Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 32: Name

The sacred tree that brought victory to the kingdom was alienated, before this garden was abandoned, various human intentions were probably involved.

However, the magicians who have contracted with elemental spirits should not have made a course of not evaluating all the spirits other than their contracted spirits.

Currently, combat magicians make a major contribution to the army –those who gained their present power by separating the spirit of the sacred tree from the royal family. Amongst them, there are those who distort the values ​​of spirits.

Even if I complained about it, there’s no immediate reinstatement for us who contracted with the “flop” spirits. Accusation itself means rebellion against the nation –because court magicians are deeply involved in both military and political aspects of this country.

 “… When you where worshipped as god, did the royalties come here?”

「During the fertility festival, for celebrating the fruits of the crops, a shrine maiden with the King’s bloodline visits, together with the people, they sing and dance. 」

“A shrine maiden with the King’s bloodline huh… You were able to gather faith when that person was there. That’s what it is.”

People’s faith does not gather because it’s a giant tree. Rather, faith gathered because the royal family led the festival to worship the giant tree. She could then exercise her power as a god.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

「… A shrine maiden is chosen from the maiden who have the king’s bloodline. When passing oracle to the people, there are times god descend on the shrine maiden’s body. By contracting with the shrine maiden, I was able to use my divine art. People called it a “miracle”. 」

 “A miracle… then the shrine maiden was the one treated like a real god …”

「…The last shrine maiden I had a contract with was called a “Saint”, but the contract was unilaterally abandoned, I and my familiars were abandoned.」

Abandoned –the being called god, was aware of her circumstances.

I thought god as an extremely transcendental being. I freely imagined that grace and punishment of people should be done according to the will of god.

If a spirit gets divinity and is called god, then we magicians are close to god and can have a deep relationship with them.

「My life is already exhausted. Once called god, if I lose faith, I would also lose the meaning of my existence. If I try to resist my disappearance, I will undermine this world. By being alive, the earth will wither endlessly.」

If the remaining life runs out quickly, the erosion of the dead earth will stop. If she is keeping us away for that reason —the spirit of the sacred tree still hates people but she didn’t want to destroy everything.

In order to cure her, we need to regain the faith of the people as soon as possible –but I definitely need more time.

How can I have that time? Me, the people around me, the knights –given these people believes her, Will she regain her strength?

“…that royal shrine maiden. The third princess I serve is called the “Sword Princess”, a little different to the shrine maiden. But she has the king’s bloodline.”

「… Are the ones of Lezenia’s bloodline here…? 」

Lezenia –the name of the royal family that governs this country. When I said the name, there’s an emotional color that dwelled in her eyes for the first time.

The spirit of the sacred tree and the shrine maiden had a close relationship. I don’t know if I can get Astina-denka to listen–but that’s the only way.

 “I’ll plead for Her Highness the princess, to come to this place. And I will call people to increase those who believe in you even a little and those who wish for you to return back to normal. What I can do for now is just a first aid that won’t help you much… I also think that it’s awful to ask you to endure.”

「Daughter of the royal family…… She won’t come to me, the royal family has abandoned me. 」This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

“It’s possible that Astina-denka may not have been told about this place yet. Or she knew but didn’t come here, I won’t know unless I ask her.”

All I can do is just keep telling her to believe me –Raquel-san may be reluctant to tell Her Highness in some cases. Still, I have to ask. If we can save the sacred tree, everything will change – especially the order of the knights and the lives of the people who live here.

「……why……」

“E-eh……?”

「…Why are you trying to save me so much? Why can you believe that I, who’s no longer needed by anyone is still worthy….? 」

That is the place where I am now, this forest, is my starting point as a Spirit Magician and the place I was aiming for. Here is the illusion of the former sanctuary that the sacred tree shows to me. When I return to my senses, the withered giant tree may be in front of me.

 “I… I felt like I was being called to this place all the time. I wanted to get here while I’m alive but I’ve already found it.”

「….A person who communicates with the spirits of plants. It also means communicating with me. If you could hear my voice, I must apologize. 」

“There’s no need to apologize. I’ve always like plants. If I can heal you from now on, that will make me happy.”

「……I’m not the kind of existence that deserve that much. But… 」

She offered me a drop of water that had slipped down the leaves of a giant tree that had accumulated in her hand.

I thought if it is okay, but since it was recommended, I put it in my mouth –then.

 “T-this is…”

“I can only produce this much now…. The drop of the sacred tree can be produced by the power gained from the earth, faith…. and the prosperity of my familiar. Human, I thank you for your thoughts. The heart that wants to heal me is also faith.”

Wanting to heal her to the extent that I feel that it’s presumptuous of me.

The transparent drops that had accumulated a little in her palm gave me energetic energy.

“I…… I really want you to recover your energy. That way, many people will be helped from their sickness.”

「It’s not all-purpose, right now, I’m just an existence doing harm to people. I can’t restore the withered soil… but I can stop my familiar. Those born in this forest are put to sleep for now. 」This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

“Thank you very much. I think that the people who grow the fields around here can feel relieved.”

「Considering that my familiar has hit humans so far… I don’t think I can gain faith. At that time, I… 」

“Don’t tell me you want to die. But… if, there’s no other way than that, I would do as you wish.”

I can’t end it like this– But just forcing my hopes on her will make her suffer. I wish that it will work, I know too well that people’s hearts cannot be changed so easily. But, even if I alone believed, it certainly did became her power. I experienced it with this body, I can’t hesitate.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

 “…..One more thing …… can I ask now?”

“…My name is “Yuserish”. I can answer that much.” (TLYN: ユーセリシス, I’m debating whether to use Yuserish/ Euserish. You may comment the best English name for this. ^-^)

I can see a scale of the power of the sacred tree that was giving oracle to the king. She read my question ahead.Please read at my site.

The sun-dwelling forest covered with white light –I have to leave it for now but I’ll make sure to come back. Not in an illusion, but in reality. I’ll make sure to return it to its former appearance–the sacred tree, this forest where she and her familiars live.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


4 thoughts on “Chapter 32: Name”

  1. Oh boo. That sword bitch hasn’t done a damn thing this entire time and you’re just gonna gift her shrine maiden status? Fuck that.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.