Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 60: Youka Sisters

I knew the name Mandrake –And it looks like all of the sacred trees’ familiars already have a contract with me so I don’t need to sign a contract again. But even though that’s not needed, this plant doesn’t respond to my call at all. I wonder if it’s still asleep.

“Grass-nii, this leaf… as I look at it, I really want to pull it…”

“…Wait, seems like it produces some kind of illusion. You better chew on this grass… I’m sorry but, Your Highness should to do the same.”

“Yes….uh…bi-…”

Astina-denka stopped herself from saying it is “bitter”. Her cheeks look a little reddish –she even feels shy to say it is bitter, is it her pride as a royal?

“…Somehow my head feel refreshed. Thank you, Grass-nii… it’s bitter though.”

There are several plants that can be used to regain focus, but I used rosemary’s leaf. Although it is refined and used as perfume oil, it’s very bitter if you chew the leaves as is. However, its intense taste is due to its ingredients that resist illusion and the more bitter it is, the more effective it will be.

“I just get near it, to have performed such illusions… This leaf, perhaps it’s a dangerous spirit…?”

“The sacred tree has called it from the spirit world so I think that there’s some meaning to it but… it’s a plant I’ve never seen before.”

This plant does not maliciously use illusions. Perhaps from the beginning, the plant itself has a powerful hallucinogenic component which reflected its ability as a spirit.

Don’t tell me… the poison of this plant will round up all of the Zirconian soldiers?

Such idea comes to my mind, but in that case, other plants can also be used as long as they are poisonous… it’s a rather weak reason for calling this plant from the spirit world then.

There should be something special with this Mandrake. I’d like to see what it looks like –But for some reason, I feel that I should not pull the leaves and try to pull it out. 

I can understand the danger of this mandrake because I understand the emotions of plants. If you don’t get a reply even if you speak to it, you have to wait. Or, as Leslie says, I have to forcefully pull it out. Read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com

“It’s no use, Summoner-sama, that child should never be pulled out as it is!”

Fortunately, Presha and Arlaune were unscathed, probably because the transformed plant had quieted down. They run down the stairs in the garden.

“Wait!, It’s dangerous to run… this tomboy…”

“Presha-san, I’m glad you are safe… We managed to make it in time.”

Presha was trying to catch Arlaune, but when I called out, she straightened her back and her face turned red.

“J-Just so you know… though I’m like this, I’m showing I’m strict. Looking after a child doesn’t mean that you have to plaster a smile on your face you see.”

“No, that is… well, to some extent, it may be so. It’s nice of you Presha-san to take care of her.”

“T-That’s why I said so… A-Anyway, Arlaune arrived safely.”

After saying that, she looks around the transformed sacred tree and its surroundings.

“Amazing…it completely changed. Does this mean that Grass-sensei has revived the sacred tree…?”

“It will still take time for it to fully regain power, but I don’t think we’ll have to worry anymore. By the way, Arlaune… When you said not to pull it out, do you know something about this plant?”

“Yes, it’s like my relatives. Majin Mandrake is close to where Youka Arlaune lives.” TLYN: Majin(魔蔘) – Evil; Youka(妖花) – enchantingly beautiful flower

Majin―I wonder if it’s an evil ginseng. The shape of its leaves certainly looks like that of an Asian ginseng.

“Mandrake produces “jarring” sound when it is being pulled out. Hearing this, those around the mandrake will lose their life energy as it will be sucked out. You can’t prevent it even by blocking your ears, it is dangerous unless you protect yourself with the power of the spirits.”

Arlaune frantically explains. Thanks to that, we fully understood that it was dangerous.

If you lose your life energy, it means you’ll “wither” and you’ll end up in asphyxia. It’s life-threatening if left as it is –I’m very interested to see a dying plant as it’s pulled out from the ground but I don’t have a plan on doing something that carelessly.

“The power of spirits… we cannot use plants as earplugs as it’s not that airtight.”

