Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 40: Half Moon

When I opened the front of the thin white robe worn by Her Highness, I can see her smooth porcelain like skin.

I didn’t notice it before as she’s wearing armour but the steep bulge from her clavicle to the chest was so firm that it’s hard to imagine that she had survived thru many battlefields.

I could guess that the red marks left on her white skin were due to her chest being tightly constricted before going to the battlefield. It’s the same with the other soldiers, but knowing that Her Highness is also doing it, I wonder if this fortress, which only allows women to fight in the war, is really correct.

 “…I understand what you are thinking. However, it is natural that a man and a woman have different body shapes. Her Highness, us too, we think that there are no man or woman in the battlefield. I don’t think it’s painful, and I think this will help in the outcome of the battle.”Translated by Yume Neiji

Raquel is also an exceptional woman –no man can be as strong as her. And if the person is not blessed with a large physique, as a heavy cavalry, he’ll find it hard to wear such thick armour and swing the lance at the same time.

I return back to myself and flip the blanket in Her Highness’ abdomen then I open the thin cloth. Her Highness has a long breathing interval, it’s very soft that you can’t hear any breathing sound unless you’re this close. However, this does not mean that her breathing is weak.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

When I checked her wrist, the pulse is slower than normal people, but it is within the range where there is no problem. But her temperature is getting a little higher –this symptom is quite familiar.

“Grass… what on earth is that tool…?”

“This is for listening to the sound of the heart. I think this is the first time you see one but with this, you can hear it better rather than listening to it directly… this is absolutely not a weird item.”

It’s a tool I made by cutting out the branches of an elder –a stethoscope that uses the conduction of vibrations in a wooden cylinder to hear the heart and breathing sounds of patients.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

The point with the wide opening is placed to the patient’s body and the one with the small opening is meant for the ear –using this tool, the mental burden on the patient is reduced. Not just with seeing and touching, with it, I can get more information from the diagnosis.

I put the stethoscope around the heart and around the lungs. As I thought, there is no problem –Her Highness’ body is currently in good health and the reason for her being in coma lies on other factor.

“Raquel-san, do you know if Her Highness has a chronic disease?”

I didn’t dare say “Knight Captain”. If I stick to being formal too much, I will not be able to get a straightforward opinion – moreover, Raquel-san did not seem to reproach me.

“No… There is none. But sometimes she’ll get sick after a large battle, but that’s the same for everyone who went on the battlefield…”

“That’s true… Then, the magical light being emitted from her body, can you see it?”

“Uh…..magical power? Her Highness certainly possesses magical power… but for that light it’s totally…”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Similar to Raquel-san, I think Presha-san and Astina-denka are also “magic warriors”. Did you not realize that?”

Raquel-san is stunned with my words. She was naturally a magic warrior. Since she did not know that she has the aptitude to be a magician, she did not have the opportunity to contract with a spirit.

“…I was once told by a court magician that I was using magical power in battle. But at that time I didn’t ask any details. “Magic Warrior” huh… Yes, that’s maybe why Presha and I were so special compared to the other troops, and even from Dite, I felt the same qualities as we did.”

“Dite-san also has magical powers, but not as much as Raquel-san and Presha-san. However, Astina-denka has an aptitude that is unmatched even by the two of you, and that even a magician cannot match.”

Raquel-san’s eyes quiver. Not knowing anything very important about the master who she has served all the time –she bit her lips, feeling remorseful.

“I….. When I swore loyalty, I said I would be Her Highness’ spear but… I didn’t even know anything about Her Highness!”

“It can’t be helped. At the Magic Academy, magic is kept as a secret so that it is not exposed outside. The court magician said that Raquel-san had magical power, but unless you belong to the same unit, it could be said as rule violation.”

However if we left Her Highness’ condition as it is, even if I do not know what happened to Her Highness –being in coma is already dangerous enough, the cause must be immediately clarified and it needs to be treated as soon as possible.

I ask Raquel-san’s help to take Her Highness clothes off.

The amount of magic that overflowed from her body decreased rapidly, and she is now feverish. I squinted at her body in an attempt to find the cause.

―Although it is fading and almost disappearing. It’s certainly familiar –something like a figure is drawn on her lower half.

This is definitely… a Spirit Mark! But… why is this written on Her Highness’ body?… and also…the other half is clearly missing.

Astina-denka received a “spirit selection ceremony” or something similar in the past.

To prove that, in her abdomen part, a half-moon shaped mark and the remnants of the spirit mark that was drawn following it continued towards the part still covered by her clothes and blanket.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


1 thought on “Chapter 40: Half Moon”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.