Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 11: The Fortress

A walled fort built inside the bordering canal come into view –the Isle Rose Fortress.

There is a moat around the fort with water drawn from the canal. I can imagine a scene in which several windows for archers were made on the wall inside the moat, and when an enemy soldier tried to cross the moat, arrows rain down.

So this is the front line – this place gives off that feeling.

The bridge across the moat can only be reached from the main gate on the east side. Perhaps since our party can be seen by the soldiers at the fort, a gate made of logs was raised, and then the drawbridge was lowered down for us to pass.

When we crossed the bridge, there is a courtyard allocated where one can park a carriage. When we finally get off, the uncle took the fare and set out again.

Astina-denka’s group also disembarked and entered the fort. For the first time, Raquel-san took off the iron helmet that covered her face –her greenish brunette hair flowed out.

I couldn’t imagine it before as she’s driving a giant horse and controlling the spear, but from her current appearance, I felt a calm and refreshing impression. The line is thinner than I imagined.

Well… usually you can’t wear that heavy armor and swing a spear taller than you. She should be a [Magic warrior].

Magic Warriors are humans who have magical talents yet do not learn magic. They use their magical powers to strengthen their physical abilities instead.

Once you become a magic warrior, you cannot change your path to the road of a magician. Similarly, a magician can’t be a magic warrior – I wonder if Raquel-san became a magic warrior as she didn’t dare to learn magic.

In that case, for a well-tempered body, it is only convincing that one would lose the femininity and have a muscular, well-trained body. Yet although she is trained –her muscles are not enlarged and her neck is even slender.

Raquel-san walks over after she left her spear to her subordinate. It wasn’t for me –they continued to welcome the troops who entered the castle gate. One knight is coming in, riding a beautiful horse with a trident spear.

It’s brave to put on a crown of bluish short hair, but there’s still a little childishness in the features and gestures –I think it’s about the same as Mina who I met previously.

“I’m back. Ara- Captain Raquel, is that the new military doctor?”

“Yes. Don’t scare him too much.”

“What are you talking about? Since a doctor came here, our work would be better.”

“…I will tell Astina-sama. Glass, the discussion for the military doctor will be in the evening. Presha, if you don’t bring him safely, you’ll be punished.”

“I understand. If he’s suitable enough for the job, we will be having a long relationship right?”

A woman called Presha faces me. Even though she has a friendly smile, she feels more powerful than the woman named Dite or Captain Raquel.

“I’m Presha, I’m the attack captain here. Today I have different assignment from Captain Raquel – that is to keep the security in the territory… but the criminals I caught are tight-lipped. I have to make them cough up the information from now on.”

“I’m Glass Weed… by “coughing up information” you mean…”

Needless to ask, as if saying that Presha-san smiled yet her eyes aren’t laughing at all.

“That’s right its torture. I don’t want to go overboard and completely silence them so it would be helpful if a doctor came with me. This will be heavy for your first job, but you’ll do it, right?”

It wasn’t a question, it was an order. Astina-denka, Captain Raquel, and Dite-san are all acknowledging Presha’s actions.

“Glass-sama, for such an order…”

Lendl-san also thinks that the current atmosphere is strange and was worried for me. I am a military doctor yet I was asked to attend torture. For starter, I was going to do this job – a job to afflict and hunt down people who no one would want.

However, it is the same for Presha-san who’s going to do it. Rather, I even respect her, who has been carrying the necessary evil if she had been in charge of torture all the time.

The people of the kingdom have been protected without exception by the Knights, who are fighting at the border and keeping security.

“…This is another important job for the Knights. I will be there too.”

“Good. It looks like you’re pretty courageous. I don’t hate those with backbone.”

Presha’s men carry the prisoners into the fort. Then she urged me to follow and started walking.

“Lendle-san don’t worry. I’m not overwhelmed by the order.”

“Yes… If Glass-sama says so…”

I don’t know how torture in the Knights is always done – but since I’m a military doctor, to keep prisoners from dying, I’ll suggest my own way. There is no need for tragic torture just to get information.

I hope Presha-san will understand it. Even though I’m a newcomer, I’m determined to give out my opinion to the attack captain – even if I need to prepare for my own death.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.