Homeless Tensei: Isekai De Jiyuu Sugiru Majutsu Jisoku Seikatsu

Chapter 11: The Homeless goes to the ground

Now having a beautiful companion, I hand over the map to Erna.

“Uhm, please tell me the way. I will fight instead.”

Talking while gesturing it, she nodded and accepted the map. It appears that she understood. I was glad, but as soon as she opened the map, she starts to be flustered.

“ΣξΘ!? ΨΛ *!”

She is showing something on the map and appealing for something. I didn’t understand what she is saying, so I urged her to settle down for the time being.

Just what on earth happened?

Erna seemed to pay attention to the letters on the first page. Repeatedly calls out “Moore!” Is Moore the name of a person? That would be a big discovery! The name of the former resident of the hideout may have been found. But she seems to be in a panic though.

“Is Moore that amazing?”

“* ΨΣ!”

I’m not sure, but he should be a great person. Certainly, not only the maps, but all the books left by the former resident appeared to be valuable. If he really is, I might have made a great discovery. But that doesn’t matter now. My purpose is not to look for the former resident, I’m aiming for the ground.

I made a gesture to Erna to look at the map and guide me.

“ΨΣΘ”

Perhaps she understood, she immediately opens the page where the 19th floor is and start checking. Not just her looks, she also has a straightforward personality, she’s really a good child.

Knowing our current position, she points to where we should go next. In this way, me and Erna begin to advance through the dungeon while aiming for the ground.

◆◇◆

“Teriyaaa-!”

I sliced and killed a monster like a brown rat with a length of about 1 meter. Its movement is quick, unless I’m bitten, this creature is nothing.

Currently, we have reached the third floor, and it seems that we will soon be able to get to the ground. Approximately, it took fifteen hours to get here as we took many breaks, finally, we’re now approaching the ground.

I noticed one interesting thing, the monsters visibly weakens as we went up a level. Killer wolf and orcs seem to inhabit the nineteenth floor, and they did not appear in the eighteenth floor.

At the third level, monsters such as rats and caterpillars begin to appear, it’s so uncomfortable as my fighting spirit is on the verge of disappearing. Its too weak!

I’m not asking for fights, but I’m still not as satisfied compared to my fight in the miniature garden. There is a battle for life there. Even if I become stronger, I’m in danger if I’m not careful.This is translated by Yume Neiji

Oh, I miss those thrills!

While thinking about such things, Erna hits my shoulder.

“ΦΨΣ”

I’m sure she’s saying that we’ll arrive at the stairs soon. When we start walking, we passed a group of two men and a woman. I think that the number of people we passed by has increased, probably because it is close to the ground.

However, I don’t talk to them. When I try to speak with them, Erna would stop me. I don’t know the reason, but I thought I shouldn’t talk too much in the dungeon. In addition, they may be guarded when a stranger, especially a man talks to them. So I didn’t speak and just observe the people passing by.

As we continued going through the dungeon, we found the staircase. It seems that the 2nd and 1st floors are not so wide, so we proceeded quickly while checking the map and in about an hour, we reached the last staircase on the 1st floor.

“Finally the ground huh…”

Erna looks puzzled as she stares at me who’s so excited in front of the stairs. She, who I can’t communicate with will not understand my surging emotions. This will be my first time coming outside in this world so I can’t help but get excited.

In addition, this will prove if this is the world after death, whether it’s heaven or hell or it’s a completely unknown world to me. I still don’t know what’s up there.

“ΦΣΔ!”

Erna hurries to go ahead. As I climb the stairs step by step, the light becomes stronger. It’s the light of day.

“Woah…”

I admire the sight that spreads before my eyes. With a clear blue sky, a gentle breeze sways the flowers. A forest is visible on the endless horizon, and mountains were standing in the distance.This is translated by Yume Neiji

Turning back, I can see the stairs leading down to the ground. I am convinced that I came out of here. As expected, the dungeon seems to have been underground.

