Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 53: Great Cause

Her Highness’ guidelines for crossing the canal, crossing the border, and attacking Zirconia’s bases were shown.

However, there are some points of concern. Did the military headquarters from the royal capital really know the situation of this fortress and didn’t try to take effective action?

“In our kingdom, there is a good reason to attack Zirconia. Since the Isle Rose Fortress was built, we have never invaded their territory from here. Everybody knows how many invasions from Zirconia have been repeatedly done here.”

“…B-But… it’s more dangerous to attack than to defend. If the enemy intercepts our army as we tried to cross the canal…”

Even though she knew it was rude, one of the attack captains spoke her opinion. Another person next to her tries to hold her back but she was not able to.

“Normally, we should be able to make a relay point between the royal capital and Isle Rose fortress and have two to three thousand soldiers stationed there. But after I was stationed at this fortress, the requests I made to the royal capital were no longer granted.”

“Uh… t-then… with the current situation, this fortress is already…”

“…The ones I sent out to the royal capital didn’t return. Some people are intercepting my notes before they reach His Majesty. To say it in a loud voice, this surely indicates rebellion. And that our situation turned undesirable.”

Despite being treated unfavourably by the Second Queen due to the issue of succession to the throne, she protects the kingdom without saying anything – that’s Astina-denka whom the knights respect, obey and pledged their lives.

But that also has its limits. At the center of the kingdom, there is an opponent of this knight’s order –if we leave it alone as it is, there will be sacrifices.

“Bridget, you originally wanted to be an imperial guard knight. It might be unacceptable for you who had a dream of serving His Majesty but I want you to believe me. I have no intention of betraying His Majesty. In order for the Western Territories to continue to be part of the Kingdom of Lezenia, we are just trying to fulfil the role of the Knights.”

“…Astina-denka….No, General Astina…I’m extremely sorry for my rudeness. Forgetting my gratitude to you for discovering me as a mere swordsman and just simply cause disturbance… The disgrace of this time… after the due battle, with my own sword…”

“That is… You are not thinking straight! If you told me that, I wouldn’t even look after you.”

“Kuh… I-I know. But I can’t think of any other way to take responsibility…”

“If you can’t think of it, I’ll tell you then. Just swear your loyalty again to Her Highness. If you can’t do that, leave your decorative sword behind and go back to the countryside.”

Dite-san gives out stern words to the one called attack captain Bridget. Raquel-san raised her hand and holds back any more words from Dite-san.

“Bridget, I ask of you, Chloe and Solfa to protect this fortress. In this operation, only some of the selected people will cross the river and infiltrate into the enemy’s territory.”

“Uh… t-to leave the defence of this fortress to us… does that mean that Knight Captain Raquel yourself will cross the river…?”

“That’s right. I, Presha and Dite. As what Grass taught us, we can use magical powers during the battle. The same goes for Her Highness… This is what she was hoping for. Rather than many soldiers clashing and killing each other, if we can change the outcome of the battlefield with just a small number of people, we should do that.”

“Depending on the strength of the enemy’s base, stopping their base from functioning alone will be difficult for us to do. At first, we may not grasp the entirety of the enemy but we will seek a way to cross the river. Even if we send a spy on the other side, they must survive first before they can play that role.”

Raquel-san, Presha-san, and Dite-san can do that but the other attack captains are at risk. If they try to escape when they feel danger, their survival rate may be higher than that of a general soldier but we should not take a risk.

All that is needed is information from the Zirconia Army and we can get it now.

“Astina-denka, can I get a permission to speak?”

When I raised my hand, I received everyone’s attention on the spot. If I remained timid here, nothing will happen so I only looked at Her Highness and waited for her permission.

“…Grass, is there a way for us to get some information other than infiltrating the enemy base?”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Yes. Dite-san’s corps who had been working the other night had taken the enemy soldier who survived as a prisoner. He was not interrogated last night about the enemy’s base because he had a huge blood loss due to his wound from the arrow. I think it’s very likely that he has that information.”

The one who responded the most was Presha-san. Her eyes were shining and it’s as if she found a treasure –we are at a war council so I don’t think she should look like that though…

“T-That’s right Your Highness…! With Grass-sensei here, no matter how tough the prisoner of war is, he can definitely get the information. Then we will surely find a way to attack!”

“Uh….Well, I didn’t think he’s so good at torture… With his kind look, he doesn’t look like one….”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Bridget-dono, I think you’re misunderstanding things here. That is not the case. Sensei can pull out the information without hurting the other party.”

Presha-san seemed proud of herself. Knowing the situation, Bridget-san looks the same but it seems that the other attack captain, Chloe-san and Archer Captain Solfa-san have changed their mind about me.

Hypnosis caused by Arlaune’s pollen is not all-purpose, because if the amount is adjusted incorrectly, it will leave after-effects on the person. But getting information is much more certain than painful torture.

“…Grass, can I attend your interrogation with that prisoner of war? I don’t think it is alright to say something like this now as I haven’t attended the other day, but…”

“N-No… if Your Highness wants to, you can do so.”

“Now then, we patrol around the fortress. Bridget, Chloe. It is possible to entrust you as commanders in the future, so I will explain the key points. Please accompany me.”

[[Yes!!!]]This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“We too will once again go up to the ramparts. Solfa, let’s go.”

“Y-Yes… Dite-ane-sama…”

Raquel-san and the four other captains left the room while Astina-denka remained on the round table. After telling something to her aide, she came to me with Presha-san in tow.

“I would also like to talk to you after the interrogation.”

“That is… Y-Your Highness, you remembered the matter about the sacred tree?”

“Of course. Though I couldn’t really leave the fortress right now… but I also can’t put it off. Since that’s the case, I thought I should visit the Sacred Tree now. There is no denying of the possibility of losing it you see.”

Her Highness is already determined. We are going to the sacred tree today.

Raquel-san and her companions will surely be left behind. Maybe she had read my thoughts as Presha-san nodded vigorously to me.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


5 thoughts on “Chapter 53: Great Cause”

  1. They’re finally going! With the way he kept putting off asking her to go I thought the Sacred Tree would wither before he even starts talking about it… ^^
    Thanks for the double release!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.