Homeless Tensei: Isekai De Jiyuu Sugiru Majutsu Jisoku Seikatsu

Chapter 17: Pseudo Dragon

When we arrived at the outer wall surrounding the city, soldiers and adventurers already began their attack. Many arrows are shot and pierced into the monster’s body. Mages wield their cane and attack with fireball nonstop. However, the movement of the magical beast running through the grasslands cannot be stopped.

On its green scales, there are red mottled patterns which are poisonous. It has six legs, there is no horn on its head and it’s a lizard no matter how I look at it. The oblong pupil is restlessly moving around as if it is observing the surroundings.

The monster about 20 meters in length raised dust as it moves and it fiercely heads towards the city.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Is that the pseudo dragon? Isn’t it just a big lizard?”

“That’s how it looks like but you should think of it as a dragon.”

It looks like a lizard but its size is astounding. It seems like it is about two large trucks in width furthermore its vitality is also surprising. Hundreds of arrows were stuck on its back leaving many scars. Normally, with such attack, the creature should have died by now. But those attacks don’t seem to work at all.

“Those so called dragons, are they all like that?”

“Dragons are the strongest race. They’re incomparable to this pseudo dragon.”

“Oh, I see…”

I don’t want to see a dragon. And if possible I also don’t want to fight this pseudo dragon. I just thought that way but Erna took out her bow, pulled the string and fired an arrow.

“This city is my important place. I will never let it be destroyed!”

When the wind arrow was shot, it changed trajectory and hits the flank of the pseudo dragon. Part of it dispersed and dug into the body which looks like it has exploded. With such damage, it worked as expected, the pseudo dragon stopped moving and agonizes in pain.

The soldiers and adventurers who saw it cheered.

“Proceed with the next strategy! Deploy the close combat units!”

After that person who looks like a knight raised his voice, soldiers emerge from the city gate and line up around the outer wall. Then the soldiers set up their spears and ran towards the pseudo dragon.

The soldiers’ spears stabbed one after another into the pseudo dragon’s body that has stopped moving, like a wine, bright red blood gushes out from the wound. The pseudo dragon howled out loud, it opened its mouth wide and exhaled flame.

“This is bad! It’s the breath attack! Run away!”

Erna’s cry is in vain, the intense flames transformed the soldiers into charcoal. That breath attack is continuously breathed out, it also killed the soldiers who tried to escape as if it is vent on wiping out all of them.

Me and Erna who are watching the situation break into a cold sweat.

“Oi-oi….. that was really dangerous.”

“That’s a pseudo dragon all right. It’s not easy to win…”

“What then? Are there other soldiers?”

She shakes her head and stared at me.

“O-Oi, don’t tell me… your asking me to get rid of it?”

“From now on, the adventurers in this city will fight, and if that happens, we’ll also fight that pseudo dragon. If that can be beaten, I think Shinichi is the only one who can do it.”

“………..Aren’t you planning to escape?”

“I will fight even if Shinichi escapes. This city is not my hometown but many important people live in it. I like this Mana city.”

I scratch my head and smile. I didn’t expect to have such an adventure at the age of 56. I was planning to spend the rest of my life in the cold skies of Tokyo, but it seems that fate doesn’t agree with me. Then, I should prepare myself for the worst like a Japanese man would.

“Escape as soon as you are in danger.”

“I’ll be fine, I can run away quickly.”

Me and Erna smiled at each other and run to the gate. Many adventurers have already gathered at the gate, and discussions are being held. It’s like a strategy meeting before the battle.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

There, a woman appears through the crowd.

“Adventurers! I’m one of the guild staffs. I have an urgent report so please listen!”

The woman, probably a guild official, told the adventurers how to easily reach the outer wall.

“Right now, we will present an urgent request from the guild! The subjugation target is the pseudo dragon! We will give you thirty gold coins reward for those party or personnel who can exterminate the monster! Please join us!”

Oooooouuuuuu! The adventurers delightedly raised their voices. Adventurers then gathered from all over the city, and it quickly turned into a festival.

