Homeless Tensei: Isekai De Jiyuu Sugiru Majutsu Jisoku Seikatsu

Chapter 8: I found something amazing

When I arrive at the disposal site, I start collecting some of the most notable things from the corpses. I feel that weapons and armor will be money later on. And of course, the mysterious jewel. What’s interesting is that most people carry this red gems.

I think it is used as a tool for setting fire, but I’m not sure how to use it.

Can it be used without a magic circle?

I climb up on the corpses, my eyes fixed to the ceiling. As I thought, there is a thorn inside the hole in the ceiling, and a black cloth is caught there. I think it’s a kind of clothes guessing from its shape, but I can’t judge what it really looks like from this distance.

Un, I’m curious after all.

I can’t truly judge as it’s too far from here, it might be better to drop it and see it up close. I climb to the top of the mountain of corpses and took out the bow on my back. When I pull the string, a wind arrow appears and hits the black cloth exactly as I intended.

―But the arrow disappeared.

“Ah?… I hit it right?”

I shoot the arrow again, but when it hits the black cloth, the arrow disappears. I ponder at the mysterious event.

“Is the magic disabled….?”

I can’t believe what I came up with. To drop the cloth, I start throwing empty bottles on it.

“Fall! Fall!”

Is the black cloth that thick?, the bottle bounces off and it would not fall. This time I decided to throw a small shield. I threw it about three times and finally hit it. The black cloth slips off slightly from the thorns.

A little more.

“Mu…I’ll attack with all my might. Take thiiiiss!”

After spinning and throwing the shield like a Frisbee, the black cloth finally fell into my hands.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com). Please read at my site

“What the… robe, huh. I know it will be like this.”

The cloth turns out to be a robe. It is made of jet black cloth and feels very comfortable to touch. At a glance, it’s a high-grade material, but I didn’t think it would be useful in fighting the variant –I thought so, but my intuition whispers that this is a good thing.

For the time being, I decided to try Appraisal on it.

【Appraisal Failure: ****: ********】

I was a little surprised.

Like the cane in the hideout, this robe doesn’t seem to be identifiable at this time. I think I should put the robe on first.

【The former owner is already dead. Do you want to own this robe? YES / NO】

Words popped inside my head and I’m urged to choose YES or NO. This was my first time experiencing this. Obviously, it’s not a normal robe.

Nervously, I choose YES.

Curiosity outweighed my fear. At that moment, a wave of light runs through the robe. I may have obtained something outrageous!

“Well anyway, let’s end today’s garbage looting here…”

I pack the collected items in my backpack and return to the hideout.

 ◆◇◆

“I should also use magic.”

I nodded at the gems placed on the table.

The gems are in red, blue, yellow, green and orange, there are five colors and considering the gems on the stove, they should be used as tools.

However, although I have obtained rings and necklaces, I can see that they are a little different from those gems. At first glance, the red gem looks just like ruby, but when I look inside, the particles of light are shining. Such a thing cannot be a jewel.

No evidence of light particles was found on precious metal gem. If so, these can be judged as special stones that are very similar to gems.

I use a pen to copy the magic circle drawn on the stove onto paper. The pen, ink, and paper are in this hideout, so I use them. The former resident may have liked writing.

Next, I placed a yellow stone in the center of the magic circle and held my palm up.

Come on, my magical power. Mhmmmm.

…………

There is no reaction. I thought that if the stone is placed on the magic circle, it would activate but… Am I missing something?

As I think about it and touched the magic circle, the yellow stone emitted electricity.

“Is it activated by touching the magic circle? Is my finger used as the activation key?”

I touch it again, electricity is really emitting from the stone. Recalling how the stove works, I did press something like a button to light the fire. If so, it’s better to assume that some power is flowing from the button that activates the magic circle. I decided to call the mysterious power “magical power”.

By the way, the next question is that no magic-like thing has been found in the collected items in the backpack. I think a magic circle is needed to activate the stones, but that assumption is still doubtful.

Just because I cannot use it as such didn’t mean it’s the case. It would make more sense to think that the power of stone could be used in this world even without using magic circles. This may be related to the fact that my attribute is “No Attribute”.

