Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 43: First Aid

The room next to the bedroom of Her Highness seems to be a room reserved for the maids, the room is also simple and the only decoration is the flowers on top of the chest.

“…..what should I do?”

“Hmmm yeah….. then…. on the bed…”

“Uh… t-there’s a chair over there, w-why should it be on the bed…”

“N-No, I don’t mean anything weird. If we use that small chair in front of a dressing table, you will put a lot of effort into maintaining your posture. I’d like to perform the medical examination while you’re in a comfortable position.”

“I-I see… I’m sorry, I’ve only been checked by female doctor until now. Since you’re a man, I’m over alert… apologies for my rudeness.”

Raquel-san then sits on the bed. I went around the other side of the bed and look at her back –Raquel-san adjusted the ponytail on her back forward to make it easier for me to see.

“…as a knight, my hair should be shorter but I have no time to cut it so it continues to grow. I think it is ugly so please excuse me for now.”

She says so. Magic warrior has better body metabolism than a normal person in the first place so her hair grows faster.

Fortunately, her speed of recovery is good. She puts too much strain on her body and it even leads to slight muscle rupture, thankfully, she recovers before it became worst –However, there are some areas that cannot be supplemented by that alone. That is the tendons and joints part.

“Raquel-san, can you take off your coat?”

She nods and takes off her coat distinct for a general. From the collar of the shirt she’s wearing, I can already see the bandage wrapped around her upper body –it’s supposed to be for pain relief.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

Her method of wrapping the bandage was either instructed by the previous medical doctor or considered so as not to impede violent movement. However, bandaging techniques are also improving day by day, and there is also a bandaging method devised by doctors in the royal capital for those who practice military arts.

“Can you move it a little? Can you move it like this?”

“Uh…..t-that much… there’s no problem…”

As expected, the burden on her body exceeds the limit as she swings that super heavy lance. Her tendons are inflamed and the joints are worn out. If this continuous, osteophytes may occur and it will be painful.

But osteophytes cannot be surgically removed. Because its natural healing power is high, if you are at rest, you will not have much pain… But what should be immediately dealt with is the inflammation of the tendon. If you will not apply medicine, the whole body will be burning in fever.

“…Raquel-san, if the next enemy attack comes, will you still fight on the frontlines?”

“That’s a given. That’s what I’ve always been doing and I’m still in a good shape now. The reason not to fight is…”

“But… if Astina-denka didn’t go to help Raquel-san, it would have been a tougher battle.”

“Uh…That is…”

Raquel-san is at a loss for words. And now I also remember that I blocked the movements of the enemy archers to support Raquel-san. Moreover, she was aware of it –her eyes that stared at me are totally different from the way she looks at me until now.

“…..At that time I was prepared to be shot by the arrows of the enemy archers. Even if I have some injury, I can still defeat the enemy…. However, the movements of the archers were delayed unnaturally. If that was done by my allies, there is only one thing I can think of… I was saved by magic.”

The only magicians on the side of the scene were me and Lendl-san. Even though she couldn’t even see me who was far behind, Raquel-san still concluded that it was me who did it.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“First of all, I should have thanked you at that time. When you’re treating Her Highness, I didn’t take my position in account and I keep on saying something unnecessary…”

 “N-No… I know how much Raquel-san adores Her Highness, I understand that. That feeling of respect for Her Highness…. I am the same. So please don’t worry about it.”

 “…..you are not offended?”

“Yes, not at all… Though I’m like this, I also want to live like a big tree. In the academy, there is an old tree that I used to call “grandpa”. That’s grandpa is very generous, that’s how I want to be…”

“…I also want to be like that. If I could talk to plant spirits, would I also be affected that way…?”

Raquel-san listened to my story with full of interest. I’ve never seen anyone with such a face, except Leslie, Sven, and my stepsister. That time, I wonder if the Magic Academy is a cut-off world.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“…As you have said, I use heavy equipment that put a strain on my body. Every time I swing my lance, pain starts to run through my body and nowadays, even if I just walk while wearing my armor, my upper body starts to hurt. When I sleep, my body heats up and sometimes I can’t sleep.”

“I see, that’s as I expected… Thank you for telling me. Actually, I would like to make a plan for your full scale treatment but for the time being, I will give you first aid.”

I take out another ointment that I haven’t used for Her Highness. Then Raquel-san widens her eyes as she tries to protect her body –her white skin instantly flushes and turns red.

“T-That’s… like Her Highness, To m-my… all over  my body…”

“N-No, I will not do that.”

“What……?”

“I know that Raquel-san will either take off the bandage or rewound it before going to bed. At that time, please apply this ointment to the places I pointed out. I’ll create an illustration for it. And regarding the bandage, there is an even better way of doing it, so try bandaging it around me as practice.”

Raquel blinks her long eyelashes –did she think that I’ll be the one to apply it on her? If I do that, I’ll receive suspicion from others even if Raquel-san gives her permission.

“…I-I didn’t misunderstood anything. That’s right, if you teach me, I can apply it myself.”

She looks like she’s a little bit sulking, it’s probably my fault. And there is still one more thing I have to say to her.

“This is only for first aid, once Zirconia ceases their attacks, we will start with the full scale treatment.”Translated by Yume Neiji

“…I-I understand. I promise.”

“I’m glad. Then, first of all, the places where you should apply the ointment… I need to check if it’s painful so tell me if it is.”

Raquel did exactly what I said and I’m able to identify the painful parts. With this, she will not be seriously injured until the next attack.

However, as I have not told her yet, in order to suppress the muscle fatigue, tendon burden, and inflammation of each part that has progressed to this point, it is necessary to do a quite painful treatment.

About that, I would like to ask for her understanding during the actual treatment.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


1 thought on “Chapter 43: First Aid”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.