“Adventurers are those who are moved by money huh.”

“That’s thirty gold coins after all. Besides, it’s also a chance to gain fame.”

Erna holds her cane, she’s as excited as usual.

Eh? What happened to her bow?

“Hey, aren’t you fighting with a bow? Why are you now holding a cane?”

“What are you talking about? I’m a mage, so it’s not natural to use cane!”

“….stubbornly insisting that you’re a mage huh.”

Inspired by the adventurers around us, her pride as a Mage may have been set on fire. Well, I think she’ll switch to a bow soon, I don’t want her to do anything absurd.

“Open the gate!”

The gate that was tightly closed open synchronously with the voice. The adventurers rushed out to the field and run to the pseudo dragon. We also start running alongside the others, first of all, I start to move behind the pseudo dragon.

“It looks like we’ve split from the front and the back.”

“Oi, Erna. Eat this while we still have time.”

I threw a balm fruit to Erna.

“What is this?”

“It’s a fruit that enhances the senses. It’s quite useful.”

I also take out a fruit from my bosom and I chew on it while running. Super Sense took effect after a few seconds. I can hear the breathing of the adventurers and the sounds of their heartbeat.

“Whoa! This is amazing! Everyone seems to be slow!”

The effect of the balm fruit surprised Erna. In addition to the super sense, I use the pressure point skill. I’m worried whether it will be effective against this pseudo dragon, but it’s better to try than doing nothing.

I thought so, but all the creatures in front of me showed red dots, my head even hurt. Four red dots were also displayed on the pseudo dragon’s body, I’m now secretly convinced of victory.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

I noticed one thing though. Looking at Erna, there are yellow dots on her waist for some reason. For the first time, I’m confused. Speaking of curiosity, I would like to push it but if it has a similar effect to the red dot, it will only afflict my partner.

It is meaningless to do that.

I shifted my eyes that were focused on Erna’s waist towards the battle in front, I decided to forget the yellow dot.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Gugyaoooo!”

The pseudo dragon violently rampages and sends the adventurers flying. Some of them have been crushed by its big feet like some crushed tomatoes.

Still, there are few people who jumped daringly, their swords swung down on its back and the scales were crushed but it was not a fatal injury. Moreover, before they could deliver their second strike, the adventurers were shaken off its backs one after another.

Finally, me and the others who sneak behind joined the attack, I swing down the Mithril sword on the pseudo dragon’s abdomen.

“Gugyaoooooo!?”

The blow pierces deeply and blood gushes from the cut. It appears that my weapon have good performance unlike the other adventurers. When I tried to make another strike seeing a chance, I was kicked off by its second leg.

“Ugh…”

I bounced off the ground twice, but somehow I can still get up. I dealt a powerful blow but it seems that it was able to guard immediately after. I forgot that it has just six legs.

“Shinichi! Are you all right?”

Erna rushes up to me, I immediately hugs her waist and move sideways. Immediately afterwards, that place was covered in flames. It was the breath attack.

“Damn that was bad! It looks like its target is me.”

The pseudo dragon turn around, it brushed off the adventurers one after another and rushed towards me. Perhaps it got angry at my previous attack.

It is a good news that it now move away from the city, but I don’t feel good being targeted.

“Shinichi, just hold me as it is and run!”

Erna then holds out her cane as she accumulates her magical power and releases magic.

“Fireball!”

A fireball of about 10 cm appears and it flies toward the pseudo dragon. The fireball hit its head and disappeared.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Idiot! Instead of that, use your bow! You’re not a mage, you’re an archer!”

“No! I’m a mage! I don’t like being a swordsman or an archer anymore! I decided to become the strongest mage!”

Erna, grow restive and struggled. I can no longer take this! I then push the yellow dot on her waist. Even if the effect is the same as the red dot, it is perfect for punishment.

“Hyan—?”

Erna’s body quivered and became silent as if she suddenly died.

“Don’t tell me, she really is dead?”