“ΦΣ *”

Before I knew it, I was suddenly pushed by the young man who called out to me. I felt uncomfortable, but when I looked around, I found that many people were lining up going in the dungeon. It seems that I was obstructing the path.

“* ΘΛΨ!”

Erna pulled my hand and we move to the side, she seemed to be angry. I’m sure they become cautious because I stopped at the entrance. I want them to spare me since I don’t know the proper manner but I can’t communicate so I can’t make excuses.

When I look around, I find a place where people are gathering in addition to the entrance of the dungeon. White pillars stand in a row, when people put their hands on the black stone plate in the center, they disappear one after another.

It’s similar to the ruins in the miniature garden! I started running in the middle of Erna’s sermon.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

“ΛΨ !?”

Once again, Erna is not far from getting angry.

If that thing is what I thought of, it should be possible to make a transfer. There’s a possibility that I would be able to go back to the hideout. I similarly lined up like those people in order to touch the black stone slab.

【Welcome to the Temple of Teleportation. Shinichi Tanaka has one transfer point registered. Would you like to be transferred immediately? YES / NO】

For the time being, I chose NO.

I will probably be sent to the ruins in the miniature garden but there’s no use to confirm that now. Nonetheless, it appears that this is a Temple of Teleportation, it’s worth remembering.

“Ψ * Θ?”

Erna strangely looks at me. Her stare clearly asks, “What are you trying to do by going to the Temple of Teleportation now?”. This is necessary for me, I don’t have any plans on ​​letting go of the hideout just because I got on the ground. After all, I will continue to live in the dungeon.

 “Well then, guide me to the town.”

When I told that, Erna understood as she pointed to a city-like place in the distance.

“Mana!”

It means Mana City. I nodded and start walking with Erna towards the city.

◆◇◆

After walking for about two hours, we finally arrived at the entrance of the city. It seems to be a fairly large city in the vicinity, the atmosphere is a reminiscence of medieval Germany.

Each building is characterized by colorful walls and triangular roof and the stone pavement seems to be generously used with few advanced techniques.

“ΨΨΘ”

Erna pulled into my hand like saying “Let’s go”, so I stepped into the city. There were soldiers wearing armors at the entrance, but apparently we are able to enter and leave the city freely.

As a homeless person, I am not good at someone like a police officer, so I hope that I will not be involved in the future. Once we entered the city, I can see stalls everywhere. Everything looks delicious and smells good, but right now I don’t have the money and I can’t understand the price.

“ΘΨ *? ΞΣβ?”

When Erna went in front of the stall, she took something out of her pocket and handed it to the owner. Then she receives two pieces of meat on the skewers.

“ΛΨ!”

She offered the skewered meat to me.

“I-Is it okay? I don’t have money you see…”

“ΨΔ *!”

She place the skewered meat on my hand and she starts to eat the other one. Apparently, it’s her way of saying it’s her treat.

When I put the meat on my mouth, it is very delicious. However, compared to an orc’s meat, this meat has less fat and felt firm.

After the meal, Erna takes me somewhere. I was thinking it’s about time to have our separate ways, but it doesn’t feel like that kind of atmosphere. She took me to a certain building.

A large temple built on white stone stands out and many people enter as if being swallowed into the building. The sign has an axe and a cane drawn on it, but I can’t read the letters.

 “* ΛΨ!”

Erna pulls my hand and guides me into the building. The building had a simple structure. There are many reception desks lined up by women and a large number of large bulletin boards.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

At first glance, it looks like a bank, but there’s a thirst for blood in the atmosphere. Many people are that of white or black, and sometimes I can see yellow races, but I don’t see any Japanese.

They often carry a sword on their hips, a bow on their back, and a cane. Such type of people were entering this building. Looking at this scene, I am very surprised. I wonder if this is a gathering of hunters in the dungeon.

With that in mind, I start to understand. I’m sure that people like hunters will come and register their dungeon quests here. A number of posters depicting monsters are posted on the bulletin board as evidence. Many people look at it, peel off the paper, and bring it to the counter, so I am probably correct.

