Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 38: Setting sun

Around the time when the light from the window of the sanitary building turned into the color of the sunset, a horn whistled to announce the enemy’s withdrawal. The drawbridge descends and the knights return to the fortress, those injured are successively carried to the sanitary building.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

Swords, spears, arrows, mallets –the knights have been wounded by various weapons, some with minor injuries, and some were carried on their backs as they can’t walk.

From the thirteen who were already examined, I still have far way to go to treat the number of injured –my predecessor might have worn out her mind during the treatment process.

For a moment I wish she was here. With two doctors having surgery, the time it takes for the injured to be freed from pain will be significantly reduced. But I can’t complain. Katie-san relies on me now, I pick one of the medic that has good treatment skills and ask her to take care of the moderately injured ones.

“Lendl-san, once you’ve finished treating the seriously injured, take a rest. It won’t help if you collapse.”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

Lendl-san just nods. He isn’t too medically proficient but he does it well –it’s possible for him to do post-surgery treatment without me having to say anything.

Everyone in the medic team is working hard. Even if I’m a newcomer, I make an effort to raise the morale of the group. As I said, the most important thing is not to collapse even in the harshest scenarios.

I can’t count how many times I performed surgical operations, I’m now treating an injured with arrow stuck in her forearm –no matter how tired I am, my hands can’t go wrong. In the practical test, I had actual surgery while receiving guidance. With this much variety of wounds, what I have learned is definitely being utilized.

I encourage patients who are disheartened by pain and stop their bleeding quickly. Research on “how to compensate for blood loss” is still in progress, I am even considering the method of transfusing other people’s blood but it has not been realized yet.

I don’t know if I can save all patients. There may already be some soldiers coming in too late –I’m not afraid of that though.

What I fear is that if I stop my hands, more patients will die. I can clearly see that.

◆◇◆

Zirconian General Alejandro split the troops of 2,500 into almost two parts and attacked the Isle Rose fortress from two directions.

The enemy casualties are more than 250 people on the western side of the fortress. Thirty-seven people lost their lives on our side.

When the siege tower collapsed, the enemy’s morale dropped significantly, disrupting the command system. Our army used the opportunity well, striking at the collapsed enemy soldiers to further reduce the momentum and then devoted themselves on defending which minimized the damage to our side.

In the Northeast’s battle –with the retaliation of Knight Captain Raquel, Her Highness and Presha-san, there were 25 dead.

The death on the enemy army is well over four hundred. It was said that Astina-denka herself wielded her sword on the front line and killed as many enemy soldiers as she could with her 16 cavalries.

It was the result of the war in which Knight Captain Raquel and Presha-san attack alongside Astina-denka. The reason why Knight Captain Raquel chose to attack alone was because a magic warrior’s power was so outstanding that she could kill one hundred men in one fight.

Most of the soldiers suffered minor injuries, and those who were seriously injured lost their lives as they were carried into the fortress. However, many were unable to return to the fortress and lost their lives on the battlefield. Knowing that I’m still alive after the war ended, I feel sorry for the others.

Still, with the repulsion of Zirconia, there was a solid vitality in the eyes of the remaining soldiers.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

I carried Katie-san to the sofa as was sleeping on her desk due to exhaustion. Lendl-san is also sleeping while sitting –for now, it’s best not to wake him up.

I left the sanitary building. The sanitary building alone cannot accommodate seriously injured persons, and the medic soldiers are scattered in other dormitories to respond to sudden changes in the patient’s condition.

After Raquel-san’s subordinate informed me of the results of the war, one thought continued to go around my head.

“…General Alejandro…and Zirconia…”

What was the purpose of the enemy general? Did he think that he could make the Isle Rose fortress collapse by mobilizing so many soldiers to make a surprise attack? Or was there another purpose?

The damage of the enemy army is large, and it is likely that the commanders will be blamed, but if the general has other aims…

In general, this time, it’s not only defeat for the enemy.

I was only a student until the day before yesterday, thinking about military affairs is an avoidable matter. If I’ll be the only one working as a military doctor, deaths will continue to occur and if conscription is done to replenish the soldiers’ number, nearby territories will diminish their loyalty to Astina-denka.

The chances of sending experienced troops from the capital could be considered very low. Now that there was a case that “royal family members have communicated with Zirconia”, I can’t think of such an optimistic thing.

…In this situation, I cannot even have Her Highness visit the Sacred Tree. A large-scale attack like this happened only one night after the previous enemy attack…. If we were to do such a thing, Her Highness needs to leave this fortress for a while and that will not be possible

Talking about the Sacred Tree in this situation, I might only end up buying disappointment. The erosion of the withered ground will begin again –after that, it will already be too late.

“…Grass Weed”

I didn’t notice that there was a person standing in front of me until my name was called.

Knight Captain Raquel was standing before me.

She is fierce one on the battlefield and during normal times, she has calm disposition. She’s always committed to being a warrior –but now, it’s as if she had lost control, she has pale face and her lips quivers.

“Knight Captain Raquel, what on earth… oi, it’s dangerous!”

Who would have taught that a person like her can also trip on her legs, she’s even about to fall forward. I hold her shoulder and supported her down, a tremor is transmitting from her body.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Are you alright?… Uh, get ahold of yourself Knight Captain Raquel!”

As I shake Raquel-san’s shoulder, the light barely returns to her empty eyes. She then speak in a faint weak voice squeezing from her lungs,

“A-Astina-denka… has collapsed…”


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


3 thoughts on “Chapter 38: Setting sun”

  1. With this, our boy will learnt he trust and love of two beauties at once! He’ll save your lives even if your rude to him! He’ll show his sincerity through actions!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.