“Fufufu…”

Erna starts to laugh creepily. Something like a transparent aura begins to emerge from her body, distorting the surrounding landscape. The cane that she is holding vibrated and I can even feel the pressure coming from Erna.

“O-Oi, what’s wrong with you?”

“My magic power is stronger than ever…”

“Listen to me! Uwaa!?”

The pseudo dragon who relentlessly pursues me releases another breath attack. Although I avoided it at the last minute, I will eventually get hit as I’m holding Erna.

“Shinichi, I’ll show you my true power now!”

“Then do something about this situation!”

“Okay, watch my spectacular debut as a Mage! Flame Burst!!”

The transparent aura converges on the cane and a red fireball with a diameter of 5m appears and it was emitted without any sound. Then it caused an explosion and raised black smoke. The blast burns the ground and blows everything around.

“Uwaa!?”

Me and Erna fell to the ground and I even hit my back with that powerful blast.

“O-Ouch!…..what on earth have you done?”

When I got up, Erna landed on her face. I was worried and tried to hold her up but I heard a creepy laugh instead.

“Kufufu… Kufufufufu…”

“E-Erna? Are you okay?”

She stood up and pointed her finger at the pseudo dragon.

“How was it? Have you seen the power of Mage Erna?!”

“Ah?”

The whole body of pseudo dragon turned black and smoke is rising from it. Moreover, the power of the explosion was considerable as craters were also created.

“By any chance, did you kill it with one blow?”

“This is the power of the advanced magic flame burst. Now then, get rid of all the thoughtless words you have said.”

I don’t remember uttering thoughtless words, but it’s probably rooted in the phrase “You’re not a mage”.

“Alright, it’s my bad. Erna is definitely a mage.”

“Kuhahahaha! My life as a Mage has just begun!”

I leave the overly elated Erna and move towards the pseudo dragon. I think that it died in the explosion, but I can’t feel relieved unless I confirmed it.

I felt a sense of discomfort as I approach a point-blank range. “Dokun- dokun-”, I can still hear its heartbeat. The moment I realized it, the pseudo dragon begin to move and exhaled a breath attack.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Shinichi!!?”

I heard Erna’s voice. Like a revolving lantern, I also remember the images from this world, and the bright red flame burns my body.

―No, I felt like I was burning. However, the heat did not come at all. When I opened my eyes, the flame around me disappeared. I stand alone inside a bright red space.

Grin.

I already knew that my robe could nullify magic and apparently, that breath attack is magical. If so, there is nothing to be scared of. Going straight through the breath attack that is breathed out, I stabbed the sword into the mouth of the pseudo dragon.

“Gyaooon!?”

The breathed flame disappeared and I jump straight to the back of the pseudo dragon. From here on, I’ll show my real ability. I step on the scales that were burnt black and stab the sword into the red dot on its back.

The scales were crushed and the blade of the Mithril sword sinks deeply. I could feel the sensation and I can even hear the sound of the flesh being torn, and while the pseudo dragon violently rampage, I desperately grabs the sword.

“I’ll help you right now! Flame chain!”

After I heard that the sound, a red chain wraps around the pseudo dragon’s body. It seems that Erna is magically supporting me.

“With this, it’s oveeeer!”

I pulled out the sword all at once then jump and thrust the sword against to the pseudo dragon’s head. Even if it’s a dragon-like monster, this pseudo dragon cannot live if its brain is destroyed.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

As expected, it stopped moving and lay motionless on the ground like a marionette with broken threads.

“You did it! Shinichi! We won against a pseudo dragon!”

I sit down with my sword pierced as it is, I smiled watching Erna laugh in high spirits. To be honest, I would have died without this robe.

“What the hell are you?”

I murmured at the black robe I wore.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


5 thoughts on “Chapter 17: Pseudo Dragon”

  1. Thanks for the chapter desu~

    We’re getting awfully close to where the manga left off, huh? I’ll be waiting for Shinichi’s evolution and third eye.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.