Homeless Tensei: Isekai De Jiyuu Sugiru Majutsu Jisoku Seikatsu

Chapter 23: Rival’s Appearance?

After completing the request, we returned to Mana city before the sun set. As I carry the mother wrapping spider on my back, many people shift their attention to us as soon as we enter the town.

Even though they live in a world where monsters live, many people in the city live a life unrelated to them. Perhaps because of that, the demon beast that I killed seems to be rare for them.

“Oniichan, did you just come back from hunting monsters again?”

The children in the town gather and the girl in group asked me. Apparently, homeless party is the focus of attention among the children.

I put down the spider on my back and pat the girl’s head gently.

“Amazing right? This demon beast is called the mother wrapping spider.”

“Whoa! It’s huge!”

The children were interested in the spider and they poke it with their fingers. Along with that, the adults also come to see the spider. Some of them seemed like adventurers, and there was a storm of questions about where it was found and how strong it was.

“Shinichi, if we don’t get going now, it will be night already you know?”

“Oh, right. Then, see you again guys.”

After bidding goodbye to the crowd, I carry the spider on my back and head to the guild.

“See you again!”

When we came in front of the guild, the usual guild staff is once again angry. Although her red hair is very short that she looks boyish, her well defined and pretty features are still very attractive. Her figure seems to be slender and I can say that she has a modest chest.

“I’m sorry, I didn’t know what material should we bring so I brought the whole thing.”

The staff clicks her tongue and turns around to look at the spider that I am carrying. However, the staff said no more.

“Is this….. a mother wrapping spider?”

“Yeah, we had a hard time defeating it.”

“…..I understand. Please carry it to the warehouse.”

“Thanks”

We left and headed to the warehouse behind the guild.

“Why did that employee suddenly grow up?”

“Shinichi doesn’t seem to understand it well but the mother wrapping spider is quite rare. Moreover, since it’s such big game, that staff couldn’t complain.”

“So that’s what it is huh…. but that employee seems to have recognized it.”

When we arrived at the warehouse, the visitor before us is grilling meat on a bonfire. Moreover, he is sitting in a chair and drinking.

“Hahaha, it looks like you angered Ciel again huh.”

This person is none other than Bud, the guild manager of this branch. His appearance of showing white teeth and laughing for a long time strangely invites a sense of familiarity. For the time being, I laid the spider on the floor and approached Bud to ask about that employee.

“Is that child called Ciel? Why does she flare up at us?”

“As I said before, Ciel is an employee from the royal capital. There are many rules over there, and such hard-headed people are many. Because of that, homeless’ manner of doing things gets on her nerves.”

“Ho~o, then the adventurers in the city are likely to have limited freedom.”

“That’s right. Because the guild is stronger than the adventurer, it is a famous story that there are many arrogant staff members. In that respect, without an adventurer, the city can’t be protected. As long as you don’t commit a crime, you can be tolerated.”

When I heard Bud’s story, I felt that Mana city suits my nature. I was also a Japanese who was born and raised in Tokyo. I lived surrounded by many rules but when I decided to became homeless, I decided to abandon those traits. I love freedom more than anything else.

“By the way, is it the mother wrapping spider?”

Bud asked as he pointed the spider.

“Yes, but for its appraisal should I call the staff?”

“If that’s the case, I’ll look at it. Though I look like this, I can appraise demon beasts.”

He started examining the spider then he took out a leather bag from his bosom and handed me several gold coins.

“Five gold coins. The condition is good and the shop will be happy as there are so many materials.”

“Shop?”

“The guild wholesales the raw materials we got from the adventurers to armor shops or magical tool shops. The shop processes the materials and sells them at double the purchase price. To get those materials, the adventurers buy them again. It’s a trend in this world.”

“I see…. So there’s an arrangement like that huh. It’s quite an amusing story.”

When I said so, Erna and Bud looked at each other and they seemed shocked.

