Homeless Tensei: Isekai De Jiyuu Sugiru Majutsu Jisoku Seikatsu

Chapter 16: Something came to the city

A man I’m not familiar with came inside the warehouse and he starts to inspect the centipede immediately. Although he looks old, there’s an unusual dandy atmosphere around him, maybe because he’s a white man.

There are white hairs mixed on his hair and beard and his stubbles were neatly trimmed. He’s dressed in an orange robe and he has a cane in his hand, which suggests that he is a mage.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Hmmm, it’s in an excellent condition. Above all it’s better than I expected, I also appreciate having more material.”

While the man was saying such a thing, I also took out the request form from my pocket and check the details in it. The client is a person called Duffy but further details were not included.Translated by Yume Neiji

“Uh, I just want to confirm one thing, are you the one called Duffy?”

“Hn? That’s right, you are?”

“I am Shinichi Tanaka who accepted the request for this fork centipede. The person over there is my comrade, Erna.”

As I introduce myself, the man takes my hand and shakes it firmly.

“Thank you. I’m grateful that you brought so much material, I can now help the patient.”

“Patient? This centipede will be used as a medicine?”

“That’s right. This ice centipede’s shell is effective against a certain disease, but it is a rare magical beast and it is hard to see one. Fortunately, I heard that there are subspecies in the third level of the dungeon in this town, I’ve always been waiting for someone to accept my request you see.” Read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com

“I see……”

Then I listened to the full story. Apparently, there is a girl in the neighbouring town with an incurable disease. As a doctor, he stayed in this city for over a month, waiting for the day when his request was finally fulfilled. I was deeply moved by the enthusiasm of such doctor and I’m glad that the suffering girl will finally be saved.

“Well then, this is your reward.”

As soon as I received the reward placed in a leather bag, I look inside. Certainly, the reward is exactly what was written on the request. I pulled out a few silver coins and returned the leather bag to him.

“Hn? What do you mean by this?”

“As doctor, it would mean that this request fee was also paid by the patient’s family. If so, half the price would be enough. Let the patient eat the nutritious food with the remaining money.”

“But… this is your rightful reward. I’ll feel bad as you even brought this much material for me.”

“Don’t object. I’ve already decided, I’m not going to accept any more than this. Erna, we’re going.”

I then step out of the warehouse with Erna in tow. I could feel that the doctor was bowing towards us on our way out, I hope that the girl with the incurable disease could be saved.

“Shinichi, that’s a good act.”

Erna, who is grinning, looks kind of blissful.

“I just felt sorry for the sick girl. And if we could sell that doctor a favor, we may be saved later on.”

“Uh, you’re not being honest. In truth, you really want to return the full amount right?”

Hmmm, was it that obvious? I really wanted to return the full amount, but I thought it would be bad to do so. Still, I don’t want to get the reward as it was stated. I can’t bear to do that.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Stop grinning, we’re going home.”

“Ye~ s”

Me and Erna left the city and returned to the dungeon.

 ◆◇◆

As usual, we’re working in the field. Three days passed since we accepted that request, but nothing has changed in particular.

No, there was one. My body became stronger and my status also upgraded.

Status
Name:  Shinichi Tanaka
Age:  17 years old (56 years old)
Race:  Homeless
Occupation:  Adventurer
Magic attribute:  No Attribute
Magic:  None
Skills:  Appraisal (Advanced) ↑, Pressure Point (Intermediate), Swordsmanship (Intermediate) ↑, Archery(Beginner), Axemanship(Beginner)New, Spearmanship(Beginner)New, Taijutsu A (Beginner) New

Finally, appraisal skill reached advance level. Since I hadn’t seen my status for a while, I truly regret that I didn’t notice these changes. Next is my swordsmanship, it’s now in the intermediate level.

Many other skills have been added, but honestly, this is within my expectation. In addition to sword training, I have recently practiced using axe and spear.

With these almighty skills, I think I’ll be having more advantage during battles. Besides, there’s a reason why these so called skills are easy to learn, it’s a loss not utilizing them.

I can’t remember practicing Taijutsu though. Perhaps the kicks and punches I used during the battles were considered. However, the “A” part is intriguing.

