Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Prologue (2): My Contracted Spirit

“—Glass-kun, are you all right? Glass-kun!”

When I heard Professor Hendrick’s voice and returned to my senses, I was held and supported on both sides by Leslie and another person.

“I-I’m sorry, I’m okay. I just spaced out for a moment.”

“Oh- It’s something that happens a lot when making a contract. If your fine, there’s no need to apologize to me.”

Professor Hendrick’s current attitude was different from his normal description. Professor Hendrick was said to be stone-headed and strict but right now, this teacher is kind.

Nonot really. Right now, the expression in his eyes…

“… People can’t choose spirits. No matter how hard you study, they won’t answer you. It’s not your fault.”

I could understand immediately how Professor Hendrick felt about me – it was sympathy.

Heh… There was no other reason than me getting a flop!

“I know from your homeroom teacher what your old goals are. I know that, even if the road is closed, it doesn’t end there. As an educator, we are your path. We will seek out together.”

He then leaves the room. Another student goes out and the remaining one –Leslie, also moved towards the door. As she passed by me, she stopped.

With a very weak voice she spoke, “I-I might also pull out the same thing three years later. At that time, you can scold me as much as you want…”

She did say earlier that she wanted to see me pull out a flop but when I actually pull it out, she was now shrinking as she thought it’s her fault.

When I see her like that, I don’t feel like getting depressed.

“If it’s Leslie, you’ll surely get a jackpot!”

Standing up, I smiled. “You know even though it’s a flop, I’m glad I got a contract. Now I’m a magician too.”

Leslie with her eyes turned a little reddish was now troubled to face me. Really, if you’re this kind-hearted, you shouldn’t have said something so mischievous for you not to feel distressed.

However, it was not surprising that she was careful. I’m trying to behave comfortably, but in fact, as a magician – I’m off course.

Most of the nearly 1,000 students of the Magic Academy selected one of the elements of the earth, water, fire, wind. Although there are differences between upper spirits and lower spirits, they are certified as “combat magicians” who can have a role in military fields etc. to be done.

Apparently, I wasn’t one of them. Above all, I seemed to have pulled out the worst out of all the flops, where even Professor Hendrick lost interest on the spot.

Leslie should not feel responsible though. Usually as thanks for attending the ceremony, one needs to pay for it. In fact, the other one, except for Leslie, should get the part-time fee I paid through my teacher.

“Anyway, thank you for helping me out. I’ll treat you to some good food next time.”

“Uhm yeah… Glass-nii’s home cooking is good. I haven’t eaten it for a while.”

Even though I was depressed, I said something like that. My cooking is not a big deal, but I’m pretty confident in making something that can be eaten in its own way with ready-made ingredients.

“I think it’s better to eat out but if Leslie says so, I’ll make sure to make it as it has been a while.”

“Really? I just tried to say it. I’m glad I went to your ceremony.”

Fiddling her hair, Leslie smiled then left the ritual room.

“…In the end, I couldn’t show you a cool part…”

I murmured softly, being alone, I suddenly looked at my feet.

The power of the spirits dwelling on me has spread, and the magic circle has changed. A fire spirit produces flames, and a water spirit springs water –not both. Grass is growing along the shape of the magic circle.

Where was the grass coming from? This was certainly a stone floor… could this be…

It’s certainly the power of the spirit. In other words, my spirit wasn’t the elemental spirit I was hoping for – apparently it was the spirit around “grass”.

◆ ◇ ◆

Leslie also received a ritual three years later at the age of fifteen, and although it is a system different from mine, it was a spirit that is said to be flop.

Since she attended my ceremony I was also told to do the same. But since I would be confirming the ‘spirit mark’ on Leslie’s body – I couldn’t!

The main reason is that though she was still innocent at the age of twelve, by the time she was fifteen, she had grown far beyond my imagination.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


2 thoughts on “Prologue (2): My Contracted Spirit”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.