Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 2: Message

Anyway, only me and my acquaintance can eat the fruit of the elder at this time. Even if it’s useless in battle, it’s still a blessing in everyday life.

“I don’t really like fig tree fruits… but I’m glad Glass-nii gave me this.”

With a cup, her small mouth took a bite, Leslie’s white throat moves as she swallows the pulp.

She looks healthy today, and I’m worried about that because I was busy looking for another profession while I was on the exam for a Court Magician.

That is the ‘Spirit Doctor’. In the path of the Spirit Magician, very few choose a doctor because the reward for medical treatment is very low compared to the reward for a combat magician.

Attacks are the greatest defense in the Kingdom’s view. However, I also think that Spirit Doctors, which is regarded as a lesser profession, is an important job that is sometimes needed.

Most of all, it is essential that a court magician be a combat magician, so becoming a Spirit Doctor was synonymous with giving up the path to a court magician.

“…What happened? Did you fight with Sven?”

“No, that’s not the case. Sven is running around to get a job, so we can’t meet easily.”

“Fu-n”

Leslie says it doesn’t look very impressive. Sven is my roommate, and he is one of the guys who, like us, have pulled an unlucky spirit.

About five out of every 100 people draw unlucky spirits, and then they cannot participate in combat exercise classes at all. The combat exercises are conducted on the assumption that the spirit magic of the earth, water, fire, wind elements will be used, so other spirits cannot participate.

A mock battle is still taking place at the training ground, but we can’t go there. So Leslie, who was three years younger, was also free to come here. Originally, I was in my class, but because there were no other students, I became a self-study student. Although I and Sven are in the same situation, we are of different tracks.

“The air spirit that Leslie contracted could be used like the wind spirits.”

“Wind is ‘wind’, air is ‘air’. Not the same.”

I know Leslie’s magic can be used in battle. It can be very scary depending on how you use it because you can interfere with the spirits that reside in the ‘air’ – which is everywhere.

For example, what happens if the oxygen contained in the air is locally concentrated? On the contrary, if you lose oxygen – it’s a little radical idea, but it should have great potential, but it is not evaluated by the standards of the Academy.

That is because the teachers of the school have contracted with one of the elemental spirits of the earth, water, fire and wind. Other spirits are “evil ways” for teachers.

Though Leslie said that she wanted to see me pull a flop, she also ended up doing the same thing but she didn’t seem too depressed about it.

Air spirits probably go hand in hand with plant spirits. But if I said that, it would seem to be an invitation from me to do joint research with her, so I couldn’t say anything.

Magical collaborators often get married. It is said that the users of spirits of the same system are compatible with each other. Although it is said that similar things do not work well, it is a different story about spirits.

Leslie lent me a handkerchief when I finished eating the fruits and vegetables. I wiped my hands and ask her.

“So what did you do today Leslie?”

“I went to the headmaster’s office and I was told to call Glass-nii.”

“The headmaster?… Leslie, what did she say?”

Leslie tried to say something but then she just placed an index finger on her lips.

“I understand. It’s a secret right? I’ll go then.”

“……Sorry”

“Don’t apologize. If it’s a call from the headmaster, it’s better to tell me directly.”

That she apologizes in this way means that the Headmaster’s talk is not easy to listen to.

“Well then, I’ll go ahead. Leslie, thank you for coming.”

“Yeah. Glass-nii, see you tomorrow.”

Separated from Leslie, I entered the school building and headed for the headmaster’s office. Along the way, I suddenly realized. Leslie said ‘See you tomorrow’, although there is chance of seeing her again today. This somehow caught my attention.

In any case, I will understand everything once I talked to the headmaster. I speed up my pace while thinking of the headmaster who I would see for the first time after a while.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


1 thought on “Chapter 2: Message”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.