Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 33: Prayer

“―Sensei, Sensei!”

“Get ahold of yourself Grass-sensei!”

“U-uh…”

When I came to my senses, my right hand is touching the trunk of the giant tree in front of me. The miasma that filled the whole area is getting extremely faint so Presha-san and Dite-san can come to me.

“I-I’m glad… You didn’t move the whole time you’re holding the tree…”

“…G-Grass-sensei, did you stop this miasma?”

“No… This sacred tree has stopped it. The erosion of the land will stop for a while. The plants that transformed into plant monsters will not attack people.”

“I-Is that true…? That would be good. But…holding it off for a little while is not a fundamental solution…”

“That’s…. For that, we need to go back to the fortress, there are some things I have to ask for Knight Captain Raquel’s help. If this sacred tree gathers power once more, the withered land can restore its vitality. For that purpose, we need the cooperation of Astina-denka.”

When the name of Her Highness was mentioned, the two captains have a tense expression. That alone shows their deep respect for Astina-denka.

“T-that… Does it have something to do with the fact that this is a garden that was under the control of the royal family?”

“Ye-eh?… how did you know, Dite-san?”

“It’s an analogy from the information we have obtained so far. This giant tree that rises in the deepest part of this garden… I thought that it was the symbol of this garden. Then Grass-sensei touched this giant tree… I know that you had a conversation with it.”

“It is as what you speak. This sacred tree, Yuserish, was once worshiped as a god. However, due to some circumstances, the entire garden was abandoned…. Then she lost most of her divine power.”Support me by reading at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.

We look up overhead –it used to be a magnificent branch, but it has cracked barks and black moss that erodes the trunk.

“Grass-sama, please take a look, a leaf…”

“Uh-… this is …”

Lendl-san told me to take a look and I witnessed the moment he picked up a fallen leaf.

―The sacred tree has withered and there are no other leaves. The leaf in his hand is small but it has a fresh green color.

She is able to regain a little power not only in the vision but also in the reality. I have to believe even more strongly when this sacred tree returns. Believe that thoughts will heal this sacred tree even a little.

 “…this tree is alive. No… it responded to Grass-sama’s wishes.”

“No, it’s not enough that I alone believe in her. I also want you guys to believe as much as you can… This tree will definitely revive. I hope this garden can be restored to its previous appearance.”Translated by YumeNeiji

“Then I’ll offer my prayer. I’ve only been praying to the god of battle so I don’t know if I’m doing it the right way…”

“Rather than being polite, it’s more important not to lie to your heart. That’s what faith is.”

Dite-san puts her hands together and prays. Presha-san imitates it –all of us did. The sacred tree did not answer. However I believe that if we always remember what we prayed now, it would help sustain this tree.

 ◆ ◇ ◆

The erosion of the gray land not only stopped, but it can also be said as it “retreated”, albeit a little. As the man, who was abandoning his house to move to another land, sees us return, he run up and bowed.

“To everyone, how can I express my gratitude…. the gray soil that was formerly expanding is now returning to its original state. The crops that were still safe suddenly look lively…”

As the miasma flowing out of the forest stopped, it immediately have positive effect to the crops. When I got off the carriage, he holds my hand and thanks me many times.

“If the gray soil stays that way, the crops will grow safely until harvest. We will not have to leave this house.”

“Once you harvest it, even a little, can you sell them to the fortress? You see, we are short on food…”Support me by reading at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.

“Thinking to sell is just absurd, I will not charge when I deliver the harvested crops. Thanks to the members of the Knights brigade, we can live without fear of Zirconia. People who manage this land always tell that to us farmers.”

The people who manage the farmland are probably the powerful families who are self-governing the area and are now under the patronage of the kingdom. If I can get in touch with them even once, I may be able to ask what they are making on the farmland around here and discuss if they could also plant new herbs.

But first and foremost, we first need to revive the sacred tree. I have to increase the number of people who believe in the sacred tree even if it’s one person or two people.

“There is one thing I would like to ask of you to restore this gray soil to its original shape.”

“Yes, if it’s something I can do… by all means you have the support of my family, no, all my relatives.”

“Thank you. It’s not a heavy burden, I only want you to pray to that forest. If the god in that place can regain her lost power, this area will flourish once more… so, could you please pray with us?”Support me by reading at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.

“In that place…t-there really is a god? W-we thought we shouldn’t be approaching that place. To think that’s because we are affected by god’s wrath… We live here long enough but we didn’t know anything. I’m really embarrassed…”

“It’s still not too late. Everything will be back to normal… No!, this land around here will be healthier than ever for sure.”

Presha-san and Dite-san are already praying towards the forest. The man brought in a family of ten and they all prayed with us.

The fertility festival cannot be held immediately. However if it’s Astina-denka, she can inform all of the Western Territories – asking them to pray for a fruitful harvest to the sacred tree.

If we do so, the sacred tree Yuserish will surely regain her original form. If we have the god who once led the kingdom to victory, even in the current situation which we do not know when Zirconia will attack us, will definitely change.

―No, it needs to change. Rather than losing our hearts in the battle, if we use the power for the country, Presha-san and Dite-san will not have to worry about killing people.

“… From now on, let’s pray in the morning and evening so that we won’t forget. Grass-sensei, mine and Presha’s team will follow your instructions as much as possible.”

“Un, Me too. It would be best if I could convince Raquel-ane… She hates magic, I wonder what I can do about it….. Ah!-, speaking of magic, Lendl-san, what on earth did you do when you caught up behind Sensei?”

“Like Grass-sama, I gave my magical powers. I also have knowledge in magic.”

Lendl-san shared his magical power so I was able to take the final step to the sacred tree.

―I wonder if that’s really true. Although magical powers can be shared among magicians, it is said to be very inefficient. The magical powers of magicians are not the same, and the magical powers of others can hardly be used unless they are blood relatives.

Unless Lendl-san’s nature of magical power is close to mine…. No. Did he use magic to stop the miasma?…

 “Hmm, that’s what I expected. Hey, that magic crystal, can I have it next time?”

“Doing that to score points for Grass-sensei, you’re surprisingly daring.”

“I-It’s not like that!… I’m grateful to Grass-sensei. So that much… W-Wait! That face didn’t believe me at all!”

“Fufu… Since Grass-sensei came, unexpectedly there’s so much competition, me too and you too.”

Presha-san’s magical power can certainly be used if it accumulates in a magical crystal. However, if one uses the opposite magical power too much, there will be problems that I can’t say out loud.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


1 thought on “Chapter 33: Prayer”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.