Homeless Tensei: Isekai De Jiyuu Sugiru Majutsu Jisoku Seikatsu

Chapter 9: Seems like I can do something like Transfer

When I arrived at the third miniature garden, the same forest as before is spreading. According to the map, there seems to be something here, but I can’t understand what’s here because I can’t read the letters.

As soon as I go further, I soon find something unusual.

Hundreds of mushrooms grow on the trunk of a dead tree that has fallen to the ground. It looks like brown mushrooms, but I can see that some have grown into fairly large ones.

Again, I feel doubtful.

As for the environment where microorganisms cannot reproduce, how can mold and moss reproduce?

Mushrooms are a type of mold and are made up of small pieces called mycelium. I think it violates the rules of the dungeon that I thought of.

“Can I say that plants are an exception?”

Nonetheless, I try to determine whether or not I can eat the mushrooms. Actually, it doesn’t matter as long as it becomes food.

【Appraisal Result: Cure Mushroom: A mushroom that grows naturally on dead trees. The healing effect is excellent, and if it is a minor injury, it will heal in a few seconds. It is known for being very delicious, and depending on the size it can be traded at high prices. Another name is Life Extending Mushrooms】

I have my rucksack taken out, I harvest the cure mushroom until my rucksack’s bulging. If I have such a useful mushroom, why not pick it up? And if it sells at a high price, it could be used for negotiations when meeting people. I’m happy when I find a good place.

Since then, I encounter Kobolds and big lizards, but I cut everything down and continue on.

Many mushrooms seem to grow naturally in this miniature garden, and in addition to Cure Mushroom, I’m able to harvest many mushrooms such as shitake mushrooms (shiitake mushrooms) and maitake mushrooms (Maitake mushroom). (TLYN Note: maitake written in katakanaマイターケ vs. kanji舞茸)

However, one question still remains.

In the Appraisal, “Mithril Sword” is displayed, while vegetables and mushrooms are not displayed in its equivalent Earth name. I think of it and made a hypothesis. The sword has the same recognition on earth. On the other hand, vegetables and mushrooms are just similar in appearance, but has high possibility of being another thing.

Hasai, who I think as chinese cabbage, is not really noted as chinese cabbage, the perceptions cannot be the same. I think that the appraisal is displayed with subtle difference.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

Un, it wasn’t a big deal when I realized it. I move on to the next miniature garden. According to the map, the 21st floor consists of four miniature gardens. So the next miniature garden is also the last one. As I expected, I once again arrive at a forest when I exited the passage. While paying attention to monsters, I proceed to the center of the miniature garden.

The map had a note in the center of the garden.

I am expecting that there would be good things like vegetable gardens and balm trees, but the thing that appeared before me is beyond my expectation. A round stage with a diameter of about 10 meters made of white stone is lined with pillars like a Greek temple. At the center was a black stone plate.

“A building? Stone monument? W-What is this…..”

As I approach the stage, I gently put my foot on it. There is no particular change, so I step inside the structure, I walk to the stone slab I am curious about.

“I don’t know what’s written…”

On the black stone plate, the letters were engraved in about three lines. Is it the grave of the former resident? However, it may be rude because I do not know if I he is really dead or not.

I touch the stone plate gently then words came to my mind.

【Tanaka-sama cannot be moved because there is no transfer destination at the moment. Please go to the ground once or find some transfer point.】

“Transfer point? What is that?”

I touch the stone plate again, but the same word is displayed and I’m struck with a NO. I can judge from the words that I can move from here, but for that, I need to go to the ground or go find some transfer point.

Speaking of which, I remember having moved magically when playing famous RPG games. With a swish, I fly to a town I’ve been to. I think it’s the same as that. I’m sure it is!

I get excited and took a deep breath.

“Once I can use this, I’m sure I’ll be able to come back to the hideout right away. I found a good one. Long live dungeon!.”

I make a small leap and expresses my joy.

“Ah- right!, I’ll also look at the floor below.”

I muttered out and I begin to explore the miniature garden, but for some reason I can’t find the stairs –even though the map certainly has 22nd floor. I tilted my head. Looking at the map many times reveals that there are no stairs in the 21st floor. However, the map shows up to thirty levels. It’s strange.

When I check the nineteenth floor, I find out the reason and everything is now clear. There are writing on some part of the wall in the nineteenth floor and there is a room in the back where I met the Orc. The place I live in is a hidden area. No wonder I didn’t meet any person.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

“It’s too early to get depressed. With my current strength, I might be able to conquer the nineteenth floor. I should be able to win against the brown wolves now.”

As I understand that, I can’t stay calm. I quickly return the way I came in and go back to the hideout.

 ◆◇◆

“Erna, don’t lose the luggage okay? I’m hiring you for that purpose.”

 “I-I know.”

I illuminate the surroundings with light magic and reply to my companions. On my back is a rucksack filled to the brim and a heavy iron sword purchased for self-defense is on my waist.

I’m Erna Frederia, 19 years old. I’m a young elf. My parents are mages, super-famous people who are well-known not only in the elf country but also in other countries. They tend to think that as their daughter, I also inherited that talent, but I can affirm that it is not the case.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

There seems to be a lot of magical power in me, but for some reason I can only use it at the degree of a beginner level. Even the attribute has two attributes, fire and light, but I have to say, it’s nothing but an unused treasure.

My fellow mages remembers the intermediate and advanced levels and got a job at an aristocratic mansion or royal palace. Not only that, they have good-looking boyfriend and ridicules me as I’m single. If I tried to use the advanced magic of fire, I would burn everything. I had no job, so I became an adventurer like the rest.

Adventurers basically fight against demon beasts and monsters to make a living, but the magic stones that are sometimes obtained are also used as a source of income. After that, I usually spend my life on quests requested by the guild. But the case is a bit different now because there is a dungeon near the town where I live.

