumni of the academy have also been thrown into the front lines and are achieving results. In the Eastern Front, it is possible to push back the border line after a long time.”

I think it’s ironic. There can be no enemies in this country for the next 100 years – my stepsister, who was a member of the Southern Front of the military, understands the current situation much better than I am.

My stepsister has a contract with a spirit called ‘Tempest’, which is one of the highest spirits in the world, has the power to stop the army of 1,000 people. I’ve never seen her on the battlefield, but I heard rumors that even the male knights of the battle-hardened men were afraid of her and followed her commands.

Why was she able to leave the front line and move to the Silvana Magic Academy? It was because of her achievement that she entered into a cease-fire agreement with a southern enemy.

The military magician can return to the office by living and returning from the front. She will return to the army if the ceasefire agreement is broken, otherwise she will not be forced to join another front.

“My friend who is coming from the Eastern Front will be able to come back safely if things go as is. I was hoping to let you two meet but…”

“Nee-san, what is the errand that you called me here for? The way I see it, I think I’ll be leaving the school…”

I did say so because scouts for graduate students from the outside are mostly communicated by the headmaster.

When one door is shut, another door is open. I expected that already – apparently this would be those too good to be true offers.

With a mysterious face, my stepsister handed me a paper that was on the desk.

“This…  isn’t this a military convocation order?… –No. It’s from the royal family, an imperial decree…?”

“Yeah. Congratulations, Glass. You have been qualified to the last seat of the Court Magician, with special exception.”

“Me?… a court magician…?”

Indeed, it was a blue sky.

Since Leslie was also called, I expected it would just be the usual call for status updates – I can’t even think that I, who cannot participate in mock battles, will be chosen as a court magician.

I knew that it wasn’t a good story simply by looking at Millenia-nee’s face. It was something, such as a grim resolve. Seriously, I can’t just avert my eyes.

“You always have high classroom grades, magic theory, spiritual architecture, science, natural sciences, political science, commerce even pharmacy. Almost all subjects were marked ‘Excellence’.”

Since there are only three types of evaluation at the magic school, excellent, good and bad. Even if it is said to be good, it will be so if you get a decent score. Certainly, no student will take credit for as many subjects as I do.

However, since there is no place to show the skill of spirit magic, the skill is treated as zero or no evaluation. If I put a total of 100 points in both practical skill and classroom learning, I will get only 50 points no matter how hard I try, and I will be below the average rank.

As a result, even if one submits an application, he could not take the examination of the court magician. It is only a miracle that I was exempted from the exam and selected as a court magician.

–Or are you involved in some kind of plot?

If that is the case, I can only agree that this was not some kind of blessing.

“And not only good grades, but you’ve also been qualified as a Spirit Doctor this year.”

“Ha – Yes, Sorry, if I could only ask your approval afterwards”

“To some extent, I get a report from my secretary to understand what kind of activity you are doing at the school.  I’m rather happy that you’re trying to find a path to independence and make utmost effort.”

Arms crossed, my older stepsister looked at me with kind eyes that is making me so embarrassed. As always, she treated me as a child – I’m an adult and I even struggle to divert my attention from that big breast on her arms!


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


1 thought on “Chapter 3: Royal Imperial Decree”

  1. Saying “I’m an adult” sounds like a kid wanted to grow up already~
    No need to rush, you’ll be ‘forced’ to become an adult, kid~

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.