There was once a business owner who I’m familiar with and he liked martial arts. He told me that martial arts is not only about kicking and punching, in addition to that, there are throwing techniques.

Remembering that, I think that it is not strange that there are several types of skill for Taijutsu. Thinking that way, I can understand why it’s Taijustsu A. I’m sure there’s also a technique called Taijutsu B.

And the thing that caught my attention the most is my occupation, it changed from Homeless to Adventurer. Finally, I got a job. However, my race didn’t change, it’s still homeless.

“This hasai is really delicious right~?”

I stop my hands from weeding and then I take a look at Erna. Right now she’s packing a pile of vegetables in her rucksack, it looks like she’s happy harvesting hasai.

“You speak like that’s extremely rare. There are Hasai on the ground too right?”

“You don’t understand! Shinichi doesn’t even know how wonderful this place is!”

“Oh, uhm…”

Erna got angry all of a sudden and she starts rolling her eyes.

“Shinichi, did you not think of anything when were on the market above?”

Speaking of that, the vegetables here are not sold in the market. I thought it’s related to the season or something but am I wrong?

“The vegetables and fruits here are all high-class ingredients! To obtain them, one has to go to a country far away. But these vegetables grow all together and they even grow regardless of the season. If you still don’t understand how amazing this place is, somebody will surely come to steal this place!”

Ugh, it will really be troublesome if this place is robbed. I find it fun to live here. Erna is right. I should keep my mouth tight about this place.

“Thank you Erna. I was about to tell it to someone inadvertently.”

“Ahem, now you know. I’m a reliable partner, right?”

While saying so, Erna nibble on the Momon fruit plucked off the tree.

Oi, don’t eat while working!

An idea flashed into my mind as I watch Erna. That’s right!, let me try the advanced appraisal skill.

【Appraisal Result: Erna Frederia: The second daughter of the Frederia family. Her ancestry is known as one of the best mages but she can only deploy beginner magic. She’s famous as the defective mage in Mana City】

Status
Name:  Erna Frederia
Age:  19 years old
Race:  Elves
Occupation:  Adventurer
Magic attribute:  Fire | Light
Magic:  Fireball, Light
Skills:  Archery (Intermediate), Hell Ears (Beginner)

“I did it! I saw it!”

I jumped involuntarily. I can now finally see the status of others! But I’m at a loss for words regarding Erna’s status…

Her archery barely becomes a force during battles, it is probably because she was originally training as a mage. I’ve seen her use magic once, but the fireballs are only about 10cm in size, and the light skill is literally used for illumination.

Unexpectedly, I saw an unfamiliar skill, it’s called Hell Ears.

I wonder what Hell Ears meant? While pondering about that, I involuntarily look at Erna’s ears. Don’t tell me… is it what I’m thinking of? Erna’s ears are big, no wonder she has that skill.

“Hey, for a while now, what are happy about?”

“Nothing, I’m just glad because I can now see the status of others.”

“Eh!? Status of others!? By any chance…”

Her face flushed red and she hid behind the tree.

“Shinichi you pervert! You can’t just thoughtlessly look at the status of others!”

“Um, okay, it’s my bad. But let me ask you a question, what is Hell Ears skill?”

Erna answers behind the tree.

“Hell ear is a skill that often appears in elves. When activated, it doubles one’s hearing, which is useful for searching.”

“Oh, But why is it that it’s on the beginner level on your status?”

“The more a person levels up, the farther he can hear. But the skill doesn’t grow unless the person uses it, and the degree of growth is also related to the person’s talent, so it does not necessarily level up you see.”

“Oh, so skill can only be achieved by using it. Interesting.”

Even though I already ended the appraisal, Erna’s face is still red. Her eyes were somehow moist too.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Uh, Shinichi has seen my status…..”

“Y-Yeah, I saw it. In exchange, do you want to see mine? If I open my status, other people can probably see it too.”

I then opened my status and showed it to Erna .

“Whoa! Amazing!, your status is not of a knight’s level. Huh? Your race is homeless? Also, next to your age… there’s a description…”

“I don’t really understand why my race is homeless. 56 years old is my mental age. Think of it like I’m older than what I look.”