“…..But it’s extremely big. When it becomes this big, it’s getting closer to advanced class.”

 “Advanced class?”

I tilt my head to the side in confusion to Bud’s words.

“There are also ranks for demon beasts and monsters. From the bottom, it has beginner class, intermediate class, advanced class, special class and master class. Needless to say, this classification is roughly made.”

“So this spider is in an intermediate class huh… by the way, how about those pseudo dragons?”

“They are considered to be in advanced class.”

Hoh, so that’s how it is. That should be the reason why everyone was panicked. I also heard from Erna that there are no advanced rank adventurers in this city though the worst known dungeon, Mohed’s Great Dungeon is nearby.

The reason is simple. This is because, as soon as they became an advanced rank adventurer, they will depart for the royal capital. Mohed’s Great Dungeon prospered as a training ground for adventurers in this country and it seems that improving their ability by putting themselves in a tough battle is usual here.

It also seems that there are many cases where those adventurers who trained in Mohed’s Great Dungeon became famous in the royal capital so Mana city became the nest for beginner and intermediate ranked adventurers.

Of course, some brave people tries to go through Mohed’s Great Dungeon, but when they go beyond a certain number of floor, the difficulty level jumps up rapidly and they seemed to be wiped out in no time.

With that, the adventurers who live in this city aim to become advanced rank adventurers while gaining abilities in the low floors and when they achieved that, they will leave the city. Because what they truly want is not in Mohed’s Great Dungeon.

“Looking at last time and this time’s achievement, Homeless’ ability is already in advanced class. You guys can raise it to an advanced class by completing few more requests, what will you do?”

“What do you mean by “what will we do?””

“Nothing, I just wonder whether you guys will go to the royal capital as well.”

“For the time being we don’t have any business in the royal capital. I also live in the dungeon and I think my current lifestyle is not bad. I like this city you know.”

With a broad smile, Bud takes my hand and shakes it firmly.

“I’m sure Homeless will become an indispensable part of this city. If you’re okay with me, you can come and talk to me anytime.”

“Same here, I’ll be in your care.”

“M-Me too! I’m here too!”

Erna also shakes hands with Bud. Both of us are members of the Homeless party so of course Erna should not be forgotten. When I thought that it was about time to go home, as if he remembered something, Bud opened his mouth to speak,

“Ah right, someone is looking for Homeless at the guild.”

“Looking for us? What kind of person?”

“Well, a pair of man and woman, both of whom seem to be intermediate adventurers. They said they came from the royal capital but they seemed to be very interested in the Homeless party rumoured in this city. For the time being, I told them that you guys were out today as you are doing a request but I think they are still in the guild.”

I looked at Erna’s face.

“I have a bad feeling…”

“Me too…”

My intuition at times like this is generally true. Moreover as they are adventurers like us, I wonder why they’re looking for us.

I hope it’s not bothersome…

For the time being, we say goodbye to Bud and head into the guild.

 ◆◇◆

“When will they come back? Bring those homeless people here quickly!”

When I entered the guild, I heard the youth’s yell. Looking at the counter, a pair of man and woman was shouting at the receptionist.

The man has short golden hair and he has clean-cut features to which he looks like a beautiful young man at a glance. He is tall and likely to be 180cm and he has firm muscles on his body. All of the light equipments he wears have silver radiance and although the sword equipped on his waist is already used, it still has shiny luster signifying that it is well maintained.

The woman on the other hand is wearing a purple robe and a purple pointed hat. Her long blonde hair has a loose perm style, and her pair of golden eyes is a little slanted upwards which gives a strong impression. She also has a good body figure and she can be said to be a beautiful woman. And her ears are long and sharp.

“No matter how long you wait, I can’t make such call, so please ― Ah! Tanaka-sama!”

The receptionist who we are acquainted with saw me and called out to me.

I want to observe them a little more if possible but even the receptionist who should have been responding to them for a while now would like to be freed from them as soon as possible. We then approached the pair of man and woman.

