Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 49: Spirit Mark

I apologize once again for not being able to post chapters. For now, I’ll stick with the scheduled release. To make it up to you for the missed chapters, I’ll post extra double chapter once I have advance translation. Thank you for your usual support. ^_^


It seems that Leslie’s identity has already been written in the letter given by my stepsister to Her Highness. In other words, Astina-denka knows about Leslie so she was allowed to be here. It doesn’t mean that I’m deceiving my lord, Astina-denka then. Though I explained it like that, Leslie once again dressed as a man with the interference of air spirits and returned to her “Lendl” look.

It is almost time for Karin to finish copying Her Highness’ spirit mark on the paper. It’s only half, so I still have to figure out the whole image, restore it, and then draw it on Her Highness’ body.

“I, I think I can restore the pattern of the spirit mark. Remembering patterns is my forte you see.”

“Is that true? That being the case, since Leslie is also a woman, you can draw on Her Highness body…”

When I said so, Leslie shook her head. I thought it was a good idea but why is it a no go?

“A while ago, Grass-nii…”

She speaks while we are walking in the hallway and her original voice resonates. Leslie rephrased her words halfway so that it would be okay even if someone hears us.

“Since Grass-sensei was prompted to restore Her Highness’ magical power, Grass-sensei’s magical power entered Astina-denka’s body then. If I will be the one to draw the spirit mark, I think there will be a backlash… because I have “immunity” you see.”

“R-Right…”

“I think Sensei understands that as well. I know Sensei is kind and that you truly care about Her Highness but this is a doctor’s job. Everyone will not be wary of you so please do the medical treatment confidently.”

She’s really a reliable secretary –or rather, it’s like the usual preaching from a younger sister.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

However, as what Leslie had said, I can’t refute it. Originally, I also thought that I should be the one to take a look at Her Highness’ body to see the spirit mark and copy it rather than leaving it to Karin. Well I didn’t do that, exactly as Leslie pointed out.

Not to mention that… The spirit mark is drawn in places where I cant say its not embarrassing. Basically, it’s supposed to be drawn by the same sex….

“Grass-sensei, I’m sorry if my words seemed to be excessive. However since you will be facing women from here on, I don’t think that you should be reserved…”

“No, it is as Leslie says. It’s a matter regarding Her Highness body… In the future, I’ll do what I need to do as a doctor. I can’t say immature things.”

“…I think everyone is pleased to have such a gentle doctor come here.”

“O-Oi….Isn’t “Lendl-san” spoiling me too much?”

The original Leslie had some cynical points, so I panicked. I’m a person who’s weak when it comes to a complete stranger being kind to me.

 “After sensei came here, it’s something that everyone thinks.”

“…I’m too absorbed on my work so I myself is not sure about it.”

When I’m doing medical examination or medical treatments, I see Leslie as my assistant but she may be seeing and treating me differently. It is important to understand the patient’s feelings. Being busy does not mean that I cannot look at each person’s expression, I have to keep that in mind.Translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

◆◇◆

From Karin, who was waiting outside Her Highness’ room, I received the copy of the legendary seal drawn on Her Highness’ body.

“…the light, it gets blurred and disappears…”

“…It’s fine. Even with this, it’s possible to restore it.”

“That’s a great relief… Then, Lendl-san, if you can, I ask of you to do it as soon as possible. How long will it take?”

“About half an hour is enough. Please wait a moment.”

Half hour―restoring the blurry part of the spirit mark, although it is necessary to analogize and draw from the shape of the mark on the lower body part to the upper body part, I need only that much.

While Leslie is working on the restoration in the next room, I listen to Karin relaying about Her Highness’ condition. So far, she’s calm and she used to talk to Soara, but she’s now resting.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

Raquel-san seems to have remained until a while ago, but she returned to her own room under Her Highness’ instruction and is now resting. She was told to take a break in preparation for the war council early tomorrow morning –I’m wondering what will be discussed but I will not be called as I’m just a military doctor.

Eventually Leslie completed it and brought the pattern of the spirit mark. I take the paint and brush I brought from my room into Her Highness’ bedroom.

This paint is also used to draw magic circles, and it is the first thing that magicians are taught to prepare first. For the materials, you cannot get it unless you’re in the royal capital, if this is insufficient, we have to procure it –I may never have the opportunity to draw a spirit mark with my own hands again though.

“…Grass, the preparation is completed isn’t it? Soara, can you leave the room for a moment so he can keep his concentration?”

“Uh…. But Y-Your Highness…..”

“You don’t need to worry. From the reports I received, I can feel that he is reliable enough to be trusted. I believe in that intuition.”

“U-Understood. Grass-sama, I’m sorry that I doubted you…”

“Oh that’s nothing, it’s not unreasonable. It would be outrageous to have a man like me and Her Highness to be alone… but, can you trust me and leave it to me?”

“N-No… I, for my part I should have thought of Her Highness’ body first, but I only thought of my duties as her servant… I-I won’t take your time anymore. We believe in what Her Highness’ believes.”

Soara bows her head and leaves the room.

When the two of us are the only ones left, Her Highness slowly lowers the blanket that was placed around her chest.Read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com

“Y-Your Highness…I-I’ll draw it little by little, so you can just show me a portion…”

“…Then that would take a lot of time and effort. It will be better and faster if you draw while looking at the whole picture.”

Its exactly as what Her Highness saysjust by looking at a part of the drawing, I will be drawing while imagining the part that is not visible which will take time.

In the dimly lit room, she reveals her divine appearance and she looks at me with her emotionally-pressed eyes. ―I know that she’s strongly suppressing herself, I knew it because she could not hide it, the redness of her face.

“…I’ll leave it to you. I, Should I keep my eyes closed?”

Facing Her Highness, who’s full of resolve, I think I too should absolutely not waver. I replied with a nod and tell her to lie down.

The spirit mark drawn from her thigh to the shin is faint and broken. I take out the small pottery dish from my bag, put the paint on it and I then choose the finest of the several brushes I have.Translated by Yume Neiji

“If you feel ticklish, please tell me. You need to be relaxed for this you see…”

From now on, before the sky turns white, the procedure should be completed in about one and a half hour. As much as possible, I must hurry so that Her Highness can still take a rest.

When I started drawing, Her Highness’ did not move at all. However, she gently raised and lowered her chest, closed her eyes, and took care so that there would be no problem in drawing.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


2 thoughts on “Chapter 49: Spirit Mark”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.