Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 63: God of Healing

It is said that not only the Reinfeld’s but all those powerful families in the western territory with private armies played a role of protecting the farmers instead of collecting taxes from them for a long time now.

Hartner, the former family head, Snyder’s father, appears to be Lezenia royal family’s subordinate on the surface only, he does not voluntarily greet Her Highness even after the fortress is completed. He only supplies the minimum amount of military provisions. And as a result, he has avoided a conversation with Astina-denka.

“Until now, the Reinfeld family holds the autonomy from the east of the Portolo town to the rural areas around here and to the woodlands extending to the west. But the gray land began to spread. Since the monsters began to appear, my father never sent out any soldiers. He thought that when he was finally exhausted from fighting against the monsters, he might be requisitioned by the Knights all at once. But on the contrary……”

That was also the reason why Snyder couldn’t look directly at Astina-denka.

Being aware of the upheaval in the forest, he couldn’t handle it –but he ordered the farmers to stay there. Perhaps Snyder has also understood the inconsistency.

“It’s not your fault that the monsters went out. The forest that was supposed to be under the management of the royal family was left alone, we…”

“Even if that was the case, we are the ones responsible for protecting the farmers but we didn’t do anything. Even when only few knights went to that forest, we were just watching them from a far, waiting for the storm to pass. And we were even only watching as Zirconia attacked… With that, I’m not qualified as a feudal lord.”

Snyder also knows when we first visited the abandoned garden. And even when the Isle Rose fortress is under heavy attack.

Her Highness wanted some troops to be located inside the front line, but she was told that the capital has ignored the request. If the Reinfeld family went under the command of the Knights, even without waiting for reinforcements (that are not dispatched at all), it is possible to reduce the group’s anxiety about the future.

Above all, in the long run, having an unfriendly relation with those powerful families who have their own army in the territory is dangerous, so if the worry for that is eliminated, it would be a great help.Translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“I understand your thoughts. I want you guys to be alert of Zirconia all the time. If the enemy aims to pass through the territory instead of attacking the fortress, we alone may be late to respond to it you see.”

“I understand, Your Highness. But we’re already determined to fight Zirconia and defend our territory. If possible, in attacking…”

“If you lose your life in the front line, the Reinfeld family will lose a leader. Leave the Knights to fight the enemy, just work closely with us in defending the territory. Even by sharing information about the enemy attacks, I think it’s already a big contribution.”

“Thank you very much for your kind consideration. I will do my best from now on so that I can contribute even a little.”

It does not mean that the Knights of Isle Rose will incorporate the soldiers under the leadership of Snyder. They will still continue to move independently but they will cooperate with the Knights in the event that Zirconia attacks.

In addition to Isle Rose’s soldiers, which were around 2930, 500 more soldiers can now move as a squadron. We were attacked from two directions last time, but if Snyder’s forces helped the weak side, we would be able to proceed in a more advantageous manner.

Apart from that, as a doctor, I have another concern I would like to address. It’s about Snyder’s father lying in bed –but it’s rude to ask about it as we just met.

However, I can’t be hesitant and not dare to ask. This doesn’t mean that I want to sell favor, I just think that it may be possible to give an effective treatment just by listening about it.

“Excuse me, Presha-san, can I ask you to tell Her Highness?”

“About the father of those siblings being sick, right? I know Grass-sensei is worried, but… I think it’s not that easy for them to tell you about the situation you know.”

“…Even if you just try asking, please do so. I think Grass-nii would be troubled if he didn’t do anything about it you see.”

“N-No… If you say it like that, it seems that you’re threatening…”

“Okay, I understand. Well then, I’ll talk to Her Highness. Sorry if it won’t work.”

Presha-san leaves the carriage and speaks to Astina-denka. Then the girl, who had been kneeling behind Snyder, stood up and talked to Her Highness about something. Perhaps Snyder’s approval has been obtained, the girl comes towards us along with Presha-san. Leslie and I got off the carriage to greet them.

Equipped with a slender sword in a silver sheath, it shows that she is not only a child of a powerful family who followed her brother, but she also has swordsmanship skill.

“Everyone, it’s my pleasure meeting you for the first time. I’m Kufika of the Reinfeld family.”