“…I think it’s possible to prevent it with my magic. It’s a great responsibility but…. a little bit more and my remaining magic power will…”

“If it’s magical power, please use mine as well. For you to be able to use my magical power, I will deliberately let it flow out… No, I got the feeling of giving it.”

“Eh… d-does that mean that Her Highness herself can be like a gem that stores that magical power?”

Gem―is it those magical crystals? Certainly, its appearance is polished and beautiful, but it is rude to compare it with Her Highness.

However, Her Highness is smiling gently. With Presha-san’s analogy, Her Highness laughed –the impression that I had (that she doesn’t show her emotions) changed at this very moment.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Presha, I have become the “sacred tree’s shrine maiden”, meaning, I have been given the role of listening and worshiping the voice of the sacred tree, and Grass was also chosen by the sacred tree and contracts with the sacred tree as a magician…”

“Y-Your Highness, any more than that is… I ask you not to speak of it at this place but at the place where Raquel-ane is also there! I-I really can’t take if it’s just me…”

“…It was the first time that my subordinate stopped me from speaking. Presha, I’m glad you gave me your honest opinion.”

Her Highness’ right now looks as if she’ll be forgiving no matter what we say –the atmosphere around her is so gentle.

“Sword Princess” and “Saint” –She has these two aspects, but I think that the latter is closer to her essence even if I know that it’s inexcusable to say that in the midst of a battle.

“…Grass-nii, are you sure? Or do you want me to pull it out instead?”

“No, I can’t just leave it to Leslie. In that case, cast some spell on me, after interrupting the sound, let everyone go as far away as possible.”

“I don’t think that the sacred tree will kill Grass. I’m not afraid.”

“Uh… b-but this child is very dangerous…”

Even though I say it’s dangerous, I have to pull it out at this time.

“Air, respond to me and become a barrier that blocks vibration.”

With Leslie’s chant, a film of air wraps around each of us. Intercepting the sound means not hearing anything.Translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

In silence, everyone watch me, I then grasp the stem part firmly and keep my feet on the ground so that the leaves of the mandrake would not be torn off.

◆◇◆

“…nii. Grass-nii…. get a hold of yourself.”

“Are you okay, Grass?”

“Hn?… t-that… I…”

I lost my consciousness when I tried to pull out the mandrake. When I regained consciousness, I was lying on my back with something soft catching my head.

“…It’s good that you woke up. It looks like your complexion isn’t bad either.”

“Uh… Sensei, don’t worry too much about what happened…”

“Grass-nii… that Mandrake child is like Arlaune’s relative as expected.”

Various information came in immediately after I wake up so I get confused for a moment. I feel like I have forgotten the most important thing to deal with now –that…

“…Grass? Do you need to chew that stimulant grass?”

―What kind of posture is Astina-denka talking to me? She graciously sits on the ground and positioned her knee as my pillow.

“I’m sorry Your Highness…!”

I wake up without any hesitation. And in front of me who is trying to stand up, alongside with Arlaune –there is an unfamiliar girl holding hands with her.

“Majin Mandrake. I have come as a familiar of the sacred tree, Yuserish. Grass-sama, as you have summoned me I’ll obey your orders.”

Mandrake, who spoke smoothly, had leaves on her head, but other than that, she looked like a girl about the same age as Arlaune, but at the very end, I got tongue-tied but my tension loosened.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“…Is this girl the new power of Grass…?”

“I don’t think it’s going to happen… Mandrake, what did you do when I pulled you off the ground?”

“…Summoner-sama who endured my voice deserves respect.”

In other words, pulling out the mandrake and enduring that sound was the process of waking her up –I don’t know what Yuserish is thinking about, but she could have foreseen that I could endure it right?

Mandrake’s voice made me unconscious even if we prevented it with the power of the air spiritsthis isnt bad, but depending on how I use it… 

Although it only looks like a girl, Arlaune has a powerful power. Mandrake will also be a big force for me –I am going through some tentative plans about where to use her power.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


2 thoughts on “Chapter 60: Youka Sisters”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.