Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 41: Interrupted Ritual

The spirit mark is drawn on the whole body and can no longer be seen after completing the “spirit selection ceremony”. When using spirit magic, part of it may emit light in response to magical power –in other words, Astina-denka was exhausted of magical power due to the incomplete spirit mark.

A half finished spirit mark… Her Highness is in a state where she could be called a semi-magician. Even so, she had more magical power than a normal person and she was holding up such magical power even in that condition.

I now know why she fell ill. The fever is a symptom of “magic depletion” due to a large amount of magical power being consumed in a short time. Without proper treatment, it will at least take a few days to regain consciousness –this is why magicians feared of being magically exhausted.

Astina-denka can exert her power as a magic warrior because her spirit mark is imperfect. Since she is not a perfect magician, she unconsciously enhanced her physical abilities.

I had never thought about it before but, I think that if I become a magician after polishing swordsmanship as a magic warrior, I can learn both techniques.

The situation itself that “half of the spirit mark has been drawn and she has not yet contracted a spirit” cannot happen at the Magic Academy… For Her Highness to have “Spirit Selection Ceremony”, it could have been a court magician who did it –this won’t happen without some reason.Translated by Yume Neiji

“G-Grass…..Wait! The maid dressed Astina-denka a while ago but Her Highness doesn’t wear underwear at bedtime. D-Do not lower the blanket anymore.”

“Ah…..s-sorry. But Raquel-san, on Astina-denka’s body, she has a “spirit mark” drawn around her abdomen and I think only a magician can see it. I want to confirm that…”

Raquel-san’s face flushed and I can see it clearly even in this dimly lit room –I never imagined that she’s that reserved, I am truly surprised.

“….looking at every corner of her body, I would like you to do that after getting Her Highness permission. From the tip of her foot and to the extent possible, I think you can look at it. But if by all means you really need to do it, I’ll call the maids and let them deal with you.”

“Y-Yes, I’m okay with that. However, I can only talk about the treatment procedure after Her Highness woke up, but I would like to complete the “spirit mark” that ended halfway, I’m trying to complete something similar to the “spirit selection ceremony” that she was supposed to receive.”

“W-What are you talking about…? Then Her Highness…”

If I explain it to Raquel-san, she’ll be truly distressed –but she did tell me that she doesn’t really dislike magic in particular, I’m sure she will understand.

“…Her Highness was supposed to undergo the ritual of contracting with a spirit as a magician. The “spirit mark” necessary for that is drawn from her abdomen to the lower half of the body. There are only few people who can draw the spirit mark and it will take several days to be drawn. Most probably, Her Highness has been interrupted when half of the spirit mark has been drawn…I don’t know if that was due to Her Highness.”

“Astina-denka….. No, I see… I heard that some of the women who possess Lezenia’s royal bloodline have exceptional magical powers. That woman will also become the “royal shrine maiden”. But… that custom should have long since disappeared.”

Magicians don’t choose their contracted spirit –the spirit is the one who selects their contractor from the time they’re born in this world.

I can see that Astina-denka was born to sign a contract with the Sacred Tree, Yuserish. Her Highness has the ability to read the future, isnt it a proof that she is qualified to become a royal shrine maiden?

She already has the power to foresee the movements of the enemy army even without a contract… Then if she can conclude a formal contract, the oracle of the god will help us to escape the predicament of being attacked by the enemy.

“Royal shrine maiden…. To the south of this fortress, there is an abandoned royal garden. From the sacred tree there, the royal shrine maiden has the role of receiving the oracle. But that sacred tree has been abandoned by the royal family and even forgotten by the people. It has now eroded the surrounding land but the sacred tree is still alive.”

“That is…. So it was the reason that monsters appeared… Will the gray soil stop spreading if the sacred tree revives?”

“Yes. If Her Highness visits the sacred tree as a “royal shrine maiden”… And if possible, if Her Highness herself forms a contract with the spirit of the sacred tree, everything is going for the better.”yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com

Raquel-san does not hide her perplexity as she gazes at Astina-denka, a warlord who is called the “Sword Princess” and a warrior who is on par with Raquel-san will also become a “royal shrine maiden”.

In order to stop the consumption of Her Highness’ magical power, there is no choice but to complete the “spirit selection ceremonty”. Raquel-san closed her eyes, contemplates about it for a while then when she opened her eyes, she stared at me.

“….If there really is God, why has he only given such a heavy fate to Her Highness…”

“Just like how Raquel-san wants to support Her Highness, I think Presha-san, Dite-san, and everyone else think the same thing. Me and Lendl-san are newcomer here, but for this country…. No, I want to do my best for the people around me. I want to be able to lighten the burden on your back even a little.”

Raquel-san nods back. Then from the feet, she flips over the blanket draped on Her Highness–she felt tensed but when it reaches Her Highness slender thigh giving off womanly appeal, Raquel-san quivering hands stopped.

From the right thigh of Her Highness to the tip of her feet, a spiritual seal is drawn –but some parts have faded since the mark did not settle because she did not complete the “spirit selection ceremony”.

It is necessary to write it down on a piece of paper and consider how it will look when this spirit mark is drawn on the entire body.

“…Raquel-san, first of all, to restore the consciousness of Her Highness, there are two ways, one is an oral medicine and the other is ointment.”

“Oral medicine… Mouth to mouth feeding is not a good thing to do especially since Her Highness is unconscious. If you try to do something like that without permission, I’ll be suspicious of your intention.”

With her red face, Raquel-san severely pierces me with her nail. Maybe she’s truly a naive woman, that’s what I think –speaking of which, it’s going to be difficult matter.

“However, in that case, there is no choice but to apply the ointment… and it would be best if it’s done by a doctor…”

“No, it doesn’t matter if it’s Raquel-san or the maids. To restore Her Highness magical power, I’d like you to apply the ointment to the part I direct you to.”

“I- I…. It’s impolite for me to touch Her Highness’ body. I can’t bear to do that!”

I also have a deep respect for Her Highness so I would like her to cooperate with me for the treatment but Raquel-san is adamantly shaking her hands, so in the end, it is not good to have her help me.Translated by Yume Neiji

Then, I thought that I could just ask the two maids –I called them and asked but I got an answer like this,

“Doctor-sama, this is a medical treatment. I’m ashamed to say this but we amateurs, may not be able to follow doctor-sama’s instructions.”

The three women look at me imploringly –I think of Katie-san, but she’s tired and is currently sleeping on the sofa, and she’s come to assist me so far. This is also the same with Lendl-san.

Im the only one….. i-is it really alright? This is…… No, it is better to compensate for the exhaustion of magical power as soon as possible, this way Raquel-san and the others will be relieved too.

“….I think that you’re good enough for this. So far, seeing your temperament, I can understand your intention.”

“Doctor-sama, please we ask of you. I think that we can help on anything other than medical treatment.”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

Once again they begged me. While I’m pleased that Raquel-san’s evaluation of me has risen significantly in a day, I couldn’t help feeling guilty.

I take out the tool for applying the ointment –and while Raquel-san and the two maids watch me, I carefully apply the ointment to the chakras scattered around Her Highness body and to the acupuncture points that promote the recovery of magical power.

“Uh….., T-To that place… Is it really necessary…?”

“Doctor-sama is doing it earnestly. This is necessary, Knight Captain Raquel.”

It’s uncomfortable being watched live, so that I won’t get confused, I continued to apply ointment on the 108 chakras placed on Her Highness’ whole body.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


2 thoughts on “Chapter 41: Interrupted Ritual”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.