“Nice to meet you, I’m Grass Weed. I’m sorry to say this as we just met but… I’d like to hear from you about your father’s condition.”

The girl who introduced herself as Kufika has a gloomy expression on her face –she stout-heartedly greeted us but it seems that her father’s condition is not so good.

“…My father had a fever for a week now… Before we knew it, his leg turned swollen… We called a doctor from a clinic in Portolo and he received a treatment. The pain was alleviated but, it is still…”

“He had a swollen leg, his fever has not gone down… that’s dire. Before your father had those symptoms, did he go somewhere?”

“….y-you mean it’s my father’s fault!? My father is already in great suffering in his sickbed, things like whipping, Doctor-sama is….”

“Calm down, this is necessary to cure his illness. I know you’re worried about your father, but you know what, even if you show aggression towards Grass-sensei, that will not help.”

Presha-san stops and gives an advice to Kufika who is about to rebuke me. Kufika’s tears flowed down and she starts crying –with that much reaction, the condition in which her father suddenly deteriorated, might be alarming in her eyes.

Such thing is only a matter of time –but, do I really have time to stop by at the Reinfelds before returning to the fortress?

“…I’m sorry, I became upset. I know that treatment from here on is too late… but still, if you put yourself in our shoe, even if our father has done such….”

“No, it’s still possible to make it but we need to take appropriate measures and administer the serum.”

“Uh… H-how will you do it? You’re saying that just by listening to me…”

“Kufika-san, it’s possible that he was bitten by a poisonous insect. There are other creatures that have a poison you see. If it was a poisonous snake, he wouldn’t last for a week, right? Can you tell me where your father has gone to before he got ill?”

There is a risk in treating a person who does not care for the KnightsI know that but, is it a wise decision to let a patient die even if there’s a means to save him?

“…Once Hartner recovers, he might rebel against the Knights again, but I don’t think there will be such a thing.”

“No, I’m not such a versatile person… Unfortunately, he may not be completely cured because time has passed. There is a possibility that after effects will remain … But I also want to respect the will of the family. Together with Snyder-san, whether to treat him or not, I want to know your opinion.”

Looking at her tears, Kufika-san’s sentiment is unquestionable.

Snyder comes over to us. He puts his hand on the shoulder of his crying sister and looks at me –he had this impression that he’ll be a bright successor. Although he seems to be cold, his eyes with warmth deep within looks like those of Sven somehow.

“…Please, if there is a way to save my father, I ask of you to teach me. It won’t make sense if my father still says he doesn’t want to follow the Knights. But for us, Parents are parents after all. If possible, I want him to live.”

“I understand. This matter is up against time. But, there are also those who are injured in the fortress so I have to return to the fortress right away, I can only give you instructions here.”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“…To prepare treatment even without looking at it… such thing is kinda like a God…”

It’s possible. Even if I am not a God, I can leave it to a local doctor as long as I heard of the symptoms –of course it’s a different matter if surgery is necessary, but if it’s about poison, it can be treated with medication depending on the type.

The sacred tree is the one who controls plants –as I formed a contract with her now, if I know where Hartner-shi was poisoned, the plants can tell me what poisonous creatures are present there.Translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Please speak. Where did your father went before?”

“…Before my father fell ill, he went to…”

I asked the sacred tree on what type of place Kufika-san had told me, and the answer came back immediately. It was a wetland in the southeast direction from here.

The deadly creatures that live in the wetlands were venomous snakes that can kill a livestock in a matter of hours –and there is also a “tick” that gives off symptoms like fever, it can kill those infected for about two weeks.

Knowing the type of poison, I also know whether I can make an antidote or not. I can understand the detoxification effect of any plant, and if necessary, compound it to create a new detoxification ingredient –before the contract with Sacred Tree, there was only information, but now it is different.

All plants became my power. The antidote needed for Hartner-san can be extracted from plants that can be harvested along the way from the fortress to this farmland –if the drug can be made, all that is required is to teach them how to heat it up and cool it down.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


2 thoughts on “Chapter 63: God of Healing”

  1. Lol, he basically can make antidotes to most low-level poisons just by gathering flowers and plants around the road! Reminds me of Ghost of Tsushima!
    Thanks for the chapter, stay safe & well everyone!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.