However, Erna pulls me and takes me to the stairs in the back of the building.

……..Hn? We are not going to get a quest?

At the end of the stairs, there is a large room with a counter.

“ΘΨ * Λ”

After saying that, Erna puts her rucksack on the counter. Immediately after, the receptionist look into the contents of the rucksack, he then takes it to the table in the back and starts checking it one by one. Me and Erna sat down in a chair and waited for a while.

Perhaps they are evaluating the material of the monsters here?

As I am assessing the situation, Erna handed me something.

“ΛΛ *”

It is the map I had lent her. She gestures, “This is a valuable thing, don’t let it get robbed”. That’s for certain, this map is very valuable to me, so I don’t want to be robbed. I put the book in my rucksack and zip it tight.

 “** ΨΦ!”

The man who was appraising Erna’s item called her. She receives her rucksack and something like few silver coins. With that much material, I’m sure it will get a good price.

Erna’s face was dark.

“Is it not that much?”

 “ΦΨ * ……”

Twenty silver coins are held in her hand. I can’t say anything without knowing how valuable it is. But judging from her look, I knew that it wasn’t a good price.

“Ah right, I also brought materials just in case…”

I approach the counter and take out the materials one after another from the rucksack. I also take out a bag containing Cure Mushroom and ask for an appraisal.

“Wow! ΨβΛ ……”

The man uttered words as he is impressed, he moves everything to the table in the back and enthusiastically begin the appraisal.

Hmmm, maybe it will fetch a good price?

If that’s the case, it looks like I can buy seasonings in this city.

“ΨβΛ * Θξ !?”

Erna grabs my shoulder and shakes me violently. She asks “ΨβΛ !?” many times, so I think she’s reacting to the materials I have taken out. She looked into her rucksack and picked up a mushroom and pointed at it.

“Ah-, Cure Mushroom? Why? Is it rare?”

Despite asking that, Erna repeats her gesture that looks like she’s saying, “This has great value!”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

Was it that valuable?

Since it grew a lot in the miniature garden, I thought it wasn’t a rare thing.

 “ΨΘξ, Tanaka Shinichi”

When my name is called, I go up the counter and receive five gold coins from the man. Compared from Erna’s, mine seems to have fetched a lot of money. Even if I don’t know anything, I understand the value of gold and silver.

Looking at Erna, she looked envious. Then, she hands out the silver coins in her hand. I wonder what it means.

 “Θξ*…..”

Does she want to say thank you for my help? If so, that’s unthinkable. I’m completely satisfied that I met Erna. I enjoyed the short trip with her.

I shake my head and refuse to accept the silver coins.

“Just the thought itself is enough for me. We will part ways here, but I’m looking forward to seeing you again someday.”

When I wave my hand and try to leave, Erna hugs my waist and holds me with all her might.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

W-What!? Why did she stop me?

 “* ΞβΛ! ΛΨΘ!”

When she yelled out, the other people around us begin whispering after seeing us. I knew it! Just now, she must have shouted something weird.

 “Alright, I understand, let me go first.”

When I said so, she smiled. I’m not sure, but maybe she wants to follow me. Well, I’m happy to spend some time with a beautiful woman, so it’s not a bad thing for me.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


7 thoughts on “Chapter 11: The Homeless goes to the ground”

  1. My head spinning just by imagining if I was in that situation, in a foreign city completely clueless about everything and not even understand the language.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If you think about it, this is exactly what would happen if you were ported to a different world.

      The existence of language translation magic can only be described as blatant plot armor. Nice to see this story has a shred of reality to it.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Yes, but then it’s easier to get the plot moving.
        To be honest, them understanding each other so easily without speaking the same language is also kind of plot armour. I doubt that it’s that easy that you don’t have to repeat what you said multiple times with different gestures.

        Like

      2. Now for the first time I think that getting transported to another world is actually scary.

        Like

  2. Thanks for the chapter…

    My head spinning just by imagining if I was in that situation, in a foreign city completely clueless about everything and not even understand the language.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.