Dungeon exists all over the world, it’s a nest of ferocious magical beasts and monsters. It is famous for its abundant collection of magic stones and minerals and the occasional unexpected treasure.

Not only that. Many researchers and interested people want to know the dungeon simply because they don’t know who created it, for what purpose and when. So those who reach the bottom are promised with honor and money for giving information to scholars.

Having reached the bottom of the dungeon is not without exception. Some dungeons have already been traversed, and nowadays there is a competition over who goes through which dungeon first.

The worst dungeon among them is said to be “Mohed’s Great Dungeon” located here. The reason is that the monsters inside are too strong.

Even though it is only one layer, it’s incredibly wide, the magical beasts and monsters that emerge are also powerful. It is famous for being the labyrinth that is the most difficult to traverse, as the dungeon around here is so vague.

It was after coming to Mohed’s Great Dungeon that I realized that my fellow adventurer party are people that confused courage with recklessness. I can’t use much magic, so I’m just carrying luggage, but when I look at it from the side, the more scared they become, the more risk they choose, and the more I want to cry. I don’t want to die yet.

 “Hey, isn’t it suspicious around here?”

“”Yeah, there seem to be many missing people in the nineteenth floor, and maybe a very dangerous magical beast or monster is lurking.”

A male adventurer and a female mage are having a conversation. This is a party of five people including me. I mean, I’m not an official companion. It’s the first time I signed a contract as a baggage carrier.

I’m an elf, so I’m more powerful and quicker than a human female, and I can use even a little magic, so looking at it I’m a bit useful. And lastly, I have exceptional hearing.

This party is an intermediate adventurer, and since it is already nineteen levels, I can see their high level ability. At the same time, my fear develops. If this four people dies, I cannot live.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

So…. let’s go home today? That’s what I’m asking in my mind, I also have a very bad feeling…

“Okay, so today we’ll camp after going to the 20th floor.”

“Eh!? But the rucksack’s already full…”

I protest to the party leader’s proposal.

“You just have to carry your luggage silently. Isn’t there still an empty rucksack? I can only see two or three rucksacks on your back. Well, if you’re going to be my woman, we can go back.”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

The man who’s the leader looks at me with a grinning face. Every time there is something to discuss, I feel nauseous because he wants me to be his woman.

From the beginning, I didn’t like the leader, I even thought of refusing to carry their luggage but I thought that it might be okay since there is a woman in the group, it was my mistake accepting the contract.

The mage woman doesn’t mind me whatever I do, while the other two men shows no interest in me and flirting with each other.

Ah, un… its a thing between men. (TLYN: ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) )

Anyway, I ignore the leader who’s showing his liking to me.  I’m fed up with the fact that the leader is urging me to become his woman. I prefer grown-up and calm person than this greedy man, so I’m not interested in him. I refuse!

So I reply to the leader as usual.

“We have to get to know each other a little more, I can’t date you… I’m sorry”

“Kuh… well, it’s okay. You’ll soon be in love with my coolness.”

I’m sure the leader is a non-popular person. I guessed it with woman’s instinct.

“Hey! Don’t argue about the luggage, hold your sword! An enemy’s coming!”

As the mage woman holds her cane, a giant appears slowly from the corner of the passage. Sloppy flabby belly with brown skin… Sharp canines are protruding from the mouth to the nose resembling a pig’s snout. The supposed to be white part of the eye is yellowish, and the gaze that looks at us feel likes a starving beast.

It’s an orc! I trembled all over.

“This is bad! Why is there an orc in such a place?”

“Rather than that, attack! Buy time for me, I’ll be shooting magic!”

I hid myself in the corner, away from the four. Orcs are feared from their gigantic figure. The fat is thick and it is difficult to attack, and once you’re taken its hit, the strength is so strong that you cannot win. The scariest part is that it likes to eat human women.

Sometimes woman are committed to give birth to its children, it is one of the magical beasts that women hates the most. Though I am truly scared in my heart, but I am still supporting the four people.

I dont want to die yet and I cant go to heaven as a virgin!

I’m planning to marry a nice man, build a warm family and have two cute children. So I want the four of them to win.

“Kyahhhhhhhhhhhhh!”

When I heard the scream, I peek through the wall, the orc gripped the leader and rip him apart. The allies wield their swords hard, but they couldn’t even cut the orc’s body.

“Eat this! Rock Bullet!”

The middle-class earth magic released by the mage flies a rock about 1 m. When the rock hit the orc directly, it’s blown off a few meters. With the impact of the magical attack, the leader is freed from the orcs grasp but his blood just spreads on the floor.

He is already dead.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

“Gugaaaaahhhh!”

When the orc stood up, it scream madly. It start running, grab another male adventurer and tear him off. The mage stands by the rain of blood and the organs.

“R-Run away now! Run away quickly!”

When I call on the Mage, she finally begins to escape. But it is already too late. Hitting and killing another male adventurer, the orc quickly catch the Mage who start to move. The orc begin laughing when the Mage is in his hand.

I’m so scared that I leave the luggage behind and run away. I could judge that it’s dangerous being in here, but there is no way for me to live wherever I may go.

This is the 19th floor of the Mohed’s Great Dungeon. The possibility of returning to the ground on my own is near zero.

“I-I’m too tired……”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

I sat on the floor and leaned my back against the wall. Mother and father appeared in the back of my mind and my tears spill out.

Please forgive me for the misfortune I give you. Gradually, I fell asleep and closed my eyelids.Translated by Yume Neiji

If possible, I want to be killed while sleeping. After that last wish come to mind, my consciousness went into darkness.Please read at my site.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


4 thoughts on “Chapter 9: Seems like I can do something like Transfer”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.