“It looks like you were looking for us, uh― what the heck is that for?!”

When I questioned them, the man suddenly pulls out his sword and stabbed the tip of his sword to my throat.

“Be my comrades. Your proper place should be as my subordinates.”

“……”

I dared not avoid the man’s sword.

This is because with my Swordsmanship Skill (Advanced), just by looking, I can tell whether or not the opponent has the intention of attacking me. Rather than that, I’m extremely fed up by the man’s words. Furthermore, suddenly pulling out the sword is impolite and very rude.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

I don’t want to quarrel over a trivial matter but even on earth or any other world, if one was to pull out a sword in front of you, it only means his turning hostile.

“Arvish-sama, with such difference in ability, you’ll frighten the other party you know?”

“That’s obvious. My ability isn’t just intermediate, other than that, you guys decide whether to follow me or not.”

The woman, who should be a mage, is grinning and has a smug look on her face as she looks at me. The man showed a complacent countenance as his sword pointed at me. They were so arrogant to suddenly appear here and say that they want us to become their comrades.

I used appraisal on these two people.

【Appraisal Result: Arvish Gloris: The third son of the Gloris family. He is endowed with swordsmanship talent, rumoured to be a genius in the royal capital. Being spoiled, he is very immature and arrogant. 】

【Status】
Name:  Arvish Gloris
Age:  17 yrs. old
Race:  Human
Occupation:  Adventurer
Magic attribute:  Fire
Magic:  Fire ball, Fire arrow
Skills: Swordsmanship(Special), Spearmanship (Intermediate), Shield Art(Beginner), Taijutsu A (Intermediate), Body Strengthening (Advanced)

【Appraisal Result: Feria Benesse: The second daughter of the Benesse family. She is endowed with magical talent and has two attributes by nature. Pride is very high and she is hostile towards Erna Frederia】

【Status】
Name:  Feria Benesse
Age:  19 yrs. old
Race:  Elves
Occupation:  Adventurer
Magic attribute:  Water | Wind
Magic:  Aqua ball, Aqua arrow, Aqua wall, Aqua Cure, Spear Rain, Aquarius Recovery, Air ball, Air Arrow, Air Cutter, Air Wall
Skills: Spearmanship (Advanced), Archery(Advanced), Hell Ear (Intermediate), Danger Detection (Intermediate)

Certainly with such abilities, I can understand why they are so arrogant.

Arvish’s sword skill has reached a special level and I am particularly interested about his body strengthening skill. As for Feria, it shows her high level ability as a mage. It is true that her rank as a mage is one tier higher than Erna and she also has advanced archery. Moreover, they may know each other as she has hostility towards Erna.

That also proves why Erna has been hiding behind me all the time since she entered the guild.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Oh my! Perhaps the one over there is Erna right?”

Feria deliberately speaks to Erna. Her eyes look joyous as if she is looking at a toy.

“Fe, Feria, it’s been a while…”

With a frightened appearance, Erna steps forward in front of Feria.

“What’s with that attitude!? It’s Feria-sama, right?”

With a faint smile, Feria draws closer to Erna.

“W-Wait! Look! I’m also able to use advanced magic now you know! I’m different from before!”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“…..He-h, you can now do it huh. But in the end you’re below me right? Then, shouldn’t you lick my shoes like you used to?”

Erna bit her lips and trembles. Somehow I feel like I can see the relationship between them.

“Oi, quickly answer me! Will you or will you not become my comrade!?”

Arvish yells with his sword pointed at me.

No matter what, I do not like these two. To be clear, I hate them. Then the answer is fixed.

“I refuse!”

Arvish clicks his tongue at my reply.

“You’re saying that because you don’t know me right?”

“It doesn’t matter to me who you are. I decided that I will only associate with those I like. You even made Erna sad, I’ll feel nauseous to be comrades with the likes of you.”

“All right. Let me etch my strength in your body then!”

