Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 37: Military Doctor’s Battlefield

Until we reach the fortress, Dite-san protected our carriage. But even before she uses her bow, the knights led by the three commanders completely blocked the enemy from the northeast.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

“Astina-denka… As expected, when she enters the battlefield, the air changes completely. Knight Captain Raquel and Presha too show their outmost potential as they fight with Astina-sama.”

Under the command of Astina-denka, the archers at our side shoot arrows at the enemy’s spear soldiers. As they fall, Presha-san and Raquel-san rushed forward without fear of the enemy’s arrows, their subordinates attack where the formation collapses.

“Fighting any more than this is worthless! Pull back, Zirconia soldiers!”

“Peh! Do you think we will withdraw just because you told us to? That woman is Astina, make sure to bring her down at all cost! Dedicate our victory to General Alejandro!”

The captain of the enemy cavalries sends his men to Astina-denka. Presha-san stopped one of the enemy cavalryman but the other one aimed his spear at Her Highness.

“Prepare to….”

―Astina-denka swings her sword in the same direction as the enemy cavalryman, the glistening white blade looks as if I’m staring at small flowers blooming on the battlefield.

The enemy soldier who aimed at her fell off the horse and red blood splashed on the flowers.

Astina-denka on horseback, wipe off the blood on her sword and turned her burning eyes toward the enemy’s flag.

 ◆ ◇ ◆

After we entered the fortress, the drawbridge was quickly raised. A soldier carrying a bow, Dite-san’s subordinate, rushed up to Dite-san who is ahead of us.

“Captain Dite…”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

“You did well holding up while we’re away from fortress. Please give me a brief report.”

“The Zirconian army had invaded across the canal from two directions. We were not aware that Zirconia was building a warship. General Astina informed us of the invasion before the enemy had finished crossing the river, I was told to intercept it.”

Speaking of last night’s enemy attack, Astina-denka seems to have a keen sense for danger –No, I think she can even see the future.

Even so, it did not prevent the enemy from deploying their warship. Crossing the canal and striking the warship before it can anchor to the river means entering the enemy’s territory.

If His Majesty the King, does not allow her to invade the enemy country from here, Astina-denka cannot attack, she can only position the army to defend from the fortress.

 “Our first archer unit attacked from the ramparts and the second archer unit went out of the ramparts to support the cavalries and infantries. The siege tower that was approaching from the west collapsed earlier. As a result, we got a large advantage to the war situation in the west side, but the enemy soldiers have not yet been ordered to withdraw.”

Dite-san look worried for a moment. Presha-san too–

I hope the battle ends as quickly as one second.

“Grass-sensei, I will climb to the wall. You start preparing to treat the injured.”

“I understand. Dite-san, please be very careful.”

She nods and moves up to the ramparts. When I entered the sanitary building, 13 soldiers who had already returned after being injured were waiting for treatment.

“Grass-sensei…!”

“I’m sorry, I’m late. Captain Katie, the situation of the injured…”

“Here’s the summary of the situation. Some soldiers are bleeding badly and it’s dangerous if not treated immediately… I’m very sorry, we are totally…”

“I understand, leave it to me.”

Assuring the patient, I start checking her condition.

“It will be alright! Can you hear me?”

One of the soldiers who had been put to bed in the treatment room received an arrow –I asked Lendl-san’s assistance and start the emergency operation.

I magically assisted the anaesthetics to limit the nerves. Let it work quickly…… The procedure to suture a broken blood vessel is no different from connecting the veins of plants. This should definitely work… it have to……!

“Ugh… kuu…”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

If the operation is not completed with local anaesthesia, in situations like this where there’s too much bleeding, the loss of physical strength is fatal. If this can’t eliminate the pain completely, she has to endure it.

A few minutes can feel dauntingly long –until I finished the surgical operation, I almost forgot to breathe.

“This should be fine… Lendl-san, I’ll leave the rest to you! As you’ve seen before… Can you do it?”

“Yes, Grass-sama!”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

After I left the post-surgery disinfection and wound protection to Lendl-san, other medics immediately called for me.

“Sensei, Sensei! This patient’s consciousness is…!”

“I understand, I’ll be there shortly!”

I treated the seriously injured patients one at a time –no matter how bad the injury is, I’m not affected.

Feeling anger and sadness can be done after I’ve done my task as a military doctor. In front of the patient who suffered from pain, I continued to treat it using all possible measures so that the pain could be relieved as soon as possible.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


3 thoughts on “Chapter 37: Military Doctor’s Battlefield”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.