Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 50: Determination

I draw the mark on Her Highness’ body –I don’t have aptitude for painting but since I’m using a paint that reacts to magical power, I can draw it. If you have high accuracy in manipulating your magical powers, you can draw the figures as you wanted.

Even if I cannot train on the skill of summoning spirits, I performed magical power manipulation training as it’s one of the basic classes. There was a class lesson in which paint that reacts to magical power was applied to an entire surface of the paper and by precisely manipulating my magical power, it caused interference in which the image from the task was created.Translated by Yume Neiji

Though no matter how good the results were, the “flop” students were not evaluated. If we can’t become a magician, none of our current specialized lessons as a magician will be useful. –Anyway, even if we can use it in our daily lives, the teachers don’t think it’s worth it.

“…Grass…a little…”

“Oh… I’m sorry, Your Highness.”

Her Highness, who looked like she was sleeping as her eyes were closed, raised her hands a little. It can’t be helped, even when I got my spirit mark drawn, it was extremely difficult to keep still without any slight movement.

Sven who has just chosen a stone spirit was very calm and self-possessed, he even said that he had no difficulty while having his mark drawn. But no matter how calm Her Highness looks, it doesn’t mean that she’s not perturbed.

However, rather than spending more time, it is better to take into account the fact that there will be some movements and draw it all at once. From here on out, I’m aiming to complete it –I still have a full back side left to be done.

I don’t have to draw on her face, just until the neck. With this, while we’re going to the sacred tree’s place, others would not be surprised as the drawing can be hidden in her clothes.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“…We are done with your upper body. Then, can you please lie on your stomach?”

“I understand. Grass, are you not tired?”

“No, I’m still good. Thank you very much for your concern.”

“You’ve been moving around since you came here, that must be tiring. Don’t overdo it… No. I have to eliminate the exhausting condition of the entire fortress as soon as possible….”

Even in this situation, Her Highness is still thinking about the war. What would she do if she predicted that Zirconia would attack again?

I think of that while drawing the mark on her back –I think that the only way to change the situation where Zirconia is unilaterally attacking us is to attack from here on.

The enemy can use a warship to cross the river from anywhere. This fortress facing the canal is by no means a good defense. It would be nice if the enemy stayed on the rear side of the water, but because the enemy also knew about it, instead of landing near the fortress, they divided themselves and landed in the east and west side.

……We are not even allowed to attack their bases and chase the retreating enemy army. Its like waiting until this fortress falls someday. Even if it’s not like that, if we dont have the opportunity to talk to Zirconia, this situation will not improve until the enemy is exhausted and gives up.

The things that I thought of, Her Highness surely knows everything about it too.

“…Grass, I’m sorry to have burdened you all, but may I order you to attend the war council tomorrow morning?”

“I… to join the war council… If I, a military doctor is present, the other generals might feel doubtful…”

“Raquel, Presha, Dite… And the other captains who were dispatched today know that you used magic on the battlefield. The siege tower that was approaching from the west side of the fortress collapsed before attacking from there. After receiving the report, I thought that it was your achievement, that it was you who used magic…. Is it wrong?”

Her Highness says so, as if she was looking all around the battlefield of the fortress.

She puts her chin on the pillow on the bed and puts her arms behind. While drawing the continuation of the spirit mark that was not drawn on the back of her arm, I answered,

“…Your Highness hasn’t tried to put magicians under your command until now. Still, you’re sure that I did it… Can you feel the flow of magical power on the battlefield?”

“Yes. If there was a magician on the battlefield, I could feel it… Well because of it, we were out of danger. But I was convinced that you used magic because I saw your magic once, you used it to stop those goblins.”

“Oh, at that time Your Highness has seen my magic huh…I’m sorry, I just thought that you hadn’t noticed me at all.”

Her Highness seemed to laugh a little. I feel more and more ashamed because of my impudence.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“I knew you used magic to protect the people of my territory, but I didn’t trust you too much…”

“…Does that mean that there really is a problem with the right to inherit the throne as it was rumored in the royal capital?”

“…When I got the report from Presha, I was concerned about what you know. However, it must have been my groundless apprehension. I apologize for doubting you once.”

Astina-denka didn’t say, “The Second Queen is trying to trap me”.

We all know about it but she still wants to avoid turning His Majesty into an enemy of the Second Queen. There may be many reasons. But if there is an extremely big reason for that―

“Though it’s presumptuous of me to ask, will it be okay for you to answer me? How does the First Queen think of the current situation?”

“…She has kept her distance from the succession to the throne regardless of the rising conflicts. From the very beginning, she has no intention of fighting. She’s quietly recuperating in one of the villas of the royal family.”

Without upsetting her, Her Highness answered the question which was unavoidable even if it was considered to be rude.Read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com

The First Queen is away from the battle for succession to the throne. However, the Second Queen’s side is in the process of scheming to make her son, the Second Prince, the next king.

That probably means that the person whom His Majesty considers worthy of succeeding the throne is not the second prince. ―That’s no wonder though as the second prince is still a ten year old boy. Even if he succeeds the throne in the near future, he will have a regent.

As we speak, the Spirit Mark nears its completion. I draw a mark imitating the sun at the center of Her Highness’ back ―moon on her abdomen and sun on her back. By drawing a pair of patterns on the front and back of her body, she says that she is expressing the connection with the elements that make up this world.

“Thanks for your hard work. Your Highness, the mark is now completed.”

When I said so, Her Highness’ moves and grabs my wrist as I turned my back. It is by no means a strong force, but I cannot shake it off easily. When I look behind, Her Highness reveals a pattern that only the magician can see on the half of her body, it is as if she is wrapped in light.Translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Grass… since you came, this fortress and even my Knights are about to change. I never imagined that this would happen. You were sent to me by the command of the Second Queen, I was even suspicious if you would really work as a military doctor.”

She still has something to talk about during this night. Her thoughts were reflected in her tone. ―I also have something to say. It’s about how was my existence seen by the Magic Academy and this kingdom.

“…I was selected by the Second Queen because I’m a “flop” magician. It’s mortifying but, I’m considered to be useless… I was only sent here in the form of a court magician just so I can pull Your Highness’ legs…”

Her Highness probably thought so too, until I actually started working as a military doctor.

“But I don’t want to end it with me being just a court magician in “form”. I really want to be a person who is suitable as a court magician… I’ve always longed to do it.”

“…If that’s the case, Grass….Please fight with me. I have always been told to keep away from magic, to trust a magician at this point in time, it’s like I’m doing it for my own convenience…. But……”

Her Highness also has hesitations. Can she expect so much to me who just came here? ―If I can get rid of that anxiety, I will do anything. I can’t grasp this hand right now, but I can put my determination into words.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


4 thoughts on “Chapter 50: Determination”

  1. I like the fact that they’re able to quickly recognize his usefulness unlike those other stories where the protagonist is rejected no matter what he does just “because”.
    Thanks for the translation.

    Like

  2. Thanks for the chapter! Let’s see where it goes from here. Will they immediately go to the forest or will something else happen?

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.