Going back to the topic, I wonder if these stones could be useful in fighting the variant. Fire and electricity are quite effective in attacking. My chance of winning increases if I can attack before it uses magic.

From there, I decided to embed a yellow stone in the handle of the sword. The handle of the Mithril sword has a round hole, which could be a powerful weapon if fitted with the stone. When I hit the stone with a hard object, it suddenly breaks.

When the size is set to a suitable size, I fit it into the handle of the sword and draw a magic circle around it. It’s a wooden handle, so all I have to do is engrave it with a knife. Five hours had passed by the time the handmade magic sword is finally completed.

“Will it work? Should I try if it works?”

I hold the sword and touch the magic circle with my fingers.

Bzzzzzzzzzzzzt, electricity is emitting from the blade, and a unique sound is created in the room. As long as I keep touching the magic circle, the electricity seems to last, so it should be usable for continuous attacks.

“With this, it looks like I can have my revenge, Kukuku.”

I grasp the sword and grin.

 ◆◇◆

“Now then, it’s about time to eat some balm fruits.”

Arriving at the first miniature garden, I take out the fruits that look just like oranges from the backpack.

I think I can win even if I’m not the current me but pride is dangerous –that has led to the lack of caution in the last battle. While chewing on the balm fruit, I obtain super-sense.

“Hmm… My senses seem to be sharper than yesterday… I can even hear the sound of the adjacent garden.”

It seems that the changes on my body were not only on the muscles side but the five senses have been raised too. This should increase my winning rate.

Upon arriving at the second miniature garden, I immediately pulled out my sword. There is only one but something different is aiming for me.

“Grrrrrrr…”

What emerged from the forest is the tiger that I had defeated previously. It’s the perfect partner to see how much I grew up.

Immediately after activating Pressure Point skill, four red dots were displayed on the tiger. Last time it was around the abdomen and buttocks, but in addition to that, dots appeared at the base of the back and front legs.

Status
Name:  Shinichi Tanaka
Age:  17 years old (56 years old)
Race:  Homeless
Occupation:  Homeless
Magic attribute:  No Attribute
Magic:  None
Skills: Appraisal (Intermediate), Pressure Point (Intermediate) ↑, Swordsmanship (Beginner), Archery (Beginner)

My Pressure Points skill has risen to the intermediate level. I regret it, I should have checked my status properly. However, if the intermediate level has four red dots, I wonder what will happen to the advanced level.

Likewise, will there be six red dots?

“Gauuun!”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com). Please read at my site

The frightening tiger jumps in. The movement is slow –like it’s in a slow motion, it seems that I can defeat it without aiming for the red dot. I dodge the attack and slice the sword to the tiger’s neck.

“-uuuun!?”

After the slow motion was over, the beheaded tiger rotated once then fall to the ground. The frightening tiger was dealt in one blow.

I get closer and deal one final blow, I decided to return to the first garden. I want to defeat the variant quickly, but that is not a reason to miss the tiger’s flesh. When I arrive at the garden where the vegetable garden is located, I begin to dismantle it. Since it is second time, I am able to remove the fur neatly with good workmanship.

The blue and black stripes are of a nice shade. I cut the meat into pieces and wrap each in a large leaf. By the way, the tiger on earth doesn’t look so good but this blue tiger is different. It’s close to beef and it’s super delicious.

So unlike with the Kobold yesterday, I didn’t feel like leaving it. The rest will not rot. The fact that it does not spoil means that raw meat can be stored. Then it is possible to make preserved meat. I’m really looking forward to it.

After dismembering, I pack the meat in the backpack and set off once more. When I returned to the second miniature garden, I rush forward without being nervous in the forest.

For some reason, the beasts in the miniature garden go away from me like that of a spider’s offspring scattering.

The Kobold’s case yesterday may have changed the sort of hierarchy in this miniature garden. Upon arriving at the center of the miniature garden, with the same appearance as yesterday, the balm stood towering.

I climb immediately and harvest few balm fruits. I can’t let go of such a good fruit. I’m now addicted to this balm fruit.

“Gauuuuuurrrrrr!”

