Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 34: War

To revive the sacred tree, I need Astina-denka’s help.

As of yesterday, the assessment from Astina-denka did not change much. When Presha-san told her that I was present at the interrogation and that I pulled out the information thru magic –what was her reaction at that time?

“Her Highness always has a deep thought… she won’t show her thoughts, so I can only imagine it. Even if she heard that someone from the royalty is involved in Zirconia, she didn’t look angry or sad. Regarding Grass-sensei, she only said, “I’ll talk about his contributions again later”.”

Now I hear a very important story –I thought Her Highness did not expect much from me, but it is good to say that her evaluation of me is higher from the beginning…

“It’s not that Her Highness keeps her distance from magicians so she did not put them in her Knight Order, but it’s because there are only combat type among the court magicians that’s why she did not chose a direct subordinate. In that respect, I don’t think there is a strong repulsion to Grass-sensei’s magic.”

I put my head out of the window as I talk with Presha-san and Dite-san, who are riding side by side. Her Highness who leads the Knights as a general, repels combat magicians who have the power to influence the outcome of the war – why is that so?

What I can think of is it’s because she doesn’t have a good impression of the combat magicians she has met. Or, she can’t easily rely on a combat magician who is in direct contact with the royal family — perhaps she alienates herself from the second Queen’s interests.

“…Astina-denka has an old friendly relation with Headmaster Millenia. When she was in the royal capital, she spoke to the Headmaster, who is a court magician at that time. I don’t think she dislikes all combat magicians, but…”

Lendl-san, who sits next to me, tells me so. My stepsister didn’t tell me how long she was with the royal family, speaking of which, did she not speak of it because I’m not reliable enough? ―My stepsister, who is loyal to the royal family, won’t talk about Her Highness easily.This is translated by Yume Neiji

I can only guess, but in any case, I must get the chance to have an audience with Her Highness through Raquel-san.

As she’s the fortress’ Commander, it is unlikely that I can meet Astina-denka today. Still, I have to tell Her Highness about the sacred tree as soon as possible―

 “That is……”This is translated by YumeNeiji

“Uh….. Smoke is rising from the fortress… N-No way!, Is it really an enemy attack?”

Damn it!They just attacked yesterday and they’re coming again today!

In the morning, the sky near the fortress was still clear with a bit of cloud cover but now, black smoke rises, the sound of metal hitting, the sound of some weapon being released, and the voice of fighting…

“Presha!! Uh…wait a minute! Once you enter the castle, you have to get the instructions from the superior!”

“I can’t do such thing now!… everyone is already fighting…!”

 “W-wai…..uh, that child really is a reckless one…”

The battle is fierce on the western wall of the fortress facing the border. Presha-san runs away from Dite-san’s grasp and race to the battlefield with a single horse.

That is also to prevent the enemy cavalry from approaching us. A cavalry platoon trying to make a detour to the south and to the eastern gate discovers Presha-san approaching, they hold their spears.

Our carriage also slows down –if we proceed on the road in sight, we would be spotted by enemy soldiers.

“If they got repelled when crossing the river in the darkness, they find another location and push their way in with their number… We knights are not completely able to monitor the river either. Will it be Southwest?, Northeast? or possibly both. If they have cannons or catapults, we have to destroy them as soon as possible.”

Even if they look down from a bird’s eye view, it is not possible to grasp such composition of enemy troops.

―But in my case, this plain, the whole area around the fortress –from here on, even the places that cannot be seen are filled with grass.

“My name is Presha Hortensia! You Zirconian knights, if you’re prepared to die, come! Haaaaaaa!!!”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

Presha-san lives up to her name –Hortensia, that is an honorable family name among the kingdom knights.

The name had reached the Zirconian Army –without any hesitation, three cavalry rush towards Presha-san, who is running with a spear. Among them, one cavalryman leads and runs up while swinging his axe spear. That bloodthirstiness was too strong that it penetrates Presha-san and reach us.

“Zirconia Knight’s 8th Attack Squadron, Darius O’Connell! I’ll take that head of yours!”

Presha-san and her opponent clash with each other –I couldn’t see the movement of Presha-san’s spear at all. The opponent knight suddenly stops his movement and holds the axe spear in horseback, he continuous to run holding that position –all of a sudden he falls from the horse, the horse neighed and run away from the spot.

“…That’s Presha, the best spearman in my army. Please look closely at the battle.”

Dite-san did not hold her bow, but watch Presha-san as she flash the spear on her hand and slash the rest of the cavalry.

“Haaaaaa…!”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

The second cavalryman has the tip of his spear cut off and is knocked down, the third cavalryman withdraws but Presha-san chases him with her horse, he fell as his chest was pierced. Turning the spear like a windmill, Presha-san scout the enemy cavalry coming from the west with only one shot, and stopped their movement.

“Those who want to die, come! I’ll line up your heads before my fortress!”

This is the youngest attack captain –Presha Hortensia.

“How dare you! Doing whatever you like!… Anyone, get that woman’s head!”

 “B-but… three of the fierce men in my squad have already…”

“You’ll just shamelessly withdraw like this?! If you don’t want me to kill you myself, go!”

 “uh….Uaaaaaaaahhhh!”

On a battlefield, recklessness leads to ruin. With Presha-san’s strength, several enemy cavalries where reduced in number each time they clash with Presha-san.

 “Mo-Monster… ugh, a monster… you’re a monster wearing a woman’s skin …!”

“…How nice, monster huh. That’s what I need to be for the likes of you! The more you’re terrified, someday, no one will stand before me!”

“―Like humans will lose to a monster!… Gaaaaahhhh… kuu!”

It is probably his last tenacity. The enemy captain, who is trying to escape, suddenly attacks Presha-san –however, there is no excuse for noticing his monotonous movements, Presha-san win the fight in an instant.

The enemy’s 8th Squadron is defeated. Without any spurt of blood, Presha-san is on her horse unharmed.

“………”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

But Presha-san doesn’t try to come back here –I run towards her without knowing why.

“Uh…Grass-sensei, what…uh…”

Presha-san who is on the horse, lay face down, the spear in her arm hangs down. I go around and look up at her face. Presha-san opened her eyes with surprise –such strong person didn’t notice until I got here.

“…G-Grass-sensei?…”This is translated by YumeNeiji

“….Presha-san isn’t a monster. Thank you very much for helping us.”

I express my gratitude to the knight who has killed hundreds of people on the battlefield. It is humorous, but she didn’t laugh –her expression softens and power returns to her eyes.

“Thank you…Grass-sensei. But it’s not over yet. I have to go help everyone.”


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


1 thought on “Chapter 34: War”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.