Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 64: Growing a flower

At present, it turns out that most areas of the Western Territories are under the influence of the sacred tree.Translated by Yume Neiji

The seeds of plants are carried by the wind and creatures so they spread endlessly. The sacred tree, who has regained its power, obtains information through the familiars that has roots in various places, and if necessary, tells me about the remote areas.

Based from Hartner-san’s symptom, I can judge that it was an infection caused by the poison of “Benimadara tick”. The component necessary for detoxification is a plant peculiar to the Western territories, and it can be extracted from “lensen thistle”, which is often overlooked because it grows mixed with roadside weeds.

(TLYN: Can’t find the term benimadara tick (ベニマダラダニ) and lensen thistle (レンセンアザミ) though. I found something about red ticks but not so sure if that’s it so I just retained the Japanese name haha)

―However, even if I could make the antidote, Kufika seemed uneasy to entrust the treatment to a doctor who could not make an effective treatment for Hartner-san.

Should I go after all…? There are also those who are injured in the yesterday’s fight so I also need to check the condition of their wound. Considering the travel time, I can only give out instructions…

“Summoner-sama, Summoner-sama”

“Hn…? Laune, what is it? We’re talking about an important matter, right now is…”

“This is also important, I want to help summoner-sama.”

“…we are fine with it, we can wait for you, you see. Please listen to what she wants to say.”

Kufika had a depressed look but she smiled at Laune who is currently holding the hem of my clothes, maybe she didn’t think she could show such expression in front of a young child.

Laune asked me to return to the carriage. Mandrake Rei is also there, the two of them seem to have something they want to say to me.

“I’m sorry if I worried you guys, did I have such troubled expression?”

“Summoner-sama is worried because there are many patients who need assistance. In that case, I would like to act in Summoner-sama’s stead!”

“…We’re really familiar with poison. I’m even making poison in my body you see.”

“Are you saying… instead of me, you are going to the Reinfeld mansion? But Laune, Rei, given that you’re so small, you guys won’t look like a doctor you know.”

Laune and Rei look at each other. And for some reason, they laughed happily.

“…Wait. Arlaune and Rei have contracts with me so….. Is it possible for me to give the instructions for treatment to you guys? If you touch the affected area, you can inform me if the poison is not what I had expected. Then I can once again instruct you guys, is that right?”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“That’s right. We are connected to Summoner-sama no matter how far we go. We are connected even when we return to the spirit world you see. So no matter where we go in this physical world, our connection won’t be severed.”

“As for our child-form, it was because we are in our minimum reification. Spirits have no age. We can even become much older than Summoner-sama.”

Up until now, with my magical capacity, it was impossible to materialize Laune and Rei and keep them in that form.

But now it’s different –I can borrow magic from the local plants, or through the familiars of the sacred tree in various places, I can give the two of them the magical power they need. The magical power of Her Highness is not inexhaustible, but if left alone, it will accumulate too much in the body, so it must be used appropriately.

Even now, I continue to receive the magical power provided by Her Highness. I get more than what I consume, but thanks to that, even a little bit faster, my magical capacity itself is also increasing –with this, it will give me more control on the degree of Laune and Rei’s materialization.

“…If this succeeds, I’ll be able to check on all the people in this territory if I cooperate with the clinic in town.”

“That’s right, we can ask the doctor’s in the town to plant some bulbs. If there are fellow flowers there, I can always materialize there. Once you release my reification, I can return to the spirit world, Summoner-sama can also summon me anywhere.”

I can’t move to a great distance instantly, but a spirit can. It means that when Laune finishes her role, she can always return back.

“I see… but it will be hard for Rei to go with Laune. I think it will be possible to separate some roots but, pulling them out from the ground would be a big deal.”

“…I-It can’t be helped then. I’ll be house-sitting this time. But I want to grow up and be useful to the Summoner-sama someday.”

Rei looks at Laune enviously. If anything, Rei’s power would be a more appropriate in a tense situation –her power is better than Laune’s ability to momentarily suppress enemies and restrain movement. It can wipe out enemies in some cases, that’s how much power a Mandrake possess.Translated by Yume Neiji

“Then… Compared to before, I want you to use more of your magical powers. Until now, I have kept it low so that the Summoner-sama’s magical power will not be lost you see.”

“To transform you huh… I understand. Laune, you can use as much magic as you like. Try to make it to your ideal figure.”

“Yes…Uhm then, I want you to chant it.”

“All right. 『Oh lustrous flower that blooms in the enchanted garden. With me as a source of power, bloom bigger and beautifully…! 』”

According to my chant, the magical power that flows into Laune increases –I felt a little sense of loss at first but the consumed magical power is immediately supplemented. Even with this amount of magic, it will not be a burden to Her Highness. The amount of magic that was constantly flowing from her was not that much.

Then, Laune, who absorbed the magical power like water, grew inside the carriage while I was watching –from the appearance of about 10 years old, she turns into a 15 year old. And she grew a little more then, the transformation stopped.

“Whoa… my limbs are longer. Since I am a spirit, my clothes have grown together!”

The young Arlaune was lovely, but when she grew up, her beauty stood out as if she had blossomed. Rei looking at the side was also amazed.

“Amazing! You got bigger…. Laune has become an older sister…”

“Because the big flowers stand out, I make them look like hair ornaments. Summoner-sama, you can count on me.”

“Y-Yeah… That’s right. It’s more than what I imagined, honestly, I don’t know what to say but…”

◆◇◆

I’ll send Laune in my stead so I gave her the antidote. We waited until we could no longer see the Reinfeld’s party –Kufika, who had Laune on her horse, finally bowed to us and goes after her brother.Translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Arlaune is a spirit, so you can summon her to your side right? Up until now, I’ve never tried to learn about spirits so this is surprising for me.”

“If you don’t mind, I can teach you about it on another time. I think it’s better for Your Highness to know more about spirits.”

“Yes, you’re right. Now that I am connected with the sacred tree, I understand how spirits are deeply involved and deeply related to people. I need to deepen my understanding about them because I also want to borrow their power.”

Then by the time we returned to the fortress, Laune also arrived at the Reinfeld’s. With the permission to see Hartner-san’s condition directly, she administered the medical treatment.

―He had a fungal infection caused by the benimadara tick so his resistance has weakened. Even if she’s in a remote location, Laune obeyed my instructions well and the signs of poisoning that had eaten Hartner-san began to show signs of subsiding, and I was also relieved as I looked around the patients in the fortress’ sanitary building.

However, it was only until the evening that the fortress was able to regain its peace.

A messenger from the capital’s headquarters came with a decree indicating the return of the prisoner of war detained in the Isle Rose Fortress.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


3 thoughts on “Chapter 64: Growing a flower”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.