When I looked for the sound, the variant is walking from the forest. It’s time for revenge. Immediately after jumping off the branch, I pull out my sword, I will provoke him.

“Oi Doggy, I’m a different person today! If you’re going to run away, now is your chance, what would you do?”

The variant growls loudly, it fires a fireball from its right hand.

I’ve been waiting for it so I easily avoided the fireball, the explosion digs down the ground and create a small crater. It kept shooting fireballs in a row. Perhaps it learned that I’m vulnerable to magic so the variant persistently shoots at a long distance.

If it still hits, it doesn’t make sense.

While avoiding it with quick movements, I also calculate the trajectory and the impact point of the next fireball, then gradually, I approach the variant. Once it gets within the attack range of my  sword, it’s my win.

However, I completely fall into his scheme. The number of fireballs that had been released one by one has increased to two. Although I barely avoided two, three fireballs are now fired. Avoiding it at the last minute, the next fireball had already aimed at the direction of my escape route.

Apparently, it was also reading a few steps ahead, taking into account the things I avoided. It’s checkmate! A fireball directly hits me who could not escape.

“Guaaaaa!”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com). Please read at my site.

I cried out. I thought it would explode and I’ll take damage as I did last time.

…….There is no pain.

“I-It didn’t explode?”

When I look at my body, I can’t see any marks of magical attacks. The variant also wonder on what had happened.

“Gauurrr!”

The next fireball was released when I was careless. I decided to see what would happen this time. The fireball disappeared a few cm before me.

“Ah? It disappeared?”

When I tilt my head, the variant also tilted its neck. Then I remember that I was so eager to get a black robe. It is probably because of this black robe that the fireball didn’t hit at that time. Perhaps it is a special robe with the ability to extinguish or spread magic.

Now that I know the reason, I won’t hesitate anymore. I start running with a deep smile.

The variant fires fireball many times, but it disappears just before it hits me.

Closing in on the variant, its sharp claws swing down, but I can completely see its movement. The next time it try to grab me, I touch the magic circle on the sword handle with my finger.

(Bzzzzzzzzzzzt)

The electricity burst out, the function is working without problems.

“This is my thanks for yesterday!”

I cut off the variant from its shoulder, the blade stops around its chest. However, the electric shock that emanates from the blade makes the variant convulse and paralyzes it.

Seeing an opportunity, I pull out the sword and drop a sharp slash into its neck. The head fly in the air and tumble on the ground. The body also makes a heavy thud and falls to the ground.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

“I woooooonnnn!”

I raise my hands and immerse myself in the afterglow of victory. Then I hug the balm tree.

“With this the balm tree is mine. Kufufufu, I can now harvest with peace of mind.”

The reason why I am so particular about the variant is because of this balm tree. Partly, it is also because I hate losing but ultimately, the main reason is to get this balm fruit.

As I expected, those Kobolds must have monopolized the balm tree. That’s why it got an overreaction when I came here. The Kobolds are not here either since I annihilated them.

“Well then, what should I have for lunch?”

After switching my mood, I draw a magic circle on the ground with tree branches. I placed a red stone in the center and surrounded it with ordinary stones. I put the frying pan on the stone while touching the magic circle with my finger, and the fire emitted from the red stone.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com). Please read at my site.

Since the firepower is weak, adding a few red stones increased the firepower. Putting a tiger meat in a frying pan gives off a fragrant scent. When it is cooked, it is sandwiched between the bread and I chew on it.

Since my young body has a high amount of exercise, it is easy to get hungry. I eat while putting the variant’s carcass aside, probably because I have a good appetite.

“…Hnn?”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com). Please read at my site.

When I look at the mutated corpse, it is swallowed like it sinks into the mud. I finally witnessed a decisive moment. The questions I have been thinking about since I saw the dump site can be finally solved.

The dungeon itself collects the corpses and moves them to the dump site. When it has weathered and turned into powder, it will be carried somewhere else. Even a little bit, I was able to clarify how the mechanism of the dungeon works.

“It’s as if it’s a living creature… I want to quickly meet other people, I want to hear more about this dungeon.” After finishing the meal, I pack up my backpack and left for a new miniature garden.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


2 thoughts on “Chapter 8: I found something amazing”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.