Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 1: Unlucky Spirit Users

At Silvana Magic Academy, all students must find another job by the age of 20 and voluntarily leave the school unless they become assistants or other staff members of the school.

Graduation ceremonies at other schools do not exist at this institution. After the “Spirit Selection Ceremony” is completed, the students would receive more and more scouts and exit, so the opportunity to get together with all the classes is gone.

Five years from receiving the “spirit of choice” at the age of 15 to the age of 20. The time given is sufficient for ordinary students, but students who have pulled out flop will not be able to get a job by being scouted if they do it normally.

Elemental spirit users can be classified as a force prepared for military use, and since the absolute number of magicians is small, they are sought after in all directions.

The assessment of which spirits are superior and which are inferior, which is derived from the history of 200 years at the institute, cannot be easily overturned.

I thought I first had a contract with a “grass” spirit, but it was exactly a “plant spirit”. From the time I signed the contract, I could hear the grass and I could talk to the trees. However, hearing those voices is normal, but when the flowers on the side of the road are likely to be stepped on by people, they are seeking help, with that, they can’t be left alone.

Today I was walking in the courtyard of the school listening to the voices of plants.

The spirits of a large tree, who can be said to be the master of the courtyard, are planted from the beginning of this school – like an elder. When I get near, it shakes the branches slightly and greets me.

“Gee, you got better than yesterday. Tell me if there are too many branches and I’ll give you a haircut.”

Cutting off branches would be what we would normally call pruning, but since I was able to talk to trees, I began to see them like living things. Therefore, it is ‘haircut’.

“Sorry Glass-kun. We can’t cut the branches ourselves, so we’ll ask you again if it gets too heavy. I can only thank you like this, but will you please?”

“I’m doing it because I want to do it, so no need to say thank you…”

“Really, I want to thank you more, so here you go.”

Until a while ago, the elder had become too weak because the branches were too heavy and the trunk was overloaded. None of the academy came up with the idea that the branches are spreading and the trees are weakened by the weight.

I also thought that the branch was splendid, and I thought it could not be helped because it died when it died. Being able to talk to the spirits of plants has changed my perception significantly –plants live by thinking about various things, and when they aren’t in good shape, they sometimes get sick.

This elder is a “Fig” tree, and although the fruit is not growing this season, it has matured two for me and dropped it from the branch.

“Thank you. If you make fruit in that way, it might put a strain on your body.”

“There is nothing like that. Originally, the magical institute’s soil contained more magical power than other lands. The exhausted power could be sucked up again from the soil.”

It may be that the elder can do this because he is a spirit that has lived for a long time.I lifted the fruit and thanked him again. With a promise that I would come again, I then headed to the resting place in the courtyard nearby.

I love such a scenic view from here. Maybe that’s one of the reasons why I was chosen as a plant spirit. I truly like to spend time in nature and I find it a pleasure to eat while watching the trees. That’s why I don’t have to worry about how Professor Hendrick and other teachers treat me.

“The dream of a court magician has been virtually cut off. If you have a track record in other jobs, it may not be impossible.”

Those words obviously hold double sided meaning…

I have been applying for the exam of a court magician for two years, but I have been dropped just because I was a flop. Since I can’t take classes with other students, I have more time to study classroom lectures, so the score from the other examinees should be above the average.

It can’t be helped if it’s the norm here.

I sat on the wooden chair at the resting place, spread the cloth on the table, and put the two fruits on it.

“Glass-nii~ I knew you were here after all!”

“Oh, Leslie. The elder gave me some fruit. It looks really good.”

It is said that the juice of fruits from fig trees could easily give you rashes, but the condition of the fruits changes depending on the relationship with plants. The more familiar it is, the sweeter the fruit, the more toxic ingredients may disappear, or the stronger it may be depending on the application.

The fruits that the elder gives are not ordinary fig tree fruits, and the juice does not irritate the skin. I can’t believe it when someone tells me that it can’t happen that way. For me, even poisonous plants can be eliminated through dialogue.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


1 thought on “Chapter 1: Unlucky Spirit Users”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.