Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 39: Sleeping Princess

I thought of Raquel-san as a woman who would never be shaken no matter what happens.

But now, just telling me about Astina-denka, her voice is quivering and her whole body is trembling. If something happened to Astina-denka, Raquel-san wouldn’t be fine either. Her loyalty is so deep –that’s what worship is all about.

There is a limit even with my encouraging words. I can’t get rid of Raquel-san’s anxiety unless I’m Astina-denka.Translated by Yume Neiji

The only thing I can do right now is to give her a medicine that could work. It’s an extract with soothing effect that was stirred and mixed in the small vial –the main ingredient is an extract made by boiling down a pine bark.

Only the Southeast part of the kingdom faces the sea slightly, and pines called “maritime pine” grow in that area. The ingredients that can be obtained from its bark have long been recognized that it has a sedative effect within the private sector –I tried to use magic to collect the ingredients to retain its high purity and it was successful.

“Raquel-san, please try drinking this. It tastes a little weird though…”

“Uh… this is not the time to be do…..”

 “No, it’s necessary. You shouldn’t show your anxious state when we go to Her Highness. I’m not saying it’s an illness, but at this degree it looks like it.”

“….this, I just need to drink it right?….Hn…..”

Raquel-san drunk the reddish-brown liquid in the small bottle that I gave her. Although some medicines are bitter and cannot be taken as they are, they should be a little easier to take with herbs such as mint. I added some to the maritime pine extract.

“It will take some time for it to work. Let’s head to Her Highness’ place in the meantime.”

“…I understand. I’m sorry that you’ve seen me in such a pathetic state…”

As expected, Raquel-san frowned because of the bitterness –but maybe because of the strong taste, her tension has been relieved and she smiled for an instant.

“…that medicine taste bad, but it’s worth drinking…unh….”

Depending on the ingredients of a drug, the process in which it takes effect on the body greatly varies.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

The most effective way should be sublingual oral dose, which requires drug retention under the tongue. But with my medicine, the volatile aroma component causes the nasal cavity to respond, stimulating the central nerves from the mucous membranes and the effect of improving the mental condition can be obtained earlier. Ingredients that are absorbed after being metabolized in the body develop their effects over several hours –it does not make sense if the effect of the drug is cut off immediately.

“…My chest feels light… it’s calming me down. What is this…?”

There are some things that can’t be helped if she feels it’s strange. Most of the medicines in the kingdom are in the form of powdered herbs and the like, and they are not sold in the form of an extract because they cannot be preserved. And even if they contain active ingredients, their purity is low.

Only research institutes have equipment for extracting medicinal components and selecting ingredients, and in the current situation, mass production can only be considered as a dream. However, I hope to cover the medical needs of this fortress. If I can extract the ingredients of the plant without using any equipment, I think that it is not that difficult to properly mix the drugs.

I just realized it now… I gave Raquel-san, who hates magic, a medicine that was completed by using magic during the manufacturing process.

“…Magic that relies on the power of plant spirits huh. The medicine made from it is highly effective…”

“I’m sorry, Raquel-san… I gave you medicine without explaining anything. Certainly, I used magic when I made the medicine, I have no excuse for that.”

Raquel-san beside me didn’t speak for a while, and then she walks forward without reprimanding me.

“I hate magicians… hating magic is my personal matter. Grass Weed…I’m not against your magic. That magic is necessary for this country. It has great potential, I know that as well.”

“…Raquel-san”

“I can’t talk about that situation yet. Anymore than this, I don’t want you to think I’m a frail woman.”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“T-That’s…”

“I can’t help but think like that. I also know how miserable I look. If I appeared before her highness and my subordinates looking like that… Thanks to your medicine, I can keep my face. You have my gratitude.”

Raquel-san lowered her head while walking. Her black hair spilled over her shoulders, and her gesture of fixing her hair looked cool.

“…Originally, we won’t let a man enter in the bedroom of Her Highness. However, Her Highness already appreciated your ability because you have a good record in your first day.”

She must be talking about the treatment I made for the patients in the sanitary building and how I helped Presha-san during the interrogation. Regarding the latter, it’s more of Arlaune’s achievements.

Those things were evaluated by Her Highness huh. So putting me under Raquel-san… looks like that’s not all there is to it–

“That person is adored by all the soldiers in this fortress. She can blame us commanders, but Astina-denka has never done that. She remembers the names of all three thousand soldiers, she even remembers every face… that’s why we don’t want her to fight in the lead and die on her own. That’s how much her heart gives courage to us knights…”

“…I won’t know Her Highness condition unless I take a look at her. I will do my best to treat her. Her Highness needs to stay alive and well.”

“…I’m begging you. I don’t know anything about medicine…Grass, I’ll entrust her to you…”

Raquel-san just said she’ll “entrust” her to me. I thought it would be long before I could hear such words.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

After we went up from the 4th floor of the fortress, we reach the rooftop. Her Highness’ sleeping quarter was in the residence built on the rooftop.

The knight guarding in front of the door sees us and opens the door. There are no decorations in the third princess’ residence. I followed Raquel-san down the corridor, which can be called a monotonous landscape.

A female servant, not a knight, opens the door and Raquel-san whispered something. The woman who peeked from inside the room has the appearance of a maid and her skin was pale in the dim light.

We were then prompted to get inside, me and Raquel-san entered the room.

After passing through the drawing room, we were taken to the bedroom – as expected, the room used by the Third Princess is of simple structure. Astina-denka lay on the bed, she looks like she’s sleeping.

When I came here, I finally noticed it. As a spirit magician, I realized it too late. The magical power that filled the entire fortress even only with Astina-denka’s presence has weakened. And at the same time, Astina-denka who’s sleeping is faintly shining –I guess only magicians could see this light.

Why did she lose consciousness?

As Raquel-san watched over from the side, I bowed towards Her Highness and then I slowly approach the side of the bed.

“First of all, I will diagnose the symptoms of Her Highness. Raquel-san, will you please give me a hand?”

“……I understand.”

The light emitting from her body can be seen even through the thin blanket draped on her. To see clearly –I have to take off her clothes as it’s necessary to verify it directly.

Even as she sleeps, Astina-denka is breathtakingly beautiful. But I swore I wouldn’t be distracted even for a minute, I pulled the blanket and gently opened the collar of Her Highness clothes.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


2 thoughts on “Chapter 39: Sleeping Princess”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.