“You’re not a human… Inside, you’re even older than me…”

While looking at my status, Erna looked glad for some reason. I think she’s really a strange person. After showing my status, we carried the harvested vegetables back to the hideout.

Immediately after that, we prepared for departure and set up our equipments.

Today, we will go to the ground.

 ◆◇◆

 “This is all of it.”

From my rucksack, I placed the large amount of magic stones on the counter. Stones of red, blue, and green are piled up and they reflect some glitter.

We are currently at Rodman’s weapon store.

I had been asked to bring magic stone before, so today, I decided to dispose all of it at once for the sake of organizing the warehouse. The total number is 235.

“Oh, that’s a pretty large number. The total number is different from what I expected huh.”

“Is it no good to purchase them?”

“No, not that. I’m rather happy that there are many magic stones. I did tell you that magic stone is a consumable item right? About 5cm of the stone will disappear in a month time if you continuously use it. And those with poor quality will sometimes be consumed quicker than what is expected. For that reason, everyone buys them.”

Rodman’s explanation piqued my interest. He talked about poor quality, but what does a magic stone with good quality mean?

“What does a magic stone with good quality look like?”

“Oh that? Rumour has it that when it comes to magic stone with good quality, it has a high degree of transparency and sparkles. Well, it seems that higher quality stones are bigger in size, more or less it’s fist-sized. And no matter how often you use it, it’s said that it won’t be easily consumed. Supposedly, it could last for about 2000 years.”

Me and Erna were startled. The stove in the hideout was equipped with a magic stone exactly of that category. Even Erna used to nonchalantly say, “It’s a big magic stone. We don’t have to replace it for a while.”

Swallowing raw saliva, I ask Rodman the next question,

“I-If we manage to find and sell something of that size, how much would it fetch?”

“Ah? Hmmm, that’s right…. but wouldn’t it fall as a national treasure class? I can’t buy it then.”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

It’s a national treasure!? And here I am using it normally!

“National treasure…”

Erna shows a creepy smile. I’m sure she’s delighted as it will fetch a huge sum of money. After this, I have to persuade her not to sell it.

“Wait for a bit. I’ll finish the appraisal soon.”

Rodman checks the magic stones with the magnifying glass and immediately writes on the paper. He looks like a bulldog but he has this aura that you can work well with him. I want to keep in touch with him in the future.

“This way! Gather quickly!”

After I heard the hurried voices outside, I peeked from inside the store and I could see that a lot of people are running somewhere. Most of them are soldiers and adventurers, but their facial expressions look tense.

“Rodman, it’s noisy outside.”

“Hn? Ah, if that’s the case, isn’t it because “Pseudo Dragon” is coming?”

“Pseudo Dragon?”

I titled my head in puzzlement, but Erna is so astonished that her eyes are wide open.

“For some time now, I’ve heard rumours that it’s approaching the city, but it’s too late to escape now. Maybe the adventurers or soldiers can do something about it. It would be better if they can repel it well.”

Rodman replied while appraising the magic stones but he didn’t really answer my question. Erna answered my question before instead.

“Shinichi, Pseudo Dragon is a large lizard that resembles a dragon. It’s a ferocious and nasty magical beast that eats humans. Previously, when the Pseudo Dragon came to this city, there were more than a hundred people eaten. Many adventurers and soldiers were killed.”

“Ah, that’s right. There are also tough monsters on the ground.”

I stand up quickly.

“Rodman, I’ll take a look at that Pseudo Dragon thing. I’ll get the money later, so just have it ready.”

“Alright, that Pseudo Dragon has a breath attack, so be careful.”

“Un, I’ll pay attention to it.” Me and Erna rushed out of the store and followed the direction the soldiers took.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


5 thoughts on “Chapter 16: Something came to the city”

    1. I wonder what the Homeless race can evolve into. There are elves and high elves, humans and high humans, and homeless and…high homeless?

      Like

  1. Thanks for the chapter…

    Finally a fight outside of dungeon.
    He is living inside a dungeon, so rather than homeless isn’t ‘caveman’ is more fitting for him, since dungeon is basically a damn big and deep cave…

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.