Arvish cuts down his sword with a speed that a normal person would not see.

―However, when I activated my super sensation skill, I can see all of his sword’s movement at the minimum.Translated by Yume Neiji

By using Eyesight Enhancement, I was able to understand that my visual acuity further bounced up and I could see his movements. Even if my opponent has swordsmanship (special), I can still avoid it.

“You avoided it just now huh….. then, how about this!”

His sword, whose speed has further increased, makes a series of attacks. But unquestionably, I can still perceive his sword’s movement.

As I see it, there is also a rank between skills and super sensation may be far higher than swordsmanship.

“I think that’s enough.”

While avoiding his attacks, I approached Arvish and in an instant I grab his arm and chest and throw him at an empty wall.

“Ugguh!?”

It seems that the guy who slammed into the wall hit his back, “Feria! Recovery!” he continued to shout while holding his waist, it’s a very pathetic scene. Feria runs up to him and she then lifts her cane and use magic.

“Aqua Cure!”

Arvish’s body was wrapped in blue light and he appears to be recovering rapidly. Seeing that, I ask Erna a question.

“What is aqua cure?”

“It’s an intermediate water magic. It can’t heal major injuries but minor ones will be healed in an instant.”

“Hoh, the magical effect is similar to cure mushroom huh.”

Arvish stood up borrowing Feria’s shoulder, he cast a murderous look towards me.

“To dare throw me away… I heard the rumour and I’m here to make you guys my comrades…”

“This guy is the son of the Marquis of Gloris family! I will report this to the Royal Capital!”

“Do whatever you like. With you like that, even if I die I won’t become your comrades.”

Arvish and Feria sweared at us first then they left the guild.

Not just us, even the adventurers and staffs who were watching the whole scenario were relieved. Apparently, they had been a nuisance to the guild.

“Erna, are you okay?”

“Yeah….. I’ll get stronger.”

With a tearful look, Erna grips her cane. I gently hugged her and said, “Become a great mage.”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

I’m sure Erna will become a great mage!


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


4 thoughts on “Chapter 23: Rival’s Appearance?”

    1. Thanks for the chapter desu~

      Ah, it’s this clichéd scene. Stuck up noble picks a fight with MC, gets beaten the snot out of, complains and cries to daddy, stupid noble daddy gives him treasured sword, fights MC again, loses spectacularly, etc.

      The two should go train in the dungeon until they become much stronger than before and Shinichi acquires a bunch of new skills.

      [After completing the request, we returned to Mana city before the sun sets.]
      * sets —> set

      [“Why did that employee grow up?”]
      * Was this translated correctly?

      [“Shinichi doesn’t seem to understand it well but mother wrapping spider is quite rare. Moreover, since it such big game, the staff couldn’t complain.”]
      * but mother wrapping spider —> but the mother wrapping spider
      * since it such big game —> since it’s such a big game

      [When we arrived at the warehouse, the visitor before us is grilling meat on a bonfire. Moreover, he is sitting in a chair and drinking.]
      * is grilling meat —> was grilling meat

      [The guild wholesales the raw materials we got from the adventurers to armor shops or magical tool shops.]
      * got —> get

      [“No matter how long you wait, I can’t make such call, so please ― Ah! Tanaka-sama!”]
      * such call —> such a call

      [While avoiding his attacks, I approached Arvish and in an instant I grab his arm and chest and throw him to an empty wall.]
      * to an empty wall —> at an empty wall

      [“To dare threw me away… I heard the rumour and I’m here to make you guys my comrades…”]
      * threw —> throw

      Also, shouldn’t it be [Advanced Class] rather than [Advance Class]?

      Like

  1. Thanks for the chapter…

    Lure them to the dungeon and then kill them there, then absorb his skill.
    Of course in a way that will not cause any suspicion…

    Like

    1. then just tell the other people that they encountered a super strong beast and they died in the fight. Also shinchi should injure himself a bit to make it seem more real.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.