Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 56: Princess’ magical power

Presha-san served as the coachman of the carriage and she takes me and Leslie to the southern plains of the fortress. Her Highness, along with her two Knight Guards, led us.

The gray land had not yet reached the place of the farm owner I met before. But perhaps the family deemed that the situation this time is dangerous so the whole family is preparing to leave their residence.

“You guys are… N-No way, aren’t you the General of Isle Rose Fortress…!?”

“I’m sorry for being late. We will prevent the erosion of the withered land. Please evacuate for now.”

“B-But… Previously, those guys there headed to that forest and the expansion of the withered land had stopped. But this time, the number of monsters is much larger. To totally stop it is…”

“Nevertheless, we must stop it. Protecting the people is a Knight’s duty.”

Perhaps the farm owner felt Her Highness’ determination so he didn’t stop us any further. As his distress shows through, together with his family, they put the luggage they needed during their refuge in their wagon. To escape from the expanding gray land, they run away in the direction we came from.

“Your Highness…I worked with Grass-sensei and Dite-san to defeat those monsters once. Leave the matters here to me…”

“If that number of monsters rushes in, even you will not be able to handle it. Don’t worry about me, let’s open up the way together.”

“Y-Yes…. I’m sorry, I said something thoughtlessly…!”

Variant of nettles that germinates from underground rhizomes appear on the surface of the earth―they appeared from the immeasurable gray land as if they reject everything that goes to the abandoned garden. They stretch to a height that seems to strike the sky and they move like a snake.

Even if the two of them are brave warriors matched for a thousand men, it is impossible to proceed while avoiding innumerable thorny leaves and killing monsters which cannot be stopped unless you attack their roots –last time it is only one, but they’re too many this time.

Interfering with plants…No, its impossible in this situation. They’re not in a state where we can talk.

“Summoner-sama… I can hear a very sad voice from that forest.”

“Uh… G-Grass-nii… Where did this child come from…?”

Perhaps Arlaune is comfortable to it so she herself reverted back to the bulb, I then entrusted it to Leslie but for some reason, her head suddenly stick out of the frontal collar of Leslie’s jacket.

“I’m in pain and lonely, it says. We, flowers, will wither if we are only given water… It wanted me to call Master as much as possible and ask for help…”

“…I-Is that so? We must not be stopped here… If Yuserish is calling us, I should be able to hear that voice too.”

The sinister appearance of the rampaging grass monsters was also due to their unrelenting remorse because the sacred tree was forgotten by the people. I got out of the carriage and shouted at the top of my voice towards the forest that I could not see as it is blocked by the monsters.Please read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com

“Sacred tree Yuserish, can you hear me? I’ll bring Princess Astina to you! We’ll be there soon, we’ll definitely reach you…. S-So please wait!”

However, my call was in vain. Several new monsters appeared and the gray wasteland was covered with monsters.

Is there really no other choice but to eliminate these monsters and proceed? If we are stopped here, the gray land will spread and swallow that farm.

“Summoner-sama… Uh, the wind from that forest… it’s not a “dark energy”. Clean air is flowing out!”

Arlaune calls the miasma as “dark energy”. That’s right! This phenomenon right now is happening because the sacred tree is ill. Plants can clean the soil and air and return to their natural state over time.

―The sacred tree still has a little power to create clean air. From the reaction of the monsters, it’s clear why it was delivered to us.

The monsters are avoiding the clean air… Even though they’re rampaging like that, they can still remember that they are the sacred trees’ familiars.

Yuserish is giving us a clue somehow. Me and Leslie, the both of us noticed it at the same time.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Air…. That’s it, the “air”!”

“…Grass-sensei, I was thinking about that too. With my magic, the clean air from the sacred tree can be settled around ourselves.”

“U-Uhmm, I’m not sure of it as I’m not that smart, but… does that mean that you can use magic to avoid those monsters?”

Leslie nodded. Then Astina-denka, who was watching us entrusted her favourite horse that had been following her for a long time to her Knight Guards and ordered them to stay at a safe distance.

“Rather than riding a horse, I also think that this will be much easier. Lendl, please go ahead.”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Certainly… 『Oh, clean air that comes from the sacred tree. Envelop us and become a shield against those that become wicked….! 』”

When the flowing chant was completed, the air produced by the sacred tree was amplified and its mass increased, enclosing the carriage in a large spherical shape.

“Are you okay? Maintaining this state consumes a lot of magical power…”

“No… The consumption is less than usual. It’s due to Your Highness’ power…”

Normally, you cannot use the magical powers of others. Magical power can be converted into “pure magic power” if it’s stored in the magic crystal though. Then it turns into the form in which anyone can use.

However, Astina-denka’s magical power overturns the norm. When I summoned Arlaune or even when Leslie uses her magic – we can borrow Her Highness magical power without being aware of it.Translated at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com

“…I didn’t feel that my power is flowing out unlike when Grass called this child though. I suppose I have the power to support magicians then.”

“Yes, probably… but, it’s really rare. You can’t directly use the magical powers of others because it’s a constraint for all magicians.”

“Is….that so? Then, why is my magical power so special…? If it’s mother, she might know something…”

It was a sudden discovery for Her Highness so she was confused. However, thanks to Her Highness, Leslie was able to concentrate on controlling the magic of the air without worrying about running out of magic.

“Grass-sensei, the monsters are avoiding us! With this, we can reach the sacred tree!”

“Yes, we’ll leave it to you Presha-san!”

“We are fine! Don’t worry about us and go at full speed! Arlaune, firmly hold on to me.”

“Y-Yes!… Uh, t-there will be a great shake…”

“Uh…..Lendl-san, hold on tight….”

“You too, Grass. Don’t let go of my hand, until I say so.”

“Y-Your Highness….uh…”

The wheels of the horse-drawn carriage running through the wasteland relentlessly bounce up and down. Inside, Her Highness is holding my hand and she’s firmly supporting her body with the other hand. Arlaune is also desperately clinging to Her Highness –I’m impressed with the tenacity of her small body.

While making sure that Leslie, who is concentrating on using her magic, is not thrown out of the seat, I also endure earnestly.

However, even a little faster, I hope that we could reach the sacred tree as soon as possible –I have that in mind.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


4 thoughts on “Chapter 56: Princess’ magical power”

  1. I’m really curious too how they are arranged/seated in the carriage? I don’t quite understand, but yea.
    Thanks for the chapter! Take care and stay safe everyone!

    Like

    1. Haha actually me too, I imagined he’s sandwiched in between Leslie and Astina but I also got confused with the hold my hand part so maybe Astina is at the other seat supporting Arlaune while Grass and Leslie are